$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
251 reviews
Portland Wedding

In Portland for the first time to attend a wedding. Chose the Deluxe based on customer ratings and... See full review

  • Notatwin
  • Oct 19, 2014
Perfect stay!

This hotel has it all! The staff is so helpful and knowledgeable . They told us which local... See full review

  • Aaronwalter
  • Sep 2, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (251)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
251 out of 251
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OG Leo
San Francisco, CA
Jan 1, 2013

The Mallory updated!

i went to the dowager Mallory back in the day and enjoyed its lived in charms. But the deLuxe is the 21st century renovation of a hotel with great bones. The old charm is still around but it all sparkles now. The dining room and bar retain their attractions but with a more modern, polished style service and really great offerings. For someone who used to come out of the woods after a week of camping to get back to civilization at the Mallory, the deLuxe is all the more a beacon out of the wilderness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Gracie's small plates let you have as much as you want of whatever you desire. It's a very extensive menu.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nina84
Business
irvine, ca
Sep 12, 2013

great hotel

we stayed here for four nights so we got a good feel of the hotel. the staff is really friendly and ready to help. our room was a bit small, but it was very clean and we had a corner unit with lots of windows making the room very bright and happy. the bathroom was also clean, which is most important. good location - we walked to pearl district, nob hill, 21 & 23 streets, and downtown - but we like to walk so don't think that everything is 5 minutes away. the parking is expensive, but to be expected at big hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler Jerry12345
Business
Paso Robles
Aug 27, 2013

Luxury is a misnomer

I found hints of past luxury from days gone by (the 40's) but no way is the hotel luxurious now. I have no problem paying high bucks for a good value - but such did not occur here. In fact, I noticed for example on the room service bill, that they try to deceive the guest in adding a tip to the bill (there is a large "tip" line theron) - but in reality, they have "ALREADY added a "service charge of 20%!! I verified that with the guy who brought up the food. He chuckled and said "yep, that is what they do". The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced. The valet folks were good but it's operation is a JOKE. The hotel charges $29 per day to park your car via valet - but the valet lot is RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET!! So, we jokers who bring a car are required to tip a kid who does nothing more than walk 30 feet to get our car. On checkout, instead of ensuring that all went fine in our stay, the clerk simply made sure my bar bill and parking bill were paid then she dismissed me saying "Anything else?? The room was small by the way but comfortable. Location was OK. The lobby was big disappointment - not even a hint of luxury like one would expect. Poor choice of couches, singularly located so that two people could not sit close and chat - not at all what i expected. Would not recommend this hotel to a friend. And the "lounge"- that was the biggest joke of all - was very small and people piled on top of each other - not a bit of luxury there - except high prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the time to study the MET routes and operation. It's use gets you anywhere in town (with use of regular bus also) and we found a car was not needed whatsoever. We could have done our entire trip, including trip to/from airport, vistiing in Beaverton and other stuff without a car and it's expemse =- saving around $350!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelR
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 21, 2013

Old style charm

Nice older hotel with a fun vintage movie theme. Great bar with two happy hours 4 30 - 6 and 9 30 till close - and plenty of champagne cocktails ! Gracie restaurant was good for breakfast but we thought a bit uninspired for an evening out - especially as there are so many really good choices nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The Veritable Quandry for a great evening meal Veritable Quandary 1220 Southwest 1st Avenue Portland, OR 97204 (503) 227-7342 veritablequandary.com‎

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kschiltz12
Business
San Francisco
Aug 2, 2013

Chic Cozy Hotel

Great helpful staff. Easy walking distance to many attractions. Hotel room decor is chic and fun but rooms are tiny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christineth
Business
California
Jul 31, 2013

Good location

Hotel maintains rooms built when the building was built, so, rooms are smaller then regular hotels. However, great staff, great location & rooms are beautiful. Enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car if you are staying in the area of this hotel. Public transportation is good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zbootvp
Business
New York
Jul 26, 2013

Overnight stay for business in downtown Portland

This is a lovely hotel with lots of Hollywood Charm. The front desk was very friendly and polite. There is a quaint bar tucked into the corner of the Hotel which is perfect for winding down after a long day's travel. Pity last call is 11pm. Two small nits - one more annoying the other just an observation: 1. The observation: The room I stayed as was very, very small. A bed, the bathroom and a small desk. This was more reminiscent of a NYC hotel room where space is always at a premium. 2. The annoyance: There was not a single outlet with which I could plug in my electronics. Unless I wanted to leave my phone on the bathroom sink overnight - which doesn't really work when I use my phone as my alarm clock as well. There was no place to plug in my laptop! even at the desk area. I had to unplug a lamp so that i could use the outlet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

had a lovely dinner at Tasty and Alder. Great food and nice atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sushimichael
Business
Hong Kong
Jul 10, 2013

Great hotel experience

Lobby was beautifully designed and the staff was great. Our room was small but decorated nicely. The hotel location was walking distance from a ton of great restaurants and tasty food trucks. Will definitely be back as this is our preferred hotel in downtown Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the front desk about the food truck parking lots a few blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
campsoup
Business
oregon
Jul 8, 2013

couples date

This hotel was nice but very small and thought clean was not entirely worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc Jo
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jul 3, 2013

Friendly Staff

The hotel is a good place to stay in downtown Portland. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist you with whatever you request. My room was quite small but I was gone most of the time so it didn't matter that much. If you were going to spend any time in your room ask for one that is larger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JudyJudyJudy
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jun 18, 2013

high marks

excellent customer service! i came for a psu graduation just for the night... the staff offered to collect treats from a local bakery for me to take to the after party, which was really terrific, especially since i was so crunched for time.... everyone i encountered was cheerful & extremely polite. this is a great location in the pearl district... loads of local cafe's & boutiques. room was very clean & comfortable. extremely secure with key access to each floor & amenities. they offer valet, but there is plenty of street parking if you bring quarters. overall, fantastic hotel, and highly recommended:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

saint cupcake galore on morrison has the most amazing treats! and an equally amazing vegan selection:) treat yourself, or take to a party... two frosting covered thumbs up!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top