$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
257 reviews
Birthday

Very friendly service and great atmosphere. Breakfast was outstanding! Room comfort was very nice,... See full review

  • Cynthia P.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Business trip with wife

As I took my wife for the first time in Portland with me, the choice of the Deluxe hotel has been... See full review

  • Christian M.
  • Jan 12, 2015
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi access, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi access, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.8 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (257)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
257 out of 257
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe from Hawaii
Business
Kailua, Hawaii
Oct 29, 2013

Enjoyed Portland and Hotel

Very comfortable and spacious room. It was expensive but worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
toottoot
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 22, 2013

Worth the money.

I will be staying here next time I'm in Portland, hands-down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobinJ Occasional Visitor
Business
Aloha Or
Oct 18, 2013

Great Portland Hotel

One the nicest Hotels I have stayed in a long time. The staff are all friendly and helpful, they make you feel at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mbonner
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Oct 8, 2013

Girlfriend weekend

Staff was amazing! So was breakfast. Rooms are small (to be expected) and outdated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Bridgeport! Amazing food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HIstory Teacherman
Business
Phoenix
Oct 2, 2013

Honeymoon

The hotel was nice. it has a vintage Hollywood theme. It was clean and decorated nicely. We had a room with a view of downtown. The room was remarkably small. We were tripping over each other a lot. The service was extraordinary! There was a small mix up involving our car and a bag, but the hotel went above and beyond to make it right. I worked at a 4 diamond resort and I can tell you that the service here is beyond compare. Thanks again to Tim the hotel manager.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kauaigal
Business
hanalei, hi
Sep 21, 2013

Lovely old hotel with charm

The reservation/concierge staff was welcoming and eager to provide information on the city. The restaurant was charming and the food was excellent. The bar had good ambience, but was too dark for my taste, but then I wasn't there for a romantic assignation. The option for pillow-to-taste is a great idea, although I didn't need to use it. The room was small as is ordinarily the case in older hotels, but made up for it in charm and comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tom Bone
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 20, 2013

Ok if you're into historical parts

The hotel itself is beautiful but do have to realize it is very old. They dress it up in the holiywood motif and that's cool but a little stuffy for us. Felt underdressed most of the time in lobby and restaurant/bar wearing jeans. Room was small, a little stuffy but nice. Convenient to the light rail, which was handy as the hotel itself isn't near much but very easy to get into pearl district where we spend most of our time. So I guess in summary, its a nice hotel but mainly if you are really into the historical "golden age" motif (that seems to be what you are paying for over room amenities/size), and an OK launching off point for pearl district without actually being in it. Next visit to portland may find something more laid back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking trick to avoid valet/exorbitant deck fees. If you get car into the parking deck before 10am (self park) it's only $8.50 for the day, then if you move it out onto the street after 7pm its free for overnight. So saves you the $22-$28 overnight charges

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nina84
Business
irvine, ca
Sep 12, 2013

great hotel

we stayed here for four nights so we got a good feel of the hotel. the staff is really friendly and ready to help. our room was a bit small, but it was very clean and we had a corner unit with lots of windows making the room very bright and happy. the bathroom was also clean, which is most important. good location - we walked to pearl district, nob hill, 21 & 23 streets, and downtown - but we like to walk so don't think that everything is 5 minutes away. the parking is expensive, but to be expected at big hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler Jerry12345
Business
Paso Robles
Aug 27, 2013

Luxury is a misnomer

I found hints of past luxury from days gone by (the 40's) but no way is the hotel luxurious now. I have no problem paying high bucks for a good value - but such did not occur here. In fact, I noticed for example on the room service bill, that they try to deceive the guest in adding a tip to the bill (there is a large "tip" line theron) - but in reality, they have "ALREADY added a "service charge of 20%!! I verified that with the guy who brought up the food. He chuckled and said "yep, that is what they do". The restaurant food was good and reasonably priced. The valet folks were good but it's operation is a JOKE. The hotel charges $29 per day to park your car via valet - but the valet lot is RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET!! So, we jokers who bring a car are required to tip a kid who does nothing more than walk 30 feet to get our car. On checkout, instead of ensuring that all went fine in our stay, the clerk simply made sure my bar bill and parking bill were paid then she dismissed me saying "Anything else?? The room was small by the way but comfortable. Location was OK. The lobby was big disappointment - not even a hint of luxury like one would expect. Poor choice of couches, singularly located so that two people could not sit close and chat - not at all what i expected. Would not recommend this hotel to a friend. And the "lounge"- that was the biggest joke of all - was very small and people piled on top of each other - not a bit of luxury there - except high prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the time to study the MET routes and operation. It's use gets you anywhere in town (with use of regular bus also) and we found a car was not needed whatsoever. We could have done our entire trip, including trip to/from airport, vistiing in Beaverton and other stuff without a car and it's expemse =- saving around $350!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelR
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Aug 21, 2013

Old style charm

Nice older hotel with a fun vintage movie theme. Great bar with two happy hours 4 30 - 6 and 9 30 till close - and plenty of champagne cocktails ! Gracie restaurant was good for breakfast but we thought a bit uninspired for an evening out - especially as there are so many really good choices nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try The Veritable Quandry for a great evening meal Veritable Quandary 1220 Southwest 1st Avenue Portland, OR 97204 (503) 227-7342 veritablequandary.com‎

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top