$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 12, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
250 reviews
Perfect stay!

This hotel has it all! The staff is so helpful and knowledgeable . They told us which local... See full review

  • Aaronwalter
  • Sep 2, 2014
Great Front Desk

Front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs. The hotel was booked for our staff... See full review

  • Miracle Worker from SM
  • Jul 30, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (250)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
250 out of 250
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Feb 26, 2010

how hotels should be run!

It was a great experience to end a two week business trip through eight different hotels. Staff was gracious without being over bearing. The place is not downtown which is a complete bonus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of shopping and restaurants within blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Feb 22, 2010

Nice (small) hotel in good location

The Hotel deLuxe is absolutely lovely. The rooms are on the small side but very nice with all the amenities a casual traveler could want. The room service is prompt and delicious. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to the PGE Park Max station as well as several bus routes. My biggest complaint is the lack of accessible plugs for lap-tops, cell phones, etc. I had to crawl under the desk to find an outlet and even then the outlet is so old that the cord frequently fell out. If you're traveling for fun, this may not be as much of a problem, but for a business traveler, it was a little difficult. However, for the price, quality and location, I would easily crawl under the desk again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Conveniently located to the Max train line which runs to the Portland airport for $2.30 compared to the $45 cab fare.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monthly Vegaser
Seattle, Wa
Feb 21, 2010

Not bad, but not Impressed

Hotel was quaint. Rooms are a little small for the price but otherwise very clean and cozy. My biggest problems are 1: No free internet in building. Most people on travel need internet for about 2 minutes a day to check email and to pay $24 for that is absurd. 2: I payed $40 for less than 48hrs of parking in their own garage. I was debating between three locations and $40 would have changed where I stayed had I know. Maybe that's a Portland thing, but I've never stayed at hotel that charges parking. You're also about ten blocks from everything you want to do downtown, which wasn't too bad, but next time I'll stay at the Nines. Better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Morton's Steakhouse is well worth the money compared to what you get at places like Ruth Chris or El Gaucho.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Everett, WA
Feb 19, 2010

Hotel DeLuxe

Parking is really expensive if you get there late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Clara, CA
Feb 16, 2010

Awesome romantic getaway!

Really comfortable and clean hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Would really recommend this for your next romantic getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kateili
Scotch Plains, NJ
Feb 9, 2010

Our Nice Stay

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend for a wedding. The hotel itself had the reception in it and it was amazing. All of the banquet rooms are beautiful and the staff did a great job helping out with the reception. The doormen were also very, very welcoming and held the doors, gave recommendations on restaurants and gave directions. They also remembered us and followed up on our excursions every time we came back to the hotel. The lobby and overall decor is gorgeous, very old Hollywood, but not old looking. The room we had was very small, but it didn't really matter to me. The flat screen TV and bathroom fixtures were very nice. The bar inside was also very good, mixed drinks can get a little pricey, but they had a great Happy Hour menu (the mac and cheese was amazinggg) The location of the hotel didn't really have much around but it was only a 5 minute walk to the city center which has great shopping and restaurants. The hotel also hailed cabs for you which was nice. Overall, it was a great hotel to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

My boyfriend and I took a cab to and from the airport which roundtrip cost us over eighty bucks but we chose to do that out of convenience and a fifteen minute drive. There is a streetcar that is close to the hotel that runs to and from the airport for free, but I believe it takes up to 50 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vic the Brick!
Business
Fullerton, CA
Jan 27, 2010

Awesome Hotel!

The hotel had very very friendly staff. The concierge was able to get me a ticket to the Blazers game which was completely SOLD OUT! She also had some great tips on local restaurants. The only bad thing about this hotel is its location. Its on the outskirts on the West Side of Downtown Portland. The room was impeccable and classy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Masu Sushi Bar. Located just a short walk from the Hotel. Best sushi I've ever had! Unbelievable!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeLuxe
Washington, DC
Jan 25, 2010

Phenomenal Hotel!

I have visited Portland several times, but this was my first time at the DeLuxe. What an amazing hotel. The people are very friendly, the rooms are beautiful, the hotel itself is tastefully decorated and the location is prime. You can either walk around or hop on the MAX. Convenient, clean, not too pricey...perfect! And they have the MOST comfortable beds I have ever slept in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

VooDoo Donuts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elvis Fan
Pasadena California
Jan 12, 2010

Hotel deLux

This Hotel was so retro. I was in town for Elvis' 75th birthday and they had Elvis' pancakes peanutbutter bannana and bacon. It was very clean retro but modern!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kalawren
Seattle, WA
Jan 4, 2010

One of the best hotels I've been to!

Hotel DeLuxe is very close to the downtown trolley system and is a 5 minute walk from shopping/restaurants. Extremely friendly staff and beautiful rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

I generally walk towards downtown, but didn't realize how close the hotel was to the Nob Hill district..we drove around that neighborhood on our way out of town and wished we had spent more time there! Great looking shops and restaurants/bars!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search