$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
View map of 729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CocochanelfromDC
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 28, 2010

Portland 1st Timer

Loved the hotel and it's old movie themes. The hotel was well kept, the staff very friendly and the location couldn't have been better for a first-timer who just needed to be in walking distance to most major attractions (not to mention a block from the MAX train that goes straight to/from the airport!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Brideport Brewere in the Pearl District...totally walkable from the Hotel DeLuxe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Napa, CA
Oct 23, 2010

Small Rooms

Good customer service, but the room size was more what you would expect in Manhattan not Portland. The tiny table in the corner really didn't even have enough room for my laptop. Next trip to Portland I'll make a different choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Channon the Graphic Artist
Business
San Clemente, CA.
Oct 13, 2010

AMAZING!

This was my husband and I first trip to Oregon on our 4yr Anniversary. We came to visit a friend in Portland & my cousin at University of Oregon. Hotel DeLux was AMAZING, we loved the location. We could walk to downtown Portland in 5-10min. The staff was so friendly. My husband & I loved eating at Gracie's for breakfast & dinner. You have to try the bar as well, they had the best drink call the "Thai Giblet" emmm, so good! We'll definately stay at Hotel DeLux again when we come to Oregon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a little hard to find if it's your first trip to Oregon. MapQuest gives odd directions, I would call the hotel & ask for directions, the hotel directions are much much better then MapQuest. Also, beware of the street signs in downtown Portland, sometimes the locals like to twist them around to confuse the visitors ...we found this out the hard way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Channon the Graphic Artist
Business
San Clemente, CA.
Oct 13, 2010

AMAZING!

This was my husband and I first trip to Oregon on our 4yr Anniversary. We came to visit a friend in Portland & my cousin at University of Oregon. Hotel DeLux was AMAZING, we loved the location. We could walk to downtown Portland in 5-10min. The staff was so friendly. My husband & I loved eating at Gracie's for breakfast & dinner. You have to try the bar as well, they had the best drink call the "Thai Giblet" emmm, so good! We'll definately stay at Hotel DeLux again when we come to Oregon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a little hard to find if it's your first trip to Oregon. MapQuest gives odd directions, I would call the hotel & ask for directions, the hotel directions are much much better then MapQuest. Also, beware of the street signs in downtown Portland, sometimes the locals like to twist them around to confuse the visitors ...we found this out the hard way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Sep 27, 2010

GREAT HOTEL

HAVE BEEN THERE SEVERAL TIMES - ALWAYS 1ST RATE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Rafael, CA
Sep 25, 2010

Deluxe destination

I really loved this hotel. The Hollywood movie theme throughout is both elegantly tasteful and whimsical. The staff was friendly, professional, and competent. More Brownie points: Very big on service without extra fees; Eco-conscious (Portland, in general, is ahead of the curve); Beautiful lobby, Gracie's Restaurant, and Driftwood Lounge; Easy, free on-street parking at night (or valet); No-charge Business Center with computers, printer, and fax. Their excellent amenities and attention to details in the room made my stay memorable, and I will return here whenever I visit Portland. I could only choose one "Traveler Type" but this hotel is well-suited for all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barleypop
Business
Bay Area
Sep 19, 2010

Hotel DeLuxe

Had a nice and quick 4 day vacation. Nice hotel, but extremely small room. Since we had a rental car, the parking options were pretty bad. $25 for valet per night and $17 at the lot across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue House restaurant was fantastic. Best crab sandwhich!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
?? not sure what's requested in this blo
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 19, 2010

Hotel comments

The hotel was located close to just about everything downtown, which made it easy walking to rather than driving and trying to find a parking place. Public transportation was excellent for the downtown and surrounding areas. Drove to the west coast and then east to Mt. Hood. Walked trails and saw a lot of beautiful scenery. Hotel DeLuxe needs to provide more reasonable parking . . .and to have a lot designated as 'no valet' which would make it much easier for most people. Also, way too many snacks, beverages,etc. 'for charge' in the room . . .get rid of it and let people order room service for whatever they want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Numberous dining facilities within walking distance of the hotel . . .and seemed to be relatively safe at night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canuck
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 14, 2010

Hotel deLuxury

My stay at Hotel deLuxe was wonderful. I felt like I was in a luxury Hotel without the luxury price. The hotel was within walking distance to Portland State University, Pioneer Square and the Pearl district. The staff was very helpful and I felt very comfortable everytime I returned to the hotel after a long day of ventures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Pioneer Square Shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom Waits
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 14, 2010

Hotel deLuxe is amazing!

Terrific hotel! Facilities are spotless, room (King) was spacious, clean and quite. They honored our request for a quiet room and while there was not much of a view, we didn't mind at all. Great customer service and we really enjoyed the quality food and drinks in both the bar and restaurant. Also, the hotel is conveniently located near the Max train, which made getting to/from downtown and the hotel very easy. The room had a great king bed, and the pillow menu was a nice touch. The front desk staff was great and upon check in, Jules had us squared away with a map and some great ideas for things to do and see. Great hotel and would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Portland has a great train system, with both the Max and trolley trains running regularly. In the city center, it's free and the train from the airport to the hotel was only a couple of bucks. The hotel is between the inbound and outbound tracks, so it's super easy to get to, just exit at the PGE Park station and it's about a 5 minute walk. The Rose and Japanese gardens are about a mile uphill and the walk through downtown to the water is about 20 minutes. You really don't need a car unless you leave the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top