$199 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
375 reviews
Relaxing respite in a whirlwind visit

This hotel was within walking distance of our daughter's apartment, a lightrail to the airport and... See full review

  • Tanacitafolia
  • Jul 1, 2014
Well Done!

The Hotel Deluxe, located downtown, is accessible to good restaurants, shopping, and a MAX station.... See full review

  • dsosman
  • May 31, 2014
White-glove elegance and style at award-winning downtown hotel
A three-time member of the Conde Nast "Gold List" as one of the top 100 hotels in the country, the Hotel deLuxe surrounds guests with white-glove opulence. With its gold leaf trim and Czechoslovakian chandeliers, the hotel has an old-school Hollywood feel. The 130 rooms are decorated in an Art Deco style and feature a pillow menu and crystal lamps. The hotel was renovated in 2006 and also houses an intimate bar and an upscale restaurant. The Hotel deLuxe even lends guests iPods for workouts if they forgot theirs.
Highlights
  • Free High-speed Internet access/Wi-Fi
  • A 24/7 fitness room
  • Offers 24-hour room service
  • Exercise room
  • Luxury room decor, including crystal lamps and mahogany nightstands
  • Self- and valet- parking (fees apply)
Rooms
The Hotel deLuxe has luxurious rooms that will please the most discriminating guests. Amenities include crystal lamps, free Wi-Fi, high-definition TVs, high-thread count linens and more. The rooms are decorated with a modern-meets-Art-Deco style and feature black-and-white photos of old-time movie stars.
Features
In addition to 24-hour room service, the Hotel deLuxe offers the "Make It So" button, through which guests can request anything from extra towels to sandals. The hotel boasts a 24/7 fitness room, which has cardiovascular machines and free weights. The hotel also boasts free Wi-Fi, a 24-hour business center with computers and a color printer, and more.
Dining
The Hotel deLuxe offers two options for dining and drinks. The Driftwood Room has a noir ambiance and offers handcrafted drinks and a menu that includes smoked pork loin sandwiches and steamed mussels and clams. The upscale restaurant Gracie's features American cuisine with fresh Pacific Northwest ingredients, including pan-seared halibut with risotto and grilled pork medallions with roasted potatoes.
Transportation
  • A short walk to MAX light rail system (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (1.5 mi/2.4 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.7 mi/2.7 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Three banquet rooms for meeting space totaling 1,800 square feet
  • On-site experts can help with audiovisual needs
Policies and fees
  • Self-parking fee is $25 USD while valet parking fee is $29 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

45.521 -122.6877
Area served
729 SW 15th Avenue Portland, OR 97205
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport
Area description
The Hotel deLuxe is conveniently located in uptown Portland, adjacent to the MAX light rail, now serving Portland International Airport. Also nearby, you'll find the Portland Trolley, Jeld Wen Sports Park, and the trendy Nob Hill and Pearl Districts for world-class dining and shopping. Guests of the hotel are within minutes of the newly remodeled Oregon Convention Center, and the downtown business hub; also featuring shops, theaters, galleries, waterfront, and restaurants. Alternatively you may wish to visit our popular Oregon Zoo, Children's Museum, Forestry Center, Japanese Gardens, or the Rose Garden Arena. The Hotel deLuxe is also within walking distance to the Portland Art Museum and Oregon Historical Society.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel deLuxe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel deLuxe Rooms

Standard King Room
Standard room non-smoking with King Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.
Standard Queen Room
Standard room non-smoking with Queen Size Pillow Top Mattress, Wi-Fi available, LCD TVs, Mini Bar, Safe, iPod Docking Station/Radio/Alarm Clock, in-room iron and ironing boards, Hair Dryers.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.2 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.2 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.7 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.7 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.7 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.8 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 1 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.2 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.3 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.4 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.6 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 3 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 3.1 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.9 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.2 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.6 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 5.8 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.4 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 9.1 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 14.9 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.5 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 30.1 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.9 mi

Dining

Driftwood Lounge
The Driftwood Lounge, located just off the lobby, reminds patrons of a time lost where martinis were sipped ever-so-slowly and service was personal.
Gracie's Restaurant
The house restaurant provides homemade gourmet fare in a glamorous setting. It is the perfect place for conducting business or getting together with family and friends. With our close proximity to Jeld Wen Sports Park, and many other local attractions, the restaurant is just the spot for a delightful meal before or after your event.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hotel deLuxe offers three conference rooms with more than 1,700 square feet. And of course, we have a screening room to see the latest films by local filmmakers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (375)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
375 out of 375
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alimac
Norfolk, VA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

First trip to Portland, OR

The staff at Hotel deLuxe was amazing, from the moment we arrived to the time we checked out. They provided us with information, amenities, and fantastic hospitality at every turn. Thanks for a great stay-- we can't wait to get back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out 'Sugar Mama's on 12th. It's delicious, reasonably priced, and a great locally owned breakfast joint. Just get there early on Friday for the homemade cinnamon buns-- they go fast.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple, not old not super young
new york city
Aug 7, 2011

Overall good experience & great location

There was some initial confusion with the reservation and check-in. The reservation was mistakenly duplicated by [...] the hotel, but the issue was fixed easily enough. During check-in the staff was friendly but a little unprofessional (very giggly). Otherwise, the service was fine though- no major issues at all. The room and the hotel were clean and aesthetically pleasing to boot. We loved the flavored cold water available in the lobby each day! The ubiquitous Wifi was very helpful. Great location from which to explore Portland and the surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ziba's Pitas food cart

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Couple, not old not super young
new york city
Aug 7, 2011

Overall good experience & great location

There was some initial confusion with the reservation and check-in. The reservation was mistakenly duplicated by [...] the hotel, but the issue was fixed easily enough. During check-in the staff was friendly but a little unprofessional (very giggly). Otherwise, the service was fine though- no major issues at all. The room and the hotel were clean and aesthetically pleasing to boot. We loved the flavored cold water available in the lobby each day! The ubiquitous Wifi was very helpful. Great location from which to explore Portland and the surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ziba's Pitas food cart

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brea, CA
Jul 25, 2011

Small, but lovely!

It's a bit tucked away from downtown, but still an easy walk. The lobby itself is grand and very nice. There is always someone opening and closing the door for you at all times, which is great and such an added bonus. The room we stayed at (standard queen) was small, but perfect for us. We were out and about for most of the day anyway, so it doesn't make much of a difference for us. The floors are themed very well to go with the old glam of Hollywood. We stayed on the 2nd floor, which was the Alfred Hitchcock theme. The noise level was tolerable. Only early in the morning did we hear the garbage trucks and/or train come by. It might be bad on other floors, but it wasn't a huge problem on the 2nd floor. The bathrooms are okay, not big, but not that small. The beds are great and so comfy after a long day of exploring Oregon. The only complaints we really had were the bad coffee and horrible toilet paper! Great overall if that was our only complaints though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the SmartPark on 10th and Yamhill. Just a few blocks and you could save quite a bit from the $22/day at the hotel.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ghanagal
Boston, MA
Jul 25, 2011

Good enough..

Compared to other 4-star hotels we've stayed at in Portland, the Hotel DeLuxe was just so-so. It felt more like a good, clean, serviceable 3* than a 4. Decor, kitschy. The room was small and nothing out of the ordinary. The location is definitely not like the ones we have stayed at right downtown. The Stadium District isn't much of anything, far as I can tell. It didn't matter because I just hopped in my car and went about my family business, which was why I was there in the first place. Staff super nice, I will say that. Would I stay there again? Wouldn't be my first choice as a destination hotel in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brea, CA
Jul 25, 2011

Small, but lovely!

It's a bit tucked away from downtown, but still an easy walk. The lobby itself is grand and very nice. There is always someone opening and closing the door for you at all times, which is great and such an added bonus. The room we stayed at (standard queen) was small, but perfect for us. We were out and about for most of the day anyway, so it doesn't make much of a difference for us. The floors are themed very well to go with the old glam of Hollywood. We stayed on the 2nd floor, which was the Alfred Hitchcock theme. The noise level was tolerable. Only early in the morning did we hear the garbage trucks and/or train come by. It might be bad on other floors, but it wasn't a huge problem on the 2nd floor. The bathrooms are okay, not big, but not that small. The beds are great and so comfy after a long day of exploring Oregon. The only complaints we really had were the bad coffee and horrible toilet paper! Great overall if that was our only complaints though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the SmartPark on 10th and Yamhill. Just a few blocks and you could save quite a bit from the $22/day at the hotel.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ghanagal
Boston, MA
Jul 25, 2011

Good enough..

Compared to other 4-star hotels we've stayed at in Portland, the Hotel DeLuxe was just so-so. It felt more like a good, clean, serviceable 3* than a 4. Decor, kitschy. The room was small and nothing out of the ordinary. The location is definitely not like the ones we have stayed at right downtown. The Stadium District isn't much of anything, far as I can tell. It didn't matter because I just hopped in my car and went about my family business, which was why I was there in the first place. Staff super nice, I will say that. Would I stay there again? Wouldn't be my first choice as a destination hotel in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
GILLETT PENNA.
Jul 23, 2011

IT WAS FANTASTIC

WENT TO SEE MY KIDS.. HAD A GREAT TIME SO MUCH TO SEE IN PORTLAND.. THE HOTEL WAS THE BEST. WHEN I GO TO PORTLAND I STAY AT THIS HOTEL CLEAN AND NICE AND THE PRICE IS RIGHT..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aurora, IL
Jul 23, 2011

Hollywood's Golden Age in Portland

The hotel itself made the trip special. The decor is clever, detailed, and clean. I can't say enough great things about the staff. Everyone was so helpful and interested in how the day was spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take time to learn the tram system. It is inexpensive, fast, and can get you anywhere you want to go in the city, including the airport.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aurora, IL
Jul 23, 2011

Hollywood's Golden Age in Portland

The hotel itself made the trip special. The decor is clever, detailed, and clean. I can't say enough great things about the staff. Everyone was so helpful and interested in how the day was spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take time to learn the tram system. It is inexpensive, fast, and can get you anywhere you want to go in the city, including the airport.

Back to menu Return to top