$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Hotel deLuxe

4 stars
View map of 729 SW 15th Ave., Portland, OR 97205

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel deLuxe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dian33
Business
Eugene, OR, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Weekday Getaway

Delightful staff, beautiful lobby. I was disappointed with our room. Small and cramped for queen bed, lacking the character of the rest of hotel. If I would have know, i would have paid more for a view and a little more pizazz

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Spectacular Indian reataurant, Vindalho

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sbcol
Business
Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Good value and helpful service

Our stay at Hotel DeLuxe was enjoyable. The hotel's location allowed for a short walk to downtown restaurants and shoppping, but was still a little out of the way. The staff was very helpful in making recommendations for dinner and getting us reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Staff will get reservations for you, and probably at times you want rather than using an on line reservation service.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
YoungLady
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Simply top

We've been going to the Deluxe for the past four years and... well, every time we go back I remember why it's the only hotel in Portland I'll stay in. I've been meaning to try other places, really, but how can I ever say no to this--? This hotel is all about the details. The lobby has a wonderful smell to it. It's cold outside, you walk in, and there's this toasty-warm scent wafting through the air, on the wings of some Dean Martin ballad. The young valets look old-school dapper, the concierge is flashing a megawatt smile, and if you sit down at the Driftwood bar, just off to your right, the bartender will mix you a champagne cocktail for the price of a cup of coffee. I come here years apart, but somehow the staff remembers me. When we had a valet check our bags this time, he even remembered the car I'd driven up the summer before. "Funny what you remember, isn't it?" he asked. And I wanted to say: "Shocking you can remember that at all!" (And I'm younger than he is, I'd bet). Well, and this is the other thing: There's no turnover, which tells you what a good operation it must be. The faces I saw on this visit are the same smiling faces I've been seeing for years. The pretty lady who checked me in -- typing at what must have been 150 wpm -- checked me in the first time I ever visited. And the tall, handsome valet who looks like James Bond and must be the best in the business? This is what he *does* for a living. Sure, another hotel might offer you a slightly larger room, or more luxurious pillows, but is that really what you want to be paying for? If you want to feel like a movie star, come here. No pillow is going to make you feel the way these people do. The Deluxe is about understated glamour, warm, memorable service, and don't forget: $5 champagne cocktails, every evening, until 6:30 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Orcatrix
Business
Wa
Dec 23, 2011

Definitely recommend this charming hotel

Spent two nights here alone busy in the day but what a treat arriving back at night. Wonderful food, drinks and atmosphere for a delightful meal in the bar before heading to my room using a security key. Once inside my room I had a tea and stepped into a deep skinny tub then into a comfy bed. Perfect for my needs. Love the free wifi but you agree to receive email announcements to forego the almost $10 fee. There are stairs to the lobby, which was a hassle with luggage. There is a bellman and he was available but busy so I towed it alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
madisontraveler
Business
Madison, WI, USA
Nov 26, 2011

Convenient location and classic character

I was very impressed with the Hotel deLuxe. The lobby and rooms have a glamorous charm and though it's an older building it is very well maintained with modern amenities. Rooms are a bit on the small side but very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful and even kicked in a few extra perks since I was booked for a full week there. The location is a real strong point--right on the Blue and Red MAX light rail lines for easy travel to various points of interest and connecting to the airport, and within walking distance of downtown, Pearl District, and the Nob Hill area. An excellent choice and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No reason to rent a car if you're staying here. Apart from being reasonable walking distance from many points of interest, you're also right on the MAX light rail corridor, including the Red Line to/from the airport, and you're a short walk from other mass transit including several major bus routes and the Portland Streetcar. They all use the same TriMet pass-- a pass for a whole week is only $24.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
OCJoJo
Business
Dana Point, CA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Amazing getaway!

I have to say that the staff at Hotel DeLuxe were amazing! Every request that I made was answered with "yes we can do that for you". They always had smiles on their faces and were very knowledgeable at the area. Reid the bartender was great! We wanted to know about all the local breweries and he gave us some really good tips and directions to each place. I would defintely come back here again when visiting the Portland area. Thank you so much for making us feel so comfortable in a city that we have never visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the Ghost Tour that is provided by Portland Walking Tours. If you like to learn about the history of an area and also want to hear ghost stories this tour is for you.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Angel from L.A.
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 14, 2011

small and sweet business trip

very nice and accomandating staff warm and cozy rooms love the hotel art deco style and feel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Mario's store has old fashion sales people and great stormie jewelry Take a cab to Twist store and has the best selection for gifts for the holidays

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
likearitz
Business
Providence, RI
Nov 14, 2011

Great for exploring downtown

I was in Portland for a conference, and rather than staying near the convention center I opted for Hotel Deluxe. It was a great way to explore the city on my way home every evening. The light rail made travel within the city incredibly easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Living Room Theaters in the Pearl District was a short walk from the light rail - I saw a great movie there while enjoying an organic Oregon-brewed beer.

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ines6375
Business
Brooklyn
Nov 13, 2011

Very charming and comfortable

I choose this hotel because I got 20% off. I loved my stay. The staff was incredibly helpful and nice, offering coupons for the restaurant, free internet, information, help in every way. I felt welcomed and cared for, which made all the very small disagreements disappear. I had a great stay! My room was very nicely decorated, in yellow and blue, with comfortable pillows, an extra comforter, a nice flat screen tv, cute bathroom with marble floor and a bathrobe, tea machine in the room. The walls were a bit thin though, I could hear the person next door coughing, and I would hear also the water running down the pipes. But it was ok, it was light and didn't really bother me. The bed was comfortable but one side was lower than the other, it was ok though. The view was so so, I was on the second floor (the Hitchock floor), and I had a view on a flat roof through a fence. I kept the curtains closed, I was there mostly at night so it didn't matter really. There was a small smell of detergent in the room, but it was not too bad, I prefer that than a bad smell. The room (I reserved a room with a king size bed) was big enough for one person after I put all my stuff in the closet, and my suitcase in a corner of just the right size. It was tight but everything fit perfectly. I am not sure how you can comfortably manage for two people with two big suitcases though. The hotel is located just outside of the center, a short walk from it. It took me 25 minutes to walk to the conference center, and a little more to come back with the tram. But you don't need to go eat somewhere else, the restaurant of the hotel is quiet nice, and reasonably priced. With the coupons I received, it was a steal! Don't miss the Japanese Garden, 40 minutes away by foot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like healthy food: Prasad. A cheap, vegan gluten-free organic restaurant located in a yoga center. Really good!

Review of Hotel deLuxe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ELJay
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Great bar and lobby

Awesome bar and lobby - very cool decor. Nice location but not right in the heart - although just short couple of blocks away. Silly small exercise room - 3 pieces of cardio equip and some free weights . . .very lame. Horrible shampoo/conditioner/soap - bring your own. My room was small, but not a big deal b/c just one. best part is the restaurant, lobby, bar - great place for hanging out w/ a glass or two of wine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top