$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
197 reviews
Great hotel

Loved my stay here this was a very pleasant hotel. Would definitely stay here again. See full review

  • Traveler1
  • Jul 13, 2015
Great quick atop

My friend and I drove through Portland to stop for one night on a long road trip. Check in and out... See full review

  • Erinb
  • Jun 22, 2015
From its minimalist lobby to the custom-designed walnut furniture in the rooms, Hotel Modera provides a luxurious experience in downtown Portland. Previously a Days Inn, the hotel was revamped and is now the epitome of upscale lodging. The sleek 174 rooms and suites feature Wi-Fi (at cost), elegant decor and room amenities that include down bedding and flat-screen high-definition TVs. The Hotel Modera houses the chic restaurant Nel Centro, which features the cuisine of the French and Italian Riviera, such as butternut squash tortelloni with sage butter.
Dining
Hotel Modera also serves as the home for Nel Centro, an elegant restaurant with Italian marble floors and rich walnut walls that features the cuisine of the Riviera. The wine list boasts bottles from France, Italy and Oregon, and the cocktail menu has many handmade libations. But the dinner menu is where this elegant eatery shines: Options include the widely praised ravioli Nicoise with butter and parmesan, beef daube with red wine and fried panisse.
Rooms
The upscale rooms of the Hotel Modera are sheer luxury, from the down pillows and comforters to the custom-designed walnut furnishings. The bathrooms feature Italian marble and high-end bath products from Italy. The rooms also include Wi-Fi access (for a fee), high-definition TVs with complimentary premium channels, in-room refrigerators and more.
Highlights
  • Private courtyard
  • LCD high-definition TVs
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
  • Complimentary passes to nearby top-notch local gym
Nearby attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.9 mi/3.1 km)  
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.1 mi/3.2 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Six meeting rooms with space totaling 2,400 feet
  • Audiovisual equipment available for rental
Transportation
  • Short distance to MAX light rail station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Short distance to Portland streetcar (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
Policies
  • Pets can stay in the hotel for a fee ($25 USD per room per stay).
  • Wi-Fi access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Modera also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Modera Rooms

Executive City King
The Executive City King provides guests with delightful views of Portlands downtown city streets from the upper floors of the hotel. This non-smoking room features an elegant king-sized bed dressed with crisp designer linens, down pillows and blankets atop a plush pillow-top mattress. Rich custom-designed walnut furnishings in warm earth tones are paired with modern accents that lend a sophisticated sensibility to the room. Crafted in Italian Carrera marble, the bathroom provides a relaxing tub and all of the comforts of home. Guests in the Executive City King will also enjoy high speed wireless internet and in-room Keurig coffee makers with premium coffee blends. Every room includes an HD TV with premium channels, programming on demand, a mini-refrigerator, and an in-room safe.
Premier Double Queen
Two queen beds indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.
Premier King
One king bed indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.8 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.8 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.7 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.3 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.8 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.4 mi
  • Forest Park: 8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.5 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.8 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Dining

Nel Centro
Based on the rich culinary traditions of the French and Italian Riviera, Nel Centro's menu is drawn largely from the cities of Nice and Genoa. The cuisine of the Riviera is fragrant, sensuous and inspired. The restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, a bar menu, and features a Happy Hour from 4-6 pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has over 2400 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities with the latest audio visual equipment available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 197
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Erinb
Business
N/A
Jun 22, 2015

Great quick atop

My friend and I drove through Portland to stop for one night on a long road trip. Check in and out went extremely smooth, the restaurant located in the hotel was incredible and the room was clean and comfortable. We will definitely be back if driving through Portland again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristine D.
Business
Saint Louis
May 17, 2015

Girls Weekend

Had a great time in Portland at the Modera. The patio is beyond stellar, and the rooms are fantastic. We stayed a few nights after driving to the coast and the hotel was the perfect getaway. Would highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister Scott
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Dec 3, 2014

Perfect Location

We stayed overnight in one of the suites to attend a show at the Keller Auditorium. Valet parking was a breeze, check-in was even faster. The staff were excellent and friendly, and I like that the rooms are secured by a key activated elevator. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a king bed suite with a great view. The room itself had a kind of musty smell to it when we arrived, but I got used to it rather quickly. The room was very luxurious and had all the amenities I would expect from a small boutique hotel. The location is absolutely amazing, we walked outside and down a couple blocks to the Auditorium and back again. Room service ended at 10pm, but we found a great pizza place called 21st Century Pizza that delivers until midnight. I would have given this hotel 5 stars, but the heating and air unit in the room got really annoying, and kept turning off and on loudly every 5-10 minutes. I ended up just turning it off so I could fall asleep without the noise, besides that our stay was fantastic. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is literally 2 blocks away (down hill) from the Keller Auditorium. It's also within 5 blocks of other major area attractions including the water front, and you're right in the middle of downtown and your view includes the Portland skyline.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pfelte1
Business
Lake Stevens, WA
Oct 26, 2014

Best Night Ever

This has to be one of the best Hotel experiences I've ever had. It started with the front desk staff, and how helpful and nice they were to us. They even gave us tons of suggestions for nightlife in downtown. The room as super comfortable, clean and quiet. Best night in a hotel in a long time. In the morning I forgot that I had forgotten toothpaste and they gave me a small packet. The breakfast was also very good, and the coffee is amazing. I will be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tavel lots on budget
Business
Seattle
Oct 26, 2014

It was perfect

Attending a concert at Keller Auditorium and this was perfect. Location, food and comfort. The staff were all very pleasant. I paid a little more for location so I wouldn't have to drive or taxi and it was perfect. I DID forget about city overnight parking at hotels, so remember there'll be an extra $30 to your bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get there in time and your meal can be from the happy hour menu. Great stuff. Meal for 2 and 2 drinks only $30.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chris the hawser
Business
los angeles
Jun 21, 2014

good location

small clean rooms right in between 2 light rail train lines

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler7757
Business
West Coast
Feb 25, 2014

Great place to stay

Staff was super friendly and helpful. The rooms were so modern and stylist! Marble everywhere, super clean too. There was some kind of fur blanket on the bed. Very classy. Only thing I didn't prefer was the location of the gym, it was down the street. I would like it to be in the hotel. Besides that small detail, this place is the best place I've stayed in Portland. Free small bottles of wine upon check-in just because I told them I was having a rough day! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Live Music Lover
Business
Central Oregon
Nov 30, 2012

Used to love this place!

We visit Portland to attend concerts. We found the Modera by accident looking for a hotel near the Keller center. While it's pricier than other hotels nearby, it had received great reviews. Our first visit was outstanding. I usually have trouble sleeping on hotel beds, but at the Modera, I had the best night sleep I'd had in years. The mattresses were so comfortable I awoke without a back ache. First hotel in over two decades I can say that about. Our friends the next morning couldn't stop talking about what a great night's sleep they'd had as well, highlighting the mattresses. The next time we stayed, our experience was similar, although we made the mistake of dining there. The prices are extremely high, the food's OK, but the service is terrible. We entered the dining room with two hours to spare before the concert. The service was so poor, we had to repeatedly emphasize we had a concert to get to and would like to get our entree's in time to gulp them down at that point. We stayed there again November 2011, the rooms and mattresses were still comfortable, but the interiors were starting to show the wear of time. We had enough sense to dine elsewhere. November of 2012, we booked two rooms. The wear and tear of time was more pronounced, granted it wasn't to the level of a 2 1/2 star hotel but wasn't a 4 star either. We had to dine there unfortunately, but built on prior experience knew not to order appetizers or even a salad. The dinner was extremely slow in being served. After waiting for over an hour for our entree's we asked the staff where our meal was. We were told the "computer crashed", and they were just now giving the kitchen handwritten orders. Whatever. We again had to wolf down an over priced meal, and raced to the concert. However we knew after the show, we'd get a great night's sleep. Wrong. The mattresses haven't been changed since we first went there 6 years earlier. My mattress was lumpy, saggy, and uncomfortable. I couldn't sleep straight through the night it was so bad. I was glad I'd brought anti-inflammatories with me, along with pain killers. My guest was disappointed in her room and mattress as well. This was spontaneous critique from her. I hadn't even got to mention my displeasure before she voiced hers. Suffice it to say, what was once my favorite hotel in Portland, which I was willing to pay a premium for, is a hotel I will no longer book. It's too bad, because a great night sleep at the Modera was almost as enjoyable as the concerts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zhanna
Business
seattle wa
Sep 26, 2011

weekend getaway

This hotel was very beautiful and modern. I liked the room and bathroom. The one thing I didn’t really like was my burger at the hotel restaurant for dinner but whatever my husband ordered was amazing! The staff was nice and friendly and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
subflw47
Business
chicago, il
Apr 4, 2011

Great place!

first off, the reviews i read prior really sold me on the hotel. It is in a cool location in downtown, walking distance to quite a few places to eat. theres not a lot to actually do at night in the area, but the bar in the hotel is cool. the free fitness pass is cool too - you get to go to a 24 hour fitness. the biggest thing though, is the bed. its quite possibly the most comfortable bed i've ever seen. I never wanted to leave! the only complaint is the silliness of the bathroom door, its a sliding door without a latch, so you think it doesnt ever really close. minor complaint, totally. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top