$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
190 reviews
Great, as always

Last minute stay before Christmas. Staff was great and very accommodating with our large amount of... See full review

  • Sazerac
  • Jan 26, 2015
Great Overnight Stay

We checked in on a Friday afternoon. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was... See full review

  • B2thae
  • Jan 19, 2015
Luxurious hotel brings upscale affluence to downtown Portland
From its minimalist lobby to the custom-designed walnut furniture in the rooms, Hotel Modera provides a luxurious experience in downtown Portland. Previously a Days Inn, the hotel was revamped and is now the epitome of upscale lodging. The sleek 174 rooms and suites feature Wi-Fi (at cost), elegant decor and room amenities that include down bedding and flat-screen high-definition TVs. The Hotel Modera houses the chic restaurant Nel Centro, which features the cuisine of the French and Italian Riviera, such as butternut squash tortelloni with sage butter.
Highlights
  • Private courtyard
  • LCD high-definition TVs
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
  • Complimentary passes to nearby top-notch local gym
Rooms
The upscale rooms of the Hotel Modera are sheer luxury, from the down pillows and comforters to the custom-designed walnut furnishings. The bathrooms feature Italian marble and high-end bath products from Italy. The rooms also include Wi-Fi access (for a fee), high-definition TVs with complimentary premium channels, in-room refrigerators and more.
Dining
Hotel Modera also serves as the home for Nel Centro, an elegant restaurant with Italian marble floors and rich walnut walls that features the cuisine of the Riviera. The wine list boasts bottles from France, Italy and Oregon, and the cocktail menu has many handmade libations. But the dinner menu is where this elegant eatery shines: Options include the widely praised ravioli Nicoise with butter and parmesan, beef daube with red wine and fried panisse.
Transportation
  • Short distance to MAX light rail station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Short distance to Portland streetcar (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
Attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.9 mi/3.1 km)  
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.1 mi/3.2 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Six meeting rooms with space totaling 2,400 feet
  • Audiovisual equipment available for rental
Policies and Fees
  • Pets can stay in the hotel for a fee ($25 USD per room per stay).
  • Wi-Fi access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Modera also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Modera Rooms

Executive City King
The Executive City King provides guests with delightful views of Portlands downtown city streets from the upper floors of the hotel. This non-smoking room features an elegant king-sized bed dressed with crisp designer linens, down pillows and blankets atop a plush pillow-top mattress. Rich custom-designed walnut furnishings in warm earth tones are paired with modern accents that lend a sophisticated sensibility to the room. Crafted in Italian Carrera marble, the bathroom provides a relaxing tub and all of the comforts of home. Guests in the Executive City King will also enjoy high speed wireless internet and in-room Keurig coffee makers with premium coffee blends. Every room includes an HD TV with premium channels, programming on demand, a mini-refrigerator, and an in-room safe.
Premier Double Queen
Two queen beds indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.
Premier King
One king bed indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.8 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.8 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.7 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.3 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.8 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.4 mi
  • Forest Park: 8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.5 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.8 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has over 2400 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities with the latest audio visual equipment available.

Dining

Nel Centro
Based on the rich culinary traditions of the French and Italian Riviera, Nel Centro's menu is drawn largely from the cities of Nice and Genoa. The cuisine of the Riviera is fragrant, sensuous and inspired. The restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, a bar menu, and features a Happy Hour from 4-6 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (190)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 190
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sazerac
Business
Beaverton
Jan 26, 2015

Great, as always

Last minute stay before Christmas. Staff was great and very accommodating with our large amount of luggage and valet needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
B2thae
Business
San Mateo
Jan 19, 2015

Great Overnight Stay

We checked in on a Friday afternoon. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel was very pretty and clean. The room was nicely decorated and clean as well. The restaurant downstairs was delicious and had a great happy hour. We wished we could've stayed longer. But will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BumblinaGirl
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Great date night!!

Great business location, beautiful and contemporary room. Far from the "good eats" of the city. Paid parking on street available for less than price of valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa T.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great downtown location and friendly staff

In town for long weekend and the hotel was great. Good location for walking to the farmers market, down to the riverfront, and close to shopping. The front desk and valet team were very helpful in making recommendations and providing directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Priscilla S.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

My Permanent Hotel

Hotel Modera was a great place ! The service from the start was amazing. We drove in, and the Valet Attendent was very knowledgable of the area. He told me the price per night to stay, but he also told me there were different parking garages around that were indoor and outdoor. He also mentioned street parking- mentioning the price, and times they are in effect. -- We chose street parking as we were always planning to go see things and Sunday would be free. Inside we got a warm welcome despite our messy attire. The receptionist was more than happy to answer our question about the best coffee joint. (miscommunication on mine or his part but nothing major) The room was great ! We only had the most basic as you can say of there rooms. We had it facing the city and it was a queen size bed. The bathroom was probably my most favorite. Nice shower. Big bottles of shampoo, conditioner, soup and lotion. Nice amount of towels. It was hard to leave. The TV had great amount of channels as well. I was able to watch one of my favorite shows before falling asleep. Snacks/drinks are pricey in the room but what hotel aren't. They also offer wifi but for a price per night, for up to 5 devices. Luckily I booked before they made that change so I had it for free ! Room service/maintenance was super fast. I admit our toilet was having trouble not flushing, called on 2 occasions. Both times the receptionist called the maintenance person and they came right away and fixed it and out in 5 minutes. Really amazing restaurant down stairs, nel centro. Stays up somewhat late which is great. They also have a nice and open garden in the front with gas light fire at night. (They had it on even in the rain.) Miss the place already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was an outdoor shopping center just about 4-5 blocks away from the hotel. Really beautiful. Winter not much people were out but shopping would have been wonderful in the sun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
choejw
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 1, 2014

Good enough

Nothing to complain but not super. Just good enough in every aspect. 5-10 mins walk from/to the downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel buff
Business
Eugene, OR, USA
Nov 19, 2014

Kind and helpful staff with great advice

Reception staff was helpful and efficient at check-in and check-out. We were checked-in in no time and received a helpful print-out of the best driving directions for the Japanese Garden and the Rose Testing Garden. Great location, nice restaurant on site, quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prineville
Nov 18, 2014

Pleasant stay

There were a few things that could improve, nothing major. It was a nice stay, the bed was good, and we would stay again. A complimentary wine reception like the vintage plaza would be top notch!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Young Business Profession
Business
Eugene Oregon
Oct 5, 2014

staff at check in otherwise okay

arriving late Friday night I just wanted to check in so I could party downtown and drink.. but had to wait for tony at the front desk to finish counting his drawer and said that it would take 20 mins for the web reservation to clear ... but miraculously once he was done with his duties our reservation went thru . hmm just not 4 star serve at check in other than that it was okay rather pay 20 dollars more and stay were they treat you better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Treylito's Way
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 26, 2014

nice and clean

Hotel was nice and clean. $50 parking fee was a killer. We thought we read it was $30. We didn't realize the amount charged until we checked bank statement. =/

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top