$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Hotel Modera

4 stars
515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
180 reviews
Best Night Ever

This has to be one of the best Hotel experiences I've ever had. It started with the front desk... See full review

  • pfelte1
  • Oct 26, 2014
Great small space!!

We loved our stay at the modera... always love the people of portland! See full review

  • Andersen
  • Aug 14, 2014
Luxurious hotel brings upscale affluence to downtown Portland
From its minimalist lobby to the custom-designed walnut furniture in the rooms, Hotel Modera provides a luxurious experience in downtown Portland. Previously a Days Inn, the hotel was revamped and is now the epitome of upscale lodging. The sleek 174 rooms and suites feature Wi-Fi (at cost), elegant decor and room amenities that include down bedding and flat-screen high-definition TVs. The Hotel Modera houses the chic restaurant Nel Centro, which features the cuisine of the French and Italian Riviera, such as butternut squash tortelloni with sage butter.
Highlights
  • Private courtyard
  • LCD high-definition TVs
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
  • Complimentary passes to nearby top-notch local gym
Rooms
The upscale rooms of the Hotel Modera are sheer luxury, from the down pillows and comforters to the custom-designed walnut furnishings. The bathrooms feature Italian marble and high-end bath products from Italy. The rooms also include Wi-Fi access (for a fee), high-definition TVs with complimentary premium channels, in-room refrigerators and more.
Dining
Hotel Modera also serves as the home for Nel Centro, an elegant restaurant with Italian marble floors and rich walnut walls that features the cuisine of the Riviera. The wine list boasts bottles from France, Italy and Oregon, and the cocktail menu has many handmade libations. But the dinner menu is where this elegant eatery shines: Options include the widely praised ravioli Nicoise with butter and parmesan, beef daube with red wine and fried panisse.
Transportation
  • Short distance to MAX light rail station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Short distance to Portland streetcar (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
Attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.9 mi/3.1 km)  
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.1 mi/3.2 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Six meeting rooms with space totaling 2,400 feet
  • Audiovisual equipment available for rental
Policies and Fees
  • Pets can stay in the hotel for a fee ($25 USD per room per stay).
  • Wi-Fi access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Modera also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Modera Rooms

Executive City King
The Executive City King provides guests with delightful views of Portlands downtown city streets from the upper floors of the hotel. This non-smoking room features an elegant king-sized bed dressed with crisp designer linens, down pillows and blankets atop a plush pillow-top mattress. Rich custom-designed walnut furnishings in warm earth tones are paired with modern accents that lend a sophisticated sensibility to the room. Crafted in Italian Carrera marble, the bathroom provides a relaxing tub and all of the comforts of home. Guests in the Executive City King will also enjoy high speed wireless internet and in-room Keurig coffee makers with premium coffee blends. Every room includes an HD TV with premium channels, programming on demand, a mini-refrigerator, and an in-room safe.
Premier Double Queen
Two queen beds indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.
Premier King
One king bed indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.8 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.8 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.7 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.3 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.8 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.4 mi
  • Forest Park: 8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.5 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.8 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Dining

Nel Centro
Based on the rich culinary traditions of the French and Italian Riviera, Nel Centro's menu is drawn largely from the cities of Nice and Genoa. The cuisine of the Riviera is fragrant, sensuous and inspired. The restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, a bar menu, and features a Happy Hour from 4-6 pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has over 2400 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities with the latest audio visual equipment available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
180 out of 180
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Baffled Billy
Business
Lubbock, TX
Mar 29, 2009

Nice place, insane billing

Loved the stay, location and scene of this place. Would recommend it to others. What was crazy was what happened after my departure. I left this morning early (before sunrise) to catch an early flight. Checking out i signed a bill, which admittedly i didn't look at---as i said it was very early, i assumed the bill was my room charge and a receipt i could turn into accounting. Pulling my receipts together just now i noticed that what i had was a receipt only for incidental items that i did not use or take---a vitamin water and a candy bar (i don't even know where i would have found them if i wanted to). So i called the hotel and told them about the incorrect charges and also asked for a receipt. A very nice young woman said she would look into it, apologized for the error and would have the charges removed. She did say that she would have to get a manager to take the charges off as she was not authorized and that she would call back to confirm it had happened. She also took my email to send a receipt for the room. A few minutes later she called back to say that 'the manger' said that since i signed for the charges they would not remove them, unless i was there at the hotel. I was also told that i could not get a room receipt since i prepaid the room through Orbitz. My response was that it did not make any sense to me that the determining factor in removing the charges would hinge on whether i was standing in the lobby or 1200 miles away. She apologized. Then i got the standard corporate line that she is not authorized to..... and the manager..... after expressing some frustration in the treatment and saying that i really enjoyed my stay, but that not it will now be colored by this experience.... she asked if i wanted to speak to the manager.... i replied that if the manager was taking this position and having her call me back with the news that talking to the manager would most likely not solve anything and make me even angrier. I thanked her for her time, hung up and am writing this review. So, dig the place, but check the fine print. And i suppose in this world of nickel shaving at every corner, expect the cold shoulder as a default. Even if they are smiling all the while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Live Music Lover
Business
Central Oregon
Nov 30, 2012

Used to love this place!

We visit Portland to attend concerts. We found the Modera by accident looking for a hotel near the Keller center. While it's pricier than other hotels nearby, it had received great reviews. Our first visit was outstanding. I usually have trouble sleeping on hotel beds, but at the Modera, I had the best night sleep I'd had in years. The mattresses were so comfortable I awoke without a back ache. First hotel in over two decades I can say that about. Our friends the next morning couldn't stop talking about what a great night's sleep they'd had as well, highlighting the mattresses. The next time we stayed, our experience was similar, although we made the mistake of dining there. The prices are extremely high, the food's OK, but the service is terrible. We entered the dining room with two hours to spare before the concert. The service was so poor, we had to repeatedly emphasize we had a concert to get to and would like to get our entree's in time to gulp them down at that point. We stayed there again November 2011, the rooms and mattresses were still comfortable, but the interiors were starting to show the wear of time. We had enough sense to dine elsewhere. November of 2012, we booked two rooms. The wear and tear of time was more pronounced, granted it wasn't to the level of a 2 1/2 star hotel but wasn't a 4 star either. We had to dine there unfortunately, but built on prior experience knew not to order appetizers or even a salad. The dinner was extremely slow in being served. After waiting for over an hour for our entree's we asked the staff where our meal was. We were told the "computer crashed", and they were just now giving the kitchen handwritten orders. Whatever. We again had to wolf down an over priced meal, and raced to the concert. However we knew after the show, we'd get a great night's sleep. Wrong. The mattresses haven't been changed since we first went there 6 years earlier. My mattress was lumpy, saggy, and uncomfortable. I couldn't sleep straight through the night it was so bad. I was glad I'd brought anti-inflammatories with me, along with pain killers. My guest was disappointed in her room and mattress as well. This was spontaneous critique from her. I hadn't even got to mention my displeasure before she voiced hers. Suffice it to say, what was once my favorite hotel in Portland, which I was willing to pay a premium for, is a hotel I will no longer book. It's too bad, because a great night sleep at the Modera was almost as enjoyable as the concerts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cramped in Portland
Business
Spokane, WA
Feb 19, 2013

Small, noisy and... did I say small?

If you're looking to stay in DOWNTOWN Portland, this isn't the hotel to pick. It's in the Financial District, and the walk to downtown is many blocks. Yes, the light rail system (MAX) is right outside, but it's still a hassle if you’re looking to step outside your hotel and enjoy meals, shopping and Pioneer Place. The king-bed rooms are TINY -- so, so, so small. The room is small, and the bathroom is uncomfortably tiny. The band plays in the lounge, which is great if you're IN the lounge with the intent of enjoying the band. If you're up in your room, and are looking for a bit of peace and quiet, it's ultimately the same as being in the lounge. The noise of the band reverberates through the entire hotel until late at night. Also, when I called the hotel prior to our stay, I asked if the rooms had bath robes and was told, yes, they did. Nope, they are no bath robes in the rooms. I was also told that valet parking was $27, which is true, but that finding street parking should be no issue and really easy. Nope, after many trips around the block (up five blocks, down five blocks and over five blocks), there was no street parking to be found. Ended up using the valet for $27 per night. On a positive note, the staff is extremely helpful, friendly and gracious. Nice people work at Hotel Modera, but the hotel isn’t worth $200+ per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boise
Aug 8, 2008

Clean with nice style and location, but service not supreme

The rooms are so tastefully and keenly designed, however it doesn't really mean much if you hear the elevator thumping and stopping all night and morning. When mentioning this the next morning, the response was Sorry. Hey, it's a good thing just ONE of the elevators is working! Just avoid the rooms near the elevators. Also, check in was a bit slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Pioneer Square and Nike Town are about 3 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tieton, WA
Aug 4, 2008

Beautiful Hotel - Beautiful Rooms

This Hotel is awesome to say the least in the way it looks and the comfort of the rooms. The rooms are small however they have everything you need and then some. It is a very modern and trendy hotel. It is just a bit out of the way of the major shopping areas(a short walk never killed anyone) and being off the major crossroads, traffic is a bit more manageable. My only reservation about this hotel is the staff. They all were extremely helpful and kind but they lack the experience to handle anything out of the ordinary. I forgot my Camera in my room when I checked out, called them and was sent to a voice mail and was told I would be contacted shortly. Unfortunately I had to call them back a day later only to hear that my camera could not be found. I had very bad service from the staff that I talked to from that point and received the run around trying to get a hold of anyone that could really do anything about returning my camera. Other than the rather depressing loss of my camera my stay at the Modera was nothing short of perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Japanese Gardens is a must see place in Portland

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Young Business Profession
Business
Eugene Oregon
Oct 5, 2014

staff at check in otherwise okay

arriving late Friday night I just wanted to check in so I could party downtown and drink.. but had to wait for tony at the front desk to finish counting his drawer and said that it would take 20 mins for the web reservation to clear ... but miraculously once he was done with his duties our reservation went thru . hmm just not 4 star serve at check in other than that it was okay rather pay 20 dollars more and stay were they treat you better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just anotherr traveler
Business
San Diego
Jan 2, 2014

Rooms need some attention to detail

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and housekeeping kept it spotless. About the only issue I had was the wear and tear on the room was very obvious. There were dig marks in the cabinets where the chair had damaged them. The corners of the desk chair were torn and frayed. The paint was chipping off the bathroom vanity, and the door chain was falling off. The electrical switches were a bit dirty and the main one for the room lights was missing a screw in the switch plate cover. Overall, the location and the staff were great, but the room needs a minor overhaul.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat breakfast at Tasty and Alder. About 12 blocks. For Thai, go to Thai Chili Jam. About six blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JKL Chau
Business
Seattle
Jan 22, 2014

Chill boutique hotel

The hotel was easy and chill so for a quick trip it is perfect! My only qualm was some staff was very friendly and helpful, but a few weren't cut out for the hospitality industry. The rooms are cozy and the bed was comfortable. We did hear other people in different rooms though-so that wasn't ideal. Also, our room was close to the elevator so that was constant noise. A plus about the room though is that the windows actually function and can open and close!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to park in a garage or do valet service~just find street parking bc usually it is a lot less expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GolfBryan
Business
Salt Lake City
Sep 16, 2013

Average

Good: Staff was VERY responsive. Location was good. Bad: Room was VERY small. City noise constant. Very expensive to park. Bathroom door was the same as the closet door. If one was closed the other was open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alias Lo
Business
Boston
Nov 18, 2013

Cute little hotel with nice outdoor fireplace

This little hotel is really little, I mean the room, however, the bed was comfy and the location was perfect. Thank god I don't have a car, overnight parking there is priced as $30, and of course I still see people tipping them. So$30 without tipping. Mini bar is so little barely anything, the bathroom door really is the same as the closet door, can't lock either. The room key always not working, but the front desk girls were really nice and helpful! I may recommend, may not...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

To Pioneer Place, Zoo, Art Museum, Japanese Garden... this is a small city, so actually anywhere you stay, can't be that far.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top