$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
198 reviews
LOVELY!

Loved the restaurant and outdoor seating! Rooms were spacious and clean, front desk staff was very... See full review

  • mrshittner
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great, as always

Last minute stay before Christmas. Staff was great and very accommodating with our large amount of... See full review

  • Sazerac
  • Jan 26, 2015
Luxurious hotel brings upscale affluence to downtown Portland
From its minimalist lobby to the custom-designed walnut furniture in the rooms, Hotel Modera provides a luxurious experience in downtown Portland. Previously a Days Inn, the hotel was revamped and is now the epitome of upscale lodging. The sleek 174 rooms and suites feature Wi-Fi (at cost), elegant decor and room amenities that include down bedding and flat-screen high-definition TVs. The Hotel Modera houses the chic restaurant Nel Centro, which features the cuisine of the French and Italian Riviera, such as butternut squash tortelloni with sage butter.
Highlights
  • Private courtyard
  • LCD high-definition TVs
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
  • Complimentary passes to nearby top-notch local gym
Rooms
The upscale rooms of the Hotel Modera are sheer luxury, from the down pillows and comforters to the custom-designed walnut furnishings. The bathrooms feature Italian marble and high-end bath products from Italy. The rooms also include Wi-Fi access (for a fee), high-definition TVs with complimentary premium channels, in-room refrigerators and more.
Dining
Hotel Modera also serves as the home for Nel Centro, an elegant restaurant with Italian marble floors and rich walnut walls that features the cuisine of the Riviera. The wine list boasts bottles from France, Italy and Oregon, and the cocktail menu has many handmade libations. But the dinner menu is where this elegant eatery shines: Options include the widely praised ravioli Nicoise with butter and parmesan, beef daube with red wine and fried panisse.
Transportation
  • Short distance to MAX light rail station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Short distance to Portland streetcar (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
Attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.9 mi/3.1 km)  
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.1 mi/3.2 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Six meeting rooms with space totaling 2,400 feet
  • Audiovisual equipment available for rental
Policies and Fees
  • Pets can stay in the hotel for a fee ($25 USD per room per stay).
  • Wi-Fi access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Modera also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Modera Rooms

Executive City King
The Executive City King provides guests with delightful views of Portlands downtown city streets from the upper floors of the hotel. This non-smoking room features an elegant king-sized bed dressed with crisp designer linens, down pillows and blankets atop a plush pillow-top mattress. Rich custom-designed walnut furnishings in warm earth tones are paired with modern accents that lend a sophisticated sensibility to the room. Crafted in Italian Carrera marble, the bathroom provides a relaxing tub and all of the comforts of home. Guests in the Executive City King will also enjoy high speed wireless internet and in-room Keurig coffee makers with premium coffee blends. Every room includes an HD TV with premium channels, programming on demand, a mini-refrigerator, and an in-room safe.
Premier Double Queen
Two queen beds indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.
Premier King
One king bed indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.8 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.8 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.7 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.3 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.8 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.4 mi
  • Forest Park: 8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.5 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.8 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has over 2400 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities with the latest audio visual equipment available.

Dining

Nel Centro
Based on the rich culinary traditions of the French and Italian Riviera, Nel Centro's menu is drawn largely from the cities of Nice and Genoa. The cuisine of the Riviera is fragrant, sensuous and inspired. The restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, a bar menu, and features a Happy Hour from 4-6 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 198
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
5
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 15, 2009

Impressed

1 night rest stop from motorcycle road trip. Although the room could've been a little larger, impressed with plush, modern furnishings/fittings and the great customer service. What a surprise. Now I know what boutique hotel mean. With the low room rates through CheapTickets, it's a bargain. Even 2 large screen Macs in the lobby area available to guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Luloff
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 30, 2011

lux on the cheap

The Hotel Modera is everything you could want from a high end location. Quality bedding, in room amenties and superior staff that are willing to answer any question you have. THe location on Portland's mass transit network was beyound compare. You could get where you wanted without needing to rent a car or spend money on cabs. I will be staying here on my next trip to Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyson S
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

A Wonderful Stay

I went to Portland for 5 days and wanted to get a hotel in the down town area, within walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants. I researched for over a week, checking prices, amenities, parking costs, and then seeing what the most common complaints were in the reviews for each place. I can honestly say I made the best possible choice by staying at Hotel Modera. The one and only thing I regret is that the room did not have a microwave, but I'm nitpicking to even come up with that. There was a coffee maker, a refrigerator, free wi-fi, and an iPod dock. The room was small-ish but not cramped, and it was fine for the price, especially compared to other hotels in the area. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was mostly marble. The location itself is fantastic. You're not very far from a few of the bridges to cross over the Wilamette River in to the eastern side of the city, and the Zoo and Rose Gardens are only a few miles away as well. There are several high end restaurants within walking distance, as well as some food carts. The staff at the hotel was very courteous and helpful. Valet cost was $27 per night, but in my research I found that most area hotels charged that much or more, and I've paid nearly twice that in other cities. Also, the valet staff always had my car pulled up in less than a minute, they were extremely polite and pleasant, and always asked if I needed directions anywhere. I never tried the restaurant in the hotel, but it looked nice, and the patio area outside is gorgeous. Also, I stayed on the 4th floor and didn't hear a peep of noise the entire time. One of the nights while I was there the hotel was sponsoring a film festival in town and they were hosting a private party with a jazz band at the restaurant. They put notes on everyone's door notifying all of the guests and advised to contact the front desk if there were any issues. I was not thrilled to see this because I was afraid it would be a noisy night with party goers and the band keeping me from getting any sleep. I couldn't have been more wrong. I never heard a thing, and the party stayed contained in the restaurant. I'll stay at Modera any time I make it back to Portland. It was significantly cheaper than some of the other hotels in the downtown area, without being run down or covered with cheap decor. I feel completely satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little french style bistro a few blocks away called Carafe that has the best burger I've ever eaten. It was hormone free organic beef with camamere cheese, bacon and a fried egg on a ciabatta bun. It came with a good sized pile of pomme frites also. It was only $11 and worth every single penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spjchick
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jun 3, 2014

Great Location, Friendly staff.

Very comfortable room and bed. The bedding was very nice. The room was a little small for the price, but it's just a room. Short walk to PSU and the riverfront so it's a great location. Nice staff, but I could not get movies on demand to work in my room after two calls to the front desk so I just gave up. The restaurant seemed like it was probably nice, I had a glass of wine on the patio, but the menu seemed expensive and too fancy for my taste.... When I travel I pay for location/on bus line/metro line and safe neighborhood (awesome, 5 stars), Cleanliness of property (awesome, 5 stars) and the cleanliness and comfort of the Bed (awesome, 5 stars).... the rest was nice and probably important to other people but not to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little River Cafe- A short walk down Clay towards the river front is the RiverPlace Esplanade. Just a short walk down is the Little River Cafe. Great pancakes and breakfast, Free wi-fi, and people/dog watching in the morning. It's a fun spot to watch people race the dragon boats on the river while eating breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Justice
Sep 21, 2008

Modern comfort in good location

The room was immaculate with modern, new furnishings. The Plasma screen TV was very nice. Unfortunately, the remote doesn't respond very well, but it's easy to live with. The bed linens were very soft with a European style duvet instead of a standard blanket. The toiletries were top notch as were the towels. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, there's no restaurant or bar on the premises. Location was ok. It's a bit of a walk to the Pearl and the Max train line although several bus lines do stop directly in front of the hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
May 2, 2010

stylish and pleasant.

Very stylish, sophisticated and pleasant. Exceptionally clean and quiet rooms, very courteous staff, great location next to MAX trains. I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale
Nov 3, 2010

Couldn't have been better!

I grew up in Portland but haven't lived there for many years. It's so much fun to return and stay downtown and soak up the wonderful ambience. So much has changed over the years. Visiting old friends and family made returning to Phoenix difficult! But I couldn't stop taking pics of Hotel Modera's wonderful decor. So sleek and classy. The people at the front desk and the employees I met in elevators, hallways, etc. were very friendly and helpful. I hated to leave such a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Come with a half-empty suitcase. No sales tax!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hefalopod
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 3, 2010

Superb Hotel

I was passing through Portland for a night and wanted a nice hotel to rejuvenate after a couple weeks on the road during a hiking tour of the northwest. I was extremely pleased with the staff and room. The decor of the hotel was unlike any I've seen. Although it's a bit on the pricier side, I think it's a great value if your looking for a nice place to stay in downtown Portland, I hope to come back on my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
abq, nm
May 25, 2011

Cool place--fabulous decor, food, bar

good hangout place and good jumping off point for exploring portland-super close to the farmers market, too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel restaurant serves fabulous food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Jun 6, 2010

Great Boutique Hotel

Modera is a really hip fun place with a great outdoor patio with chairs around fire pits and a contemporary update to small European style rooms. Not a great kid place, but as it's in City, it's a great spot for adults to walk to everything. Super friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One block west and about 3 north are all the major theatres and venues on Broadway. 5 blocks east is the riverfront, and one block south is Portland State U. Great location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top