$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Haven, Connecticut
Oct 18, 2010

Superb Hotel

This was perhaps the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms were clean, well-kept, the service was perfect. It was just a very nice place to "come home" to while I was in Portland. I would recommend it highly to anyone who was coming to visit this city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mikron
Business
san francisco
Jan 17, 2011

excellent!

clean and beautiful hotel with friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jump4sushi
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 3, 2010

Clean, convenient, and great service!

I really enjoyed the fire-lit patio in the back where my friends and I ordered beers and kicked back. It was a very nice hang-out spot. Our rooms were spotless, and the design of the hotel was overall very chic and sophisticated. I highly recommend this hotel for any traveler to Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the University of Oregon wkd farmer's market

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
central pa
May 28, 2010

what a find!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great proximity to the Portland Art Museum and outdoor sustainable markets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try a quick lunch at the nearby food carts!

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kirkland, Washington
Apr 7, 2011

Wonderful Place to Stay in Portland

My husband and I often travel and we found this hotel to be a fabulous place. It is close to restaurants, shopping, and the river. Our room was clean and very comfortable, the atmosphere was quiet and very relaxing, and the staff members were friendly and very helpful. The food at the hotel's restaurant was delicious and service was great. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Hotel Modera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 9, 2008

Excellent value for the mony

The staff were very welcoming from arrival to checkout. The room was comfortable and the bed, which is important to me (with a back problem), seemed new and firm. Everything was clean and every neccesity was supplied. The continental breakfast that was included in the room rate was fresh and plentiful-- with more variety than is usual. All in all, this hotel was a find as a boutique hotel, and not part of a chain. I would have no hesitation about recommending it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

This hotel is well located for public transportation, which is free in downtown Portland. It is also within an easy walk to the art museum, the university, and some restaurants.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
beaverton oregon
Apr 14, 2011

romantic getaway

the staff were very attentive. the hotel was in a really quiet area away from the downtown traffic which made it very enjoyable. the restaurant was very good and reasonable and had a wonderful outside area with tables around big fire pits. within walking distance of everything. we've stayed at downtown hotels before and have never been as satisfied as we were on this getaway. we're so glad we happened upon this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything within close walking distance so no need to take your car in and out.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N&B
Business
Ohio
May 2, 2011

Top-notch!

Excellent location. We walked to symphony, movies, stores, the streetcar and Max. Good restaurant: pricey, yet delicious food, beautifully prepared and served. Room was well-appointed; linens luxurious. Wi-fi worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Higgins restaurant for lunch or dinner.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Owatonna
Sep 16, 2008

Very accomodating

We arrived a bit early, but were able to get into a room, shower & be on our way. Staff was very nice, helpful & competent. I'd go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Portland's transportation system is very convenient and the stops are a block or two away.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lynnwood, WA
Aug 3, 2008

Very hip

Hotel Modera, has a very modern layout. Close to Portland State University, as well as close to the Portland waterfront. Staff is very friendly and outdoor patio is relaxing. Hotel does lack dining facilities. As far as the room as are concerned they are very cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top