$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arpent
Business
washington dc
Feb 19, 2012

really sweet low-key escape

you could go just for the front garden, which is marvelous. but you will also love the whole mood of the place, which is quietly festive. the staff is really pleasant and polished. and the location cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris Randall
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 25, 2012

My new home away from home...

Sometimes boutique hotels are hit-and-miss: either too precious by far or long on bells, short on whistles. (And ridiculously overpriced.) The Modera is none of those things. Unassuming, with a super friendly staff, a great restaurant, and a perfect location. I've stayed at many boutique hotels that weren't near as nice and cost way more a night. Now if only they could do something about Portland's weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc Bruce
Business
Sanibel, FL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great, Cool. Modern Hotel

We went with two kids and we all totally loved it. Trendy, but still functional for family travel. A real great balance between style and utility. Great Place to Stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The food trucks in Portland are killer - really a great way to get inexpensive, good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sustainable Charley
Business
Berkshire County, MA
May 7, 2012

excellent downtown hotel!

I had a great stay at the Modera for a nearby conference. The bed was very comfortable, the decor was a nice departure from the big chains, and I found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The hotel restaurant/bar was a great place to host colleagues. I'll definitely stay here on my next trip to Portland, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NorthPhxTraveler
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 27, 2012

Fantastic Weekend Getaway

We wanted a great weekend getaway to check out all that Portland had to offer. The goal was to find a unique boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Portland close to shops, great restaurants and light rail. Hotel Modera fit the bill in so many ways and was everything we all imagined it would be plus some. The staff was amazing and the location could not have been better. Nel Centro has an amazing happy hour and Sunday brunch. When we return to Portland, we will once again book a room at Hotel Modera. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Boyd
Business
Bend, Oregon
Sep 15, 2012

Great Location, Great Ambience

This hotel is great for any type of traveller. It is very upmarket. The outdoor area has several firepits and tables to enjoy drinks in the evening and a very nice restaraunt. The location is central and you can walk to shopping, and eateries nearby. However, if you are a weary travellor or have been in meeting all day, you do not need to leave the hotel. It was extremely clean, modern and the beds were comfortable. It was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Japanese food, the restaraunt Shigezo is a few blocks away. They have a happy hour where you can stuff yourself on sushi and wine for very little money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert69
Business
Chicago
Oct 1, 2012

fun splurge

Great design, good staff, nice restaurant and outdoor lounge. No fitness center in the hotel, but pass to a large 24-Hour Fitness club is only one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Conveniently located near mass transit (Tri Met streetcars, trains and buses), including airport transit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike202
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 12, 2013

Amazing Hotel

The staff is extremely accommodating, assisting with our every need. Decor is tastefully arty, with an amazing lobby, and very beautiful rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Trip Tracy
Business
Bend, OR
Dec 6, 2013

Love this place

This hotel is located close to my business meeting locations, the service is great and the hotel is comfortable. Food is exceptional and I will always try to stay here when in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spjchick
Business
Saint Louis, MO
Jun 3, 2014

Great Location, Friendly staff.

Very comfortable room and bed. The bedding was very nice. The room was a little small for the price, but it's just a room. Short walk to PSU and the riverfront so it's a great location. Nice staff, but I could not get movies on demand to work in my room after two calls to the front desk so I just gave up. The restaurant seemed like it was probably nice, I had a glass of wine on the patio, but the menu seemed expensive and too fancy for my taste.... When I travel I pay for location/on bus line/metro line and safe neighborhood (awesome, 5 stars), Cleanliness of property (awesome, 5 stars) and the cleanliness and comfort of the Bed (awesome, 5 stars).... the rest was nice and probably important to other people but not to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Little River Cafe- A short walk down Clay towards the river front is the RiverPlace Esplanade. Just a short walk down is the Little River Cafe. Great pancakes and breakfast, Free wi-fi, and people/dog watching in the morning. It's a fun spot to watch people race the dragon boats on the river while eating breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top