$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
picassochef
Business
Tucson, AZ
Dec 6, 2010

P town

Nice rooms, good location in downtown Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the BridgePort Brewery in the Pearl District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 6, 2010

Great stay, a bit expensive

The rooms were clean and quite comfy, complete with down pillows/comforters, a mini fridge, safe, and an iPod/iPhone dock, so we didn't even have to bring an iPhone charger. The location was great; easy walking distance to the free streetcar and several good restaurants. The concierge was very helpful; we got recommendations from them for restaurants, activities, and how to best get where we wanted to go. They even helped us make reservations at restaurants and printed out sample menus for us to take a look at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Stop by the concierge if you don't know where to eat or what to do; they know the area well and can recommend where to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alaska
Nov 23, 2010

Great Portland Hotel

The hotel's location was perfect for us as we were using public transportation. The Max ran on one side of the hotel and the bus ran on the other side. For being next to the university it was quiet and we had easy access to local markets and downtown shopping. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Our room, with 2 double beds, was not overly spacious, but the modern ambiance of the hotel was quite nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Nov 9, 2010

great getaway

Good choice for weekend visit of shopping and relaxation. Enjoyed the fire pits and happy hour prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Portland!
Business
Arlington, VA
Jun 1, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Hotel Modera was very clean and filled with friendly staff. They were very accomodating when asked about having a late check out as well as holding our bags until we needed to leave for the airport. The hotel is located right in downtown and in walking distance to may breweries, waterfront, and bus and MAX lines. We will definitly stay in this hotel again and can not wait to go back to Portland!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car, Portland has amazingly efficient public transportation. You can get to anywhere you want to go in the city by taking the bus, MAX, or street car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vancouver, bc
Feb 3, 2010

clean, very trendy hotel

Bed could have been more comfortable, however overall it was good. Stayed in and got room service which was VERY expensive....so we recommend staying at the hotel, just eating out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jul 5, 2009

Great stay, expensive parking

We spent one night in Portland and chose this hotel based on reviews from other travellers. Depending on what you're looking for, it wasn't in a very busy or happening part of town. We had our car with us so it wasn't a problem. Pros: The room was nicely appointed and quiet. The staff was helpful and courteous. 24 Hr Fitness was available for hotel guests but we didn't have a chance to use it. Complimentary newspaper. Cons: Expensive parking.. $20/night. On the bright side for this con, it was valet parking with unlimited in-and-outs. Also, I'm not sure this was the best part of town to be in for most tourists.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

¿Por que no? in North Portland was the best tacos we had ever eaten. Tasty! I recommend the sangria, the chorizo & pescado tacos.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
momoftuba
Business
Brookings, OR
May 22, 2009

nice atmosphere; great service

A very nice hotel for a great price near the PSU campus. They only have valet parking available; it was $20/night for us. We weren't prepared for that, so we had to send the valet back for some items from our car. They have a very pleasant outdoor seating area that is also great in the evening with gas-fired "fire pits", and a nice restaurant on the premises. The decor in the rooms was stylish and functional and well-thought out for the room size. Beds were very comfortable and the cleanliness of the hotel was outstanding. I felt pampered and special!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
las vegas
Aug 24, 2009

great hotel/restaurant

great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 26, 2009

Modern Gem in Portland

Very well designed and trendy hotel that neither sacrifices any comforts to be cool nor has any of the usual snobby attitude one often finds in such establishments. Not the most central of Portland's hotels but that doesn't matter much since the city is small and walkable (or has excellent public transportation if one wants it).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top