$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle visitors
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jan 2, 2012

Hotel Modera is an excellent location for adventure

We didn't want to have to drive around downtown Portland in holiday traffic and were very pleased with the location of the Modera in the University district. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in guiding us to the museums, public transportation and restaurants. Powell's bookstore was only a mile walk and we could hop free buses and the MAX when we tired ourselves out. The hotel was very clean, secure and comfortable. The marble shower was wonderfully relaxing after a day of adventures. We would definitately stay there again. Only limitation was the closet space was pretty small and there was no fan for the bath, but they had treated the mirrors to not steam up.Overall, it is one of the nicest places we've stayed at in Portland for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of free public transport options in the downtown area to avoid traffic and parking hassles, especially on holidays. Free bus lines take you everywhere. Wish Seattle was as visitor friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manix003
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Great place, close to everything

Modern, clean, great staff, comfortable and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justgettingaway
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Really Good

It was really good. My only comment is that the modern sliding bathroom doors should latch instead of leave a small gap between the door and frame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stycks
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 27, 2012

trendy yet friendly

From the valet, to the desk, to the cleaning staff, everyone I spoke with was friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and clean and while not large, it was comfortable. Very close to Portland State and just 6 blocks from Pioneer square. Overall I was very glad to have chosen this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elroy IV
Business
Phoenix
Jun 13, 2012

Campbell Visit

Nice hotel, good location, neat, clean, but th rooms are very small with only one chair. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Free bus transpportation in the downtown area. For a city tour take the "Hop on-Hop off" pink bus tour (a small charge).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluecarolina
Business
Long Beach, Ca
Sep 17, 2012

Love in Portlandia

Hotel and staff was fantastic. It was our 1st trip to Portland and this hotel made it special. Only complaint was that the pillows were too soft! The staff gave us great suggestions for locations to visit and eat. I would stay in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The downstairs restaurant has a fantastic happy hour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relax stay
Business
Honolulu, Hawai'i
Oct 14, 2012

Comfort stay in a great location

I would have given this place a perfect five star if there is a small microwave oven for use inside the room. I am a hot water tea drinker and would not be able to use the coffee dripper anyways. The staffs were great and went above and beyond to give me attractions in town. The room was clean. The location is centrally located between the place I was attending the training and close by the University hangouts. I did have to bring to the head of the cleaning staff that there were some potential plumbing issues because I could detect some strong odor in the bathroom but was no leakage that could find anywhere. Very comfortable King bed, pillows were nicely fluffed. However, the pillows also has their mild odor even through they were covered with fresh pillow cases. Other than that, it is a good experience and I would recommend staying at Modera to anyone visiting Portland Or.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIKENYC
Business
NYC
Nov 6, 2012

Awesome Place - great bones!

Was really surprised at the comfort, cleanliness, professionalism of the staff, and the size of the giant jacuzzi in my bedroom! Wonderful location if visiting Seattle University and Capitol Hill area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aloharobin
Business
honolulu
Nov 13, 2012

Great time with friends

Everything was great except the walls were a little thin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ForMyca
Business
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Nov 25, 2012

Great downtown hotel near campus

Went during Thanksgiving week. The location is nice, really close to Portland State Univ. It's a little far from a lot of the sights that Portland has to offer but MAX lines and public transportation is really close by. It's modern and slick looking in the lobby and well priced for where it is. It has very nice staff who are very helpful in directions and helping open doors and find microwaves (they let me use the staff breakroom microwave to heat up some leftovers). The rooms are super spacious and quiet but I would dig having a microwave or something. Valet is a little pricey at $27 a day but quick as it's right underneath the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would highly recommend riding the MAX to just about everything, even in rain. Driving around downtown requires a good working knowledge of which streets are one way, which lanes aren't bus-only and parking. Otherwise it's kind of confusing and a lot annoying. We rode the MAX to Rose Garden arena and back and it didn't take a lot of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top