$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
182 reviews
Best Night Ever

This has to be one of the best Hotel experiences I've ever had. It started with the front desk... See full review

  • pfelte1
  • Oct 26, 2014
Great small space!!

We loved our stay at the modera... always love the people of portland! See full review

  • Andersen
  • Aug 14, 2014
Luxurious hotel brings upscale affluence to downtown Portland
From its minimalist lobby to the custom-designed walnut furniture in the rooms, Hotel Modera provides a luxurious experience in downtown Portland. Previously a Days Inn, the hotel was revamped and is now the epitome of upscale lodging. The sleek 174 rooms and suites feature Wi-Fi (at cost), elegant decor and room amenities that include down bedding and flat-screen high-definition TVs. The Hotel Modera houses the chic restaurant Nel Centro, which features the cuisine of the French and Italian Riviera, such as butternut squash tortelloni with sage butter.
Highlights
  • Private courtyard
  • LCD high-definition TVs
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
  • Complimentary passes to nearby top-notch local gym
Rooms
The upscale rooms of the Hotel Modera are sheer luxury, from the down pillows and comforters to the custom-designed walnut furnishings. The bathrooms feature Italian marble and high-end bath products from Italy. The rooms also include Wi-Fi access (for a fee), high-definition TVs with complimentary premium channels, in-room refrigerators and more.
Dining
Hotel Modera also serves as the home for Nel Centro, an elegant restaurant with Italian marble floors and rich walnut walls that features the cuisine of the Riviera. The wine list boasts bottles from France, Italy and Oregon, and the cocktail menu has many handmade libations. But the dinner menu is where this elegant eatery shines: Options include the widely praised ravioli Nicoise with butter and parmesan, beef daube with red wine and fried panisse.
Transportation
  • Short distance to MAX light rail station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Short distance to Portland streetcar (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
Attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.9 mi/3.1 km)  
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.1 mi/3.2 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Six meeting rooms with space totaling 2,400 feet
  • Audiovisual equipment available for rental
Policies and Fees
  • Pets can stay in the hotel for a fee ($25 USD per room per stay).
  • Wi-Fi access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Modera also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Modera Rooms

Executive City King
The Executive City King provides guests with delightful views of Portlands downtown city streets from the upper floors of the hotel. This non-smoking room features an elegant king-sized bed dressed with crisp designer linens, down pillows and blankets atop a plush pillow-top mattress. Rich custom-designed walnut furnishings in warm earth tones are paired with modern accents that lend a sophisticated sensibility to the room. Crafted in Italian Carrera marble, the bathroom provides a relaxing tub and all of the comforts of home. Guests in the Executive City King will also enjoy high speed wireless internet and in-room Keurig coffee makers with premium coffee blends. Every room includes an HD TV with premium channels, programming on demand, a mini-refrigerator, and an in-room safe.
Premier Double Queen
Two queen beds indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.
Premier King
One king bed indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.8 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.8 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.7 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.3 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.8 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.4 mi
  • Forest Park: 8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.5 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.8 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has over 2400 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities with the latest audio visual equipment available.

Dining

Nel Centro
Based on the rich culinary traditions of the French and Italian Riviera, Nel Centro's menu is drawn largely from the cities of Nice and Genoa. The cuisine of the Riviera is fragrant, sensuous and inspired. The restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, a bar menu, and features a Happy Hour from 4-6 pm.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert69
Chicago
Oct 1, 2012

fun splurge

Great design, good staff, nice restaurant and outdoor lounge. No fitness center in the hotel, but pass to a large 24-Hour Fitness club is only one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Conveniently located near mass transit (Tri Met streetcars, trains and buses), including airport transit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young RN
Business
Seattle, WA
May 25, 2009

Great place to stay in Portland

Really great stay at this hotel. The decor and vibe is great. Makes you feel like you're on a vacation just by entering the hotel. Staff was always friendly and helpful. Room was very cute with nice sized flat screen TV, very cool bathroom and fixtures, comfy sheets. My boyfriend and I were visiting Portland for the first time this holiday weekend mainly to explore, relax, and shop. Marina Fish House floating restaurant was a must. Great food. Weather was excellent which topped off a nice overnight trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel's newly opened restaurant was wonderful for Sunday brunch. The French cuisine was surprisingly delicious for a first timer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fresno, CA
Jul 15, 2009

Impressed

1 night rest stop from motorcycle road trip. Although the room could've been a little larger, impressed with plush, modern furnishings/fittings and the great customer service. What a surprise. Now I know what boutique hotel mean. With the low room rates through CheapTickets, it's a bargain. Even 2 large screen Macs in the lobby area available to guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Luloff
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 30, 2011

lux on the cheap

The Hotel Modera is everything you could want from a high end location. Quality bedding, in room amenties and superior staff that are willing to answer any question you have. THe location on Portland's mass transit network was beyound compare. You could get where you wanted without needing to rent a car or spend money on cabs. I will be staying here on my next trip to Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
columbinehill
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Friendly, Efficient, Beautiful

Loved everything about this hotel. The staff was both friendly and efficient. Valet parking & check-in were easy and pleasant. Room was beautiful. Everything worked well, from the temperature level to the really spacious sink to the comfy robes to the luxurious shower. Elevators were quick. On premises restaurant was also great for cocktails and brunch, with excellent food at a very good price. Free in-room wi-fi. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at the beautiful bar at Nel Centro is 4 to 6 pm, and many dishes from the regular menu are half-off. We arrived at the hotel hungry after our trip and appreciated being able to get their fantastic small plates (macadamia-crusted baked goat cheese & tapenade with toasts) before we met our friends for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyson S
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

A Wonderful Stay

I went to Portland for 5 days and wanted to get a hotel in the down town area, within walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants. I researched for over a week, checking prices, amenities, parking costs, and then seeing what the most common complaints were in the reviews for each place. I can honestly say I made the best possible choice by staying at Hotel Modera. The one and only thing I regret is that the room did not have a microwave, but I'm nitpicking to even come up with that. There was a coffee maker, a refrigerator, free wi-fi, and an iPod dock. The room was small-ish but not cramped, and it was fine for the price, especially compared to other hotels in the area. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was mostly marble. The location itself is fantastic. You're not very far from a few of the bridges to cross over the Wilamette River in to the eastern side of the city, and the Zoo and Rose Gardens are only a few miles away as well. There are several high end restaurants within walking distance, as well as some food carts. The staff at the hotel was very courteous and helpful. Valet cost was $27 per night, but in my research I found that most area hotels charged that much or more, and I've paid nearly twice that in other cities. Also, the valet staff always had my car pulled up in less than a minute, they were extremely polite and pleasant, and always asked if I needed directions anywhere. I never tried the restaurant in the hotel, but it looked nice, and the patio area outside is gorgeous. Also, I stayed on the 4th floor and didn't hear a peep of noise the entire time. One of the nights while I was there the hotel was sponsoring a film festival in town and they were hosting a private party with a jazz band at the restaurant. They put notes on everyone's door notifying all of the guests and advised to contact the front desk if there were any issues. I was not thrilled to see this because I was afraid it would be a noisy night with party goers and the band keeping me from getting any sleep. I couldn't have been more wrong. I never heard a thing, and the party stayed contained in the restaurant. I'll stay at Modera any time I make it back to Portland. It was significantly cheaper than some of the other hotels in the downtown area, without being run down or covered with cheap decor. I feel completely satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little french style bistro a few blocks away called Carafe that has the best burger I've ever eaten. It was hormone free organic beef with camamere cheese, bacon and a fried egg on a ciabatta bun. It came with a good sized pile of pomme frites also. It was only $11 and worth every single penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arpent
Business
washington dc
Feb 19, 2012

really sweet low-key escape

you could go just for the front garden, which is marvelous. but you will also love the whole mood of the place, which is quietly festive. the staff is really pleasant and polished. and the location cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris Randall
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 25, 2012

My new home away from home...

Sometimes boutique hotels are hit-and-miss: either too precious by far or long on bells, short on whistles. (And ridiculously overpriced.) The Modera is none of those things. Unassuming, with a super friendly staff, a great restaurant, and a perfect location. I've stayed at many boutique hotels that weren't near as nice and cost way more a night. Now if only they could do something about Portland's weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc Bruce
Business
Sanibel, FL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great, Cool. Modern Hotel

We went with two kids and we all totally loved it. Trendy, but still functional for family travel. A real great balance between style and utility. Great Place to Stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The food trucks in Portland are killer - really a great way to get inexpensive, good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sustainable Charley
Business
Berkshire County, MA
May 7, 2012

excellent downtown hotel!

I had a great stay at the Modera for a nearby conference. The bed was very comfortable, the decor was a nice departure from the big chains, and I found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The hotel restaurant/bar was a great place to host colleagues. I'll definitely stay here on my next trip to Portland, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NorthPhxTraveler
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 27, 2012

Fantastic Weekend Getaway

We wanted a great weekend getaway to check out all that Portland had to offer. The goal was to find a unique boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Portland close to shops, great restaurants and light rail. Hotel Modera fit the bill in so many ways and was everything we all imagined it would be plus some. The staff was amazing and the location could not have been better. Nel Centro has an amazing happy hour and Sunday brunch. When we return to Portland, we will once again book a room at Hotel Modera. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top