$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len E. B
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 2, 2012

Night Out with the Singing Christmas Tree

We were pleasantly surprised at how modern and clean this newly revamped hotel was. We had a nice view of the city. Rooms were a bit small, but they were updated with lovely decor and clean. We kept our car parked and walked everywhere which is a plus when staying in Portland. We would definitely stay again and refer it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Live Music Lover
Business
Central Oregon
Nov 30, 2012

Used to love this place!

We visit Portland to attend concerts. We found the Modera by accident looking for a hotel near the Keller center. While it's pricier than other hotels nearby, it had received great reviews. Our first visit was outstanding. I usually have trouble sleeping on hotel beds, but at the Modera, I had the best night sleep I'd had in years. The mattresses were so comfortable I awoke without a back ache. First hotel in over two decades I can say that about. Our friends the next morning couldn't stop talking about what a great night's sleep they'd had as well, highlighting the mattresses. The next time we stayed, our experience was similar, although we made the mistake of dining there. The prices are extremely high, the food's OK, but the service is terrible. We entered the dining room with two hours to spare before the concert. The service was so poor, we had to repeatedly emphasize we had a concert to get to and would like to get our entree's in time to gulp them down at that point. We stayed there again November 2011, the rooms and mattresses were still comfortable, but the interiors were starting to show the wear of time. We had enough sense to dine elsewhere. November of 2012, we booked two rooms. The wear and tear of time was more pronounced, granted it wasn't to the level of a 2 1/2 star hotel but wasn't a 4 star either. We had to dine there unfortunately, but built on prior experience knew not to order appetizers or even a salad. The dinner was extremely slow in being served. After waiting for over an hour for our entree's we asked the staff where our meal was. We were told the "computer crashed", and they were just now giving the kitchen handwritten orders. Whatever. We again had to wolf down an over priced meal, and raced to the concert. However we knew after the show, we'd get a great night's sleep. Wrong. The mattresses haven't been changed since we first went there 6 years earlier. My mattress was lumpy, saggy, and uncomfortable. I couldn't sleep straight through the night it was so bad. I was glad I'd brought anti-inflammatories with me, along with pain killers. My guest was disappointed in her room and mattress as well. This was spontaneous critique from her. I hadn't even got to mention my displeasure before she voiced hers. Suffice it to say, what was once my favorite hotel in Portland, which I was willing to pay a premium for, is a hotel I will no longer book. It's too bad, because a great night sleep at the Modera was almost as enjoyable as the concerts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ForMyca
Business
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Nov 25, 2012

Great downtown hotel near campus

Went during Thanksgiving week. The location is nice, really close to Portland State Univ. It's a little far from a lot of the sights that Portland has to offer but MAX lines and public transportation is really close by. It's modern and slick looking in the lobby and well priced for where it is. It has very nice staff who are very helpful in directions and helping open doors and find microwaves (they let me use the staff breakroom microwave to heat up some leftovers). The rooms are super spacious and quiet but I would dig having a microwave or something. Valet is a little pricey at $27 a day but quick as it's right underneath the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would highly recommend riding the MAX to just about everything, even in rain. Driving around downtown requires a good working knowledge of which streets are one way, which lanes aren't bus-only and parking. Otherwise it's kind of confusing and a lot annoying. We rode the MAX to Rose Garden arena and back and it didn't take a lot of time.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aloharobin
Business
honolulu
Nov 13, 2012

Great time with friends

Everything was great except the walls were a little thin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIKENYC
Business
NYC
Nov 6, 2012

Awesome Place - great bones!

Was really surprised at the comfort, cleanliness, professionalism of the staff, and the size of the giant jacuzzi in my bedroom! Wonderful location if visiting Seattle University and Capitol Hill area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relax stay
Business
Honolulu, Hawai'i
Oct 14, 2012

Comfort stay in a great location

I would have given this place a perfect five star if there is a small microwave oven for use inside the room. I am a hot water tea drinker and would not be able to use the coffee dripper anyways. The staffs were great and went above and beyond to give me attractions in town. The room was clean. The location is centrally located between the place I was attending the training and close by the University hangouts. I did have to bring to the head of the cleaning staff that there were some potential plumbing issues because I could detect some strong odor in the bathroom but was no leakage that could find anywhere. Very comfortable King bed, pillows were nicely fluffed. However, the pillows also has their mild odor even through they were covered with fresh pillow cases. Other than that, it is a good experience and I would recommend staying at Modera to anyone visiting Portland Or.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert69
Business
Chicago
Oct 1, 2012

fun splurge

Great design, good staff, nice restaurant and outdoor lounge. No fitness center in the hotel, but pass to a large 24-Hour Fitness club is only one block away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Conveniently located near mass transit (Tri Met streetcars, trains and buses), including airport transit.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluecarolina
Business
Long Beach, Ca
Sep 17, 2012

Love in Portlandia

Hotel and staff was fantastic. It was our 1st trip to Portland and this hotel made it special. Only complaint was that the pillows were too soft! The staff gave us great suggestions for locations to visit and eat. I would stay in this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The downstairs restaurant has a fantastic happy hour!

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Boyd
Business
Bend, Oregon
Sep 15, 2012

Great Location, Great Ambience

This hotel is great for any type of traveller. It is very upmarket. The outdoor area has several firepits and tables to enjoy drinks in the evening and a very nice restaraunt. The location is central and you can walk to shopping, and eateries nearby. However, if you are a weary travellor or have been in meeting all day, you do not need to leave the hotel. It was extremely clean, modern and the beds were comfortable. It was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Japanese food, the restaraunt Shigezo is a few blocks away. They have a happy hour where you can stuff yourself on sushi and wine for very little money!

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elroy IV
Business
Phoenix
Jun 13, 2012

Campbell Visit

Nice hotel, good location, neat, clean, but th rooms are very small with only one chair. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Free bus transpportation in the downtown area. For a city tour take the "Hop on-Hop off" pink bus tour (a small charge).

Back to menu Return to top