$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NorthPhxTraveler
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
May 27, 2012

Fantastic Weekend Getaway

We wanted a great weekend getaway to check out all that Portland had to offer. The goal was to find a unique boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Portland close to shops, great restaurants and light rail. Hotel Modera fit the bill in so many ways and was everything we all imagined it would be plus some. The staff was amazing and the location could not have been better. Nel Centro has an amazing happy hour and Sunday brunch. When we return to Portland, we will once again book a room at Hotel Modera. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stycks
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 27, 2012

trendy yet friendly

From the valet, to the desk, to the cleaning staff, everyone I spoke with was friendly and helpful. The room was quiet and clean and while not large, it was comfortable. Very close to Portland State and just 6 blocks from Pioneer square. Overall I was very glad to have chosen this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sustainable Charley
Business
Berkshire County, MA
May 7, 2012

excellent downtown hotel!

I had a great stay at the Modera for a nearby conference. The bed was very comfortable, the decor was a nice departure from the big chains, and I found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The hotel restaurant/bar was a great place to host colleagues. I'll definitely stay here on my next trip to Portland, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doc Bruce
Business
Sanibel, FL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Great, Cool. Modern Hotel

We went with two kids and we all totally loved it. Trendy, but still functional for family travel. A real great balance between style and utility. Great Place to Stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The food trucks in Portland are killer - really a great way to get inexpensive, good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chris Randall
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Feb 25, 2012

My new home away from home...

Sometimes boutique hotels are hit-and-miss: either too precious by far or long on bells, short on whistles. (And ridiculously overpriced.) The Modera is none of those things. Unassuming, with a super friendly staff, a great restaurant, and a perfect location. I've stayed at many boutique hotels that weren't near as nice and cost way more a night. Now if only they could do something about Portland's weather!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arpent
Business
washington dc
Feb 19, 2012

really sweet low-key escape

you could go just for the front garden, which is marvelous. but you will also love the whole mood of the place, which is quietly festive. the staff is really pleasant and polished. and the location cannot be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justgettingaway
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Feb 19, 2012

Really Good

It was really good. My only comment is that the modern sliding bathroom doors should latch instead of leave a small gap between the door and frame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyson S
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

A Wonderful Stay

I went to Portland for 5 days and wanted to get a hotel in the down town area, within walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants. I researched for over a week, checking prices, amenities, parking costs, and then seeing what the most common complaints were in the reviews for each place. I can honestly say I made the best possible choice by staying at Hotel Modera. The one and only thing I regret is that the room did not have a microwave, but I'm nitpicking to even come up with that. There was a coffee maker, a refrigerator, free wi-fi, and an iPod dock. The room was small-ish but not cramped, and it was fine for the price, especially compared to other hotels in the area. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was mostly marble. The location itself is fantastic. You're not very far from a few of the bridges to cross over the Wilamette River in to the eastern side of the city, and the Zoo and Rose Gardens are only a few miles away as well. There are several high end restaurants within walking distance, as well as some food carts. The staff at the hotel was very courteous and helpful. Valet cost was $27 per night, but in my research I found that most area hotels charged that much or more, and I've paid nearly twice that in other cities. Also, the valet staff always had my car pulled up in less than a minute, they were extremely polite and pleasant, and always asked if I needed directions anywhere. I never tried the restaurant in the hotel, but it looked nice, and the patio area outside is gorgeous. Also, I stayed on the 4th floor and didn't hear a peep of noise the entire time. One of the nights while I was there the hotel was sponsoring a film festival in town and they were hosting a private party with a jazz band at the restaurant. They put notes on everyone's door notifying all of the guests and advised to contact the front desk if there were any issues. I was not thrilled to see this because I was afraid it would be a noisy night with party goers and the band keeping me from getting any sleep. I couldn't have been more wrong. I never heard a thing, and the party stayed contained in the restaurant. I'll stay at Modera any time I make it back to Portland. It was significantly cheaper than some of the other hotels in the downtown area, without being run down or covered with cheap decor. I feel completely satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a little french style bistro a few blocks away called Carafe that has the best burger I've ever eaten. It was hormone free organic beef with camamere cheese, bacon and a fried egg on a ciabatta bun. It came with a good sized pile of pomme frites also. It was only $11 and worth every single penny.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manix003
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Jan 25, 2012

Great place, close to everything

Modern, clean, great staff, comfortable and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
columbinehill
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Friendly, Efficient, Beautiful

Loved everything about this hotel. The staff was both friendly and efficient. Valet parking & check-in were easy and pleasant. Room was beautiful. Everything worked well, from the temperature level to the really spacious sink to the comfy robes to the luxurious shower. Elevators were quick. On premises restaurant was also great for cocktails and brunch, with excellent food at a very good price. Free in-room wi-fi. Great value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at the beautiful bar at Nel Centro is 4 to 6 pm, and many dishes from the regular menu are half-off. We arrived at the hotel hungry after our trip and appreciated being able to get their fantastic small plates (macadamia-crusted baked goat cheese & tapenade with toasts) before we met our friends for dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top