$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cramped in Portland
Business
Spokane, WA
Feb 19, 2013

Small, noisy and... did I say small?

If you're looking to stay in DOWNTOWN Portland, this isn't the hotel to pick. It's in the Financial District, and the walk to downtown is many blocks. Yes, the light rail system (MAX) is right outside, but it's still a hassle if you’re looking to step outside your hotel and enjoy meals, shopping and Pioneer Place. The king-bed rooms are TINY -- so, so, so small. The room is small, and the bathroom is uncomfortably tiny. The band plays in the lounge, which is great if you're IN the lounge with the intent of enjoying the band. If you're up in your room, and are looking for a bit of peace and quiet, it's ultimately the same as being in the lounge. The noise of the band reverberates through the entire hotel until late at night. Also, when I called the hotel prior to our stay, I asked if the rooms had bath robes and was told, yes, they did. Nope, they are no bath robes in the rooms. I was also told that valet parking was $27, which is true, but that finding street parking should be no issue and really easy. Nope, after many trips around the block (up five blocks, down five blocks and over five blocks), there was no street parking to be found. Ended up using the valet for $27 per night. On a positive note, the staff is extremely helpful, friendly and gracious. Nice people work at Hotel Modera, but the hotel isn’t worth $200+ per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knick Knack PattyMac
Business
Davis, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Enjoyable Experience

For the most part, this was a nice trip. The Hotel Modera is very conveniently located just six blocks from Pioneer Square so if your plans are within the confines of downtown, there's no reason to rent a car. The hotel is walking distance to the Portland Art Museum which had some fantastic exhibits and the Saturday Farmer's Market, which had plentiful produce but lacked any crafty stuff that I always like to see at FMs. The hotel is absolutely beautiful - very modern and chic. The bedding was uber-comfortable and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job. We frequented the happy hour and had dinner in the onsite restaurant. The food and drink was very good but I would have liked a bit more selection, especially in the appetizer portion of the menu. We would have stayed longer and went more often if there were more choices. I would not recommend getting a room just above the restaurant (on the north side of the building). With the jazz band playing until the bar closes on weekends, it was quite noisy. We couldn't hear the movie we paid $15.99 for because the TV didn't go higher than level 38 (probably so other rooms don't hear it...or else there was something wrong with our TV). Otherwise, very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Voodoo Donuts! You'll wait in along line for some wacky looking delicious donuts but everyone needs to do something to experience the quirky side of Portland. Just looking at the walls and people-watching will keep you entertained.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dtla1
Business
Downtown LA
Feb 18, 2013

Quiet and comfortable

My husband and I just stayed here for two nights. I thought the value was great. The staff was nice, and the fire pits seemed cool to hang out at if it wasn't raining and cold. I really liked the design of the lobby, courtyard and elevators. The few tiny negatives would be that the location was a few more blocks away from the action than i prefer (but it ensured a quiet sleep) and the room was pretty small (we did just get a basic king though), and the hair dryer and iron were not so fantastic...All small things to overlook for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can easily take the MAX (Portlands light rail) from the airport, to Courthouse Squarel, then walk 6-8 blocks to the hotel. In all, it takes less than 45 minutes, and is only a few $$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike202
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 12, 2013

Amazing Hotel

The staff is extremely accommodating, assisting with our every need. Decor is tastefully arty, with an amazing lobby, and very beautiful rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessnnk
Business
Oregon
Feb 4, 2013

Hotel with style and friendly staff

We stayed just for one night but loved the hotel! Sexy decor, friendly and helpful staff, and great restaurant/bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soon to be portlander
Business
mazatlan, mexico
Jan 22, 2013

Contemporary Cool

Had a great time here. Location was great with easy access to streetcar and Max. Food was great and staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len E. B
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 2, 2012

Night Out with the Singing Christmas Tree

We were pleasantly surprised at how modern and clean this newly revamped hotel was. We had a nice view of the city. Rooms were a bit small, but they were updated with lovely decor and clean. We kept our car parked and walked everywhere which is a plus when staying in Portland. We would definitely stay again and refer it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Live Music Lover
Business
Central Oregon
Nov 30, 2012

Used to love this place!

We visit Portland to attend concerts. We found the Modera by accident looking for a hotel near the Keller center. While it's pricier than other hotels nearby, it had received great reviews. Our first visit was outstanding. I usually have trouble sleeping on hotel beds, but at the Modera, I had the best night sleep I'd had in years. The mattresses were so comfortable I awoke without a back ache. First hotel in over two decades I can say that about. Our friends the next morning couldn't stop talking about what a great night's sleep they'd had as well, highlighting the mattresses. The next time we stayed, our experience was similar, although we made the mistake of dining there. The prices are extremely high, the food's OK, but the service is terrible. We entered the dining room with two hours to spare before the concert. The service was so poor, we had to repeatedly emphasize we had a concert to get to and would like to get our entree's in time to gulp them down at that point. We stayed there again November 2011, the rooms and mattresses were still comfortable, but the interiors were starting to show the wear of time. We had enough sense to dine elsewhere. November of 2012, we booked two rooms. The wear and tear of time was more pronounced, granted it wasn't to the level of a 2 1/2 star hotel but wasn't a 4 star either. We had to dine there unfortunately, but built on prior experience knew not to order appetizers or even a salad. The dinner was extremely slow in being served. After waiting for over an hour for our entree's we asked the staff where our meal was. We were told the "computer crashed", and they were just now giving the kitchen handwritten orders. Whatever. We again had to wolf down an over priced meal, and raced to the concert. However we knew after the show, we'd get a great night's sleep. Wrong. The mattresses haven't been changed since we first went there 6 years earlier. My mattress was lumpy, saggy, and uncomfortable. I couldn't sleep straight through the night it was so bad. I was glad I'd brought anti-inflammatories with me, along with pain killers. My guest was disappointed in her room and mattress as well. This was spontaneous critique from her. I hadn't even got to mention my displeasure before she voiced hers. Suffice it to say, what was once my favorite hotel in Portland, which I was willing to pay a premium for, is a hotel I will no longer book. It's too bad, because a great night sleep at the Modera was almost as enjoyable as the concerts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ForMyca
Business
San Luis Obispo, Ca
Nov 25, 2012

Great downtown hotel near campus

Went during Thanksgiving week. The location is nice, really close to Portland State Univ. It's a little far from a lot of the sights that Portland has to offer but MAX lines and public transportation is really close by. It's modern and slick looking in the lobby and well priced for where it is. It has very nice staff who are very helpful in directions and helping open doors and find microwaves (they let me use the staff breakroom microwave to heat up some leftovers). The rooms are super spacious and quiet but I would dig having a microwave or something. Valet is a little pricey at $27 a day but quick as it's right underneath the building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I would highly recommend riding the MAX to just about everything, even in rain. Driving around downtown requires a good working knowledge of which streets are one way, which lanes aren't bus-only and parking. Otherwise it's kind of confusing and a lot annoying. We rode the MAX to Rose Garden arena and back and it didn't take a lot of time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aloharobin
Business
honolulu
Nov 13, 2012

Great time with friends

Everything was great except the walls were a little thin!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top