$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mattison
Business
San Francisco
Nov 1, 2013

A little flakey, but nice

The hotel is nicely decorated and clean. Well situated in Portland's Cultural District--an easy walk to Downtown and the Pearl. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the restaurant, nel centro, is very good. The electronic system to notify housekeeping to clean the room doesn't always work, so we had a few days where our room wasn't made up. If you're touchy about noise,request a room at one of the ends, as the ice machines in the middle of the floors can make a loud hum.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Raven & Rose is a fun English-pub-style restaurant, just a block away, with good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GolfBryan
Business
Salt Lake City
Sep 16, 2013

Average

Good: Staff was VERY responsive. Location was good. Bad: Room was VERY small. City noise constant. Very expensive to park. Bathroom door was the same as the closet door. If one was closed the other was open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jackon
Business
Eugene
Sep 9, 2013

Hotel Modera

Nice, modern hotel with a great location in the heart of Downtown Portland. Nice bar and restaurant as well as a very nice outside patio area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a few drinks BEFORE the club

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Meganbeuth
Business
Pittsfield, Ma
Sep 4, 2013

Great room

Awesome hotel!! Only drawback it's $27 a day to park your car

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fwang
Business
Fort Worth
Jul 23, 2013

Very nice hotel

I had a great experience at this hotel. The bed is very comfortable. The location is not ideal for tourists because it's like 0.7 miles from downtown and pearl district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MNtraveler1285
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 12, 2013

Great 1st trip to Portland

Hotel Modera was a great choice for our first trip to Portland. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, the food and drinks (go during happy hour!) were wonderful, and the room, although a little on the small side, was modern and had everything we needed. The valet parking is a little pricey, but it was worth it for the convenience. My only complaint about our entire stay was that the thermostat in our room did not seem to work properly. We couldn't get the room below 72 degrees, which is too warm for sleeping, in my opinion. You can open a window to let in fresh air, but the noise level would be a little high. Also would have loved to have a hot tub on site, but it's not a deal breaker. Other than that, great place, would certainly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David the great 9999
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 13, 2013

Middle of Downtown

The hotel is small but nicely designed and modern. The restaurant is a modern style but the food is really really good. I was impressed. Good hotel and people were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel restaurant had great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cramped in Portland
Business
Spokane, WA
Feb 19, 2013

Small, noisy and... did I say small?

If you're looking to stay in DOWNTOWN Portland, this isn't the hotel to pick. It's in the Financial District, and the walk to downtown is many blocks. Yes, the light rail system (MAX) is right outside, but it's still a hassle if you’re looking to step outside your hotel and enjoy meals, shopping and Pioneer Place. The king-bed rooms are TINY -- so, so, so small. The room is small, and the bathroom is uncomfortably tiny. The band plays in the lounge, which is great if you're IN the lounge with the intent of enjoying the band. If you're up in your room, and are looking for a bit of peace and quiet, it's ultimately the same as being in the lounge. The noise of the band reverberates through the entire hotel until late at night. Also, when I called the hotel prior to our stay, I asked if the rooms had bath robes and was told, yes, they did. Nope, they are no bath robes in the rooms. I was also told that valet parking was $27, which is true, but that finding street parking should be no issue and really easy. Nope, after many trips around the block (up five blocks, down five blocks and over five blocks), there was no street parking to be found. Ended up using the valet for $27 per night. On a positive note, the staff is extremely helpful, friendly and gracious. Nice people work at Hotel Modera, but the hotel isn’t worth $200+ per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knick Knack PattyMac
Business
Davis, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Enjoyable Experience

For the most part, this was a nice trip. The Hotel Modera is very conveniently located just six blocks from Pioneer Square so if your plans are within the confines of downtown, there's no reason to rent a car. The hotel is walking distance to the Portland Art Museum which had some fantastic exhibits and the Saturday Farmer's Market, which had plentiful produce but lacked any crafty stuff that I always like to see at FMs. The hotel is absolutely beautiful - very modern and chic. The bedding was uber-comfortable and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job. We frequented the happy hour and had dinner in the onsite restaurant. The food and drink was very good but I would have liked a bit more selection, especially in the appetizer portion of the menu. We would have stayed longer and went more often if there were more choices. I would not recommend getting a room just above the restaurant (on the north side of the building). With the jazz band playing until the bar closes on weekends, it was quite noisy. We couldn't hear the movie we paid $15.99 for because the TV didn't go higher than level 38 (probably so other rooms don't hear it...or else there was something wrong with our TV). Otherwise, very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Voodoo Donuts! You'll wait in along line for some wacky looking delicious donuts but everyone needs to do something to experience the quirky side of Portland. Just looking at the walls and people-watching will keep you entertained.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dtla1
Business
Downtown LA
Feb 18, 2013

Quiet and comfortable

My husband and I just stayed here for two nights. I thought the value was great. The staff was nice, and the fire pits seemed cool to hang out at if it wasn't raining and cold. I really liked the design of the lobby, courtyard and elevators. The few tiny negatives would be that the location was a few more blocks away from the action than i prefer (but it ensured a quiet sleep) and the room was pretty small (we did just get a basic king though), and the hair dryer and iron were not so fantastic...All small things to overlook for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can easily take the MAX (Portlands light rail) from the airport, to Courthouse Squarel, then walk 6-8 blocks to the hotel. In all, it takes less than 45 minutes, and is only a few $$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top