$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
183 reviews
Best Night Ever

This has to be one of the best Hotel experiences I've ever had. It started with the front desk... See full review

  • pfelte1
  • Oct 26, 2014
Great small space!!

We loved our stay at the modera... always love the people of portland! See full review

  • Andersen
  • Aug 14, 2014
Luxurious hotel brings upscale affluence to downtown Portland
From its minimalist lobby to the custom-designed walnut furniture in the rooms, Hotel Modera provides a luxurious experience in downtown Portland. Previously a Days Inn, the hotel was revamped and is now the epitome of upscale lodging. The sleek 174 rooms and suites feature Wi-Fi (at cost), elegant decor and room amenities that include down bedding and flat-screen high-definition TVs. The Hotel Modera houses the chic restaurant Nel Centro, which features the cuisine of the French and Italian Riviera, such as butternut squash tortelloni with sage butter.
Highlights
  • Private courtyard
  • LCD high-definition TVs
  • Wi-Fi access (for a fee)
  • Complimentary passes to nearby top-notch local gym
Rooms
The upscale rooms of the Hotel Modera are sheer luxury, from the down pillows and comforters to the custom-designed walnut furnishings. The bathrooms feature Italian marble and high-end bath products from Italy. The rooms also include Wi-Fi access (for a fee), high-definition TVs with complimentary premium channels, in-room refrigerators and more.
Dining
Hotel Modera also serves as the home for Nel Centro, an elegant restaurant with Italian marble floors and rich walnut walls that features the cuisine of the Riviera. The wine list boasts bottles from France, Italy and Oregon, and the cocktail menu has many handmade libations. But the dinner menu is where this elegant eatery shines: Options include the widely praised ravioli Nicoise with butter and parmesan, beef daube with red wine and fried panisse.
Transportation
  • Short distance to MAX light rail station (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Short distance to Portland streetcar (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Portland International Airport (13.7 mi/22.1 km)
Attractions
  • Portland Art Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Powell's Bookstore (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.9 mi/3.1 km)  
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.1 mi/3.2 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
Business
  • Two computers with print, fax, and copying services available
  • Six meeting rooms with space totaling 2,400 feet
  • Audiovisual equipment available for rental
Policies and Fees
  • Pets can stay in the hotel for a fee ($25 USD per room per stay).
  • Wi-Fi access is available for a fee.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Modera also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Modera Rooms

Executive City King
The Executive City King provides guests with delightful views of Portlands downtown city streets from the upper floors of the hotel. This non-smoking room features an elegant king-sized bed dressed with crisp designer linens, down pillows and blankets atop a plush pillow-top mattress. Rich custom-designed walnut furnishings in warm earth tones are paired with modern accents that lend a sophisticated sensibility to the room. Crafted in Italian Carrera marble, the bathroom provides a relaxing tub and all of the comforts of home. Guests in the Executive City King will also enjoy high speed wireless internet and in-room Keurig coffee makers with premium coffee blends. Every room includes an HD TV with premium channels, programming on demand, a mini-refrigerator, and an in-room safe.
Premier Double Queen
Two queen beds indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.
Premier King
One king bed indulged with the softest linen with down inserts and a magnificent faux throw that drapes over a pillow top mattress. Room offers large picture window for natural light and an operable window for fresh air. Amenities include free wireless internet, an ipod docking station, LCD TVs with HD channels, in-room safe accommodating a full size laptop and a mini refrigerator.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.1 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.2 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.2 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.3 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.8 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 0.8 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 1.2 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Moda Center: 1.5 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 1.7 mi
  • Washington Park: 1.8 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 1.8 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.7 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.7 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.3 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.3 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.8 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.4 mi
  • Forest Park: 8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.5 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16.2 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.8 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Dining

Nel Centro
Based on the rich culinary traditions of the French and Italian Riviera, Nel Centro's menu is drawn largely from the cities of Nice and Genoa. The cuisine of the Riviera is fragrant, sensuous and inspired. The restaurant is on-site and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner, a bar menu, and features a Happy Hour from 4-6 pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has over 2400 square feet of meeting and banquet facilities with the latest audio visual equipment available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MNtraveler1285
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 12, 2013

Great 1st trip to Portland

Hotel Modera was a great choice for our first trip to Portland. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, the food and drinks (go during happy hour!) were wonderful, and the room, although a little on the small side, was modern and had everything we needed. The valet parking is a little pricey, but it was worth it for the convenience. My only complaint about our entire stay was that the thermostat in our room did not seem to work properly. We couldn't get the room below 72 degrees, which is too warm for sleeping, in my opinion. You can open a window to let in fresh air, but the noise level would be a little high. Also would have loved to have a hot tub on site, but it's not a deal breaker. Other than that, great place, would certainly recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David the great 9999
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 13, 2013

Middle of Downtown

The hotel is small but nicely designed and modern. The restaurant is a modern style but the food is really really good. I was impressed. Good hotel and people were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel restaurant had great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cramped in Portland
Business
Spokane, WA
Feb 19, 2013

Small, noisy and... did I say small?

If you're looking to stay in DOWNTOWN Portland, this isn't the hotel to pick. It's in the Financial District, and the walk to downtown is many blocks. Yes, the light rail system (MAX) is right outside, but it's still a hassle if you’re looking to step outside your hotel and enjoy meals, shopping and Pioneer Place. The king-bed rooms are TINY -- so, so, so small. The room is small, and the bathroom is uncomfortably tiny. The band plays in the lounge, which is great if you're IN the lounge with the intent of enjoying the band. If you're up in your room, and are looking for a bit of peace and quiet, it's ultimately the same as being in the lounge. The noise of the band reverberates through the entire hotel until late at night. Also, when I called the hotel prior to our stay, I asked if the rooms had bath robes and was told, yes, they did. Nope, they are no bath robes in the rooms. I was also told that valet parking was $27, which is true, but that finding street parking should be no issue and really easy. Nope, after many trips around the block (up five blocks, down five blocks and over five blocks), there was no street parking to be found. Ended up using the valet for $27 per night. On a positive note, the staff is extremely helpful, friendly and gracious. Nice people work at Hotel Modera, but the hotel isn’t worth $200+ per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Knick Knack PattyMac
Business
Davis, CA
Feb 19, 2013

Enjoyable Experience

For the most part, this was a nice trip. The Hotel Modera is very conveniently located just six blocks from Pioneer Square so if your plans are within the confines of downtown, there's no reason to rent a car. The hotel is walking distance to the Portland Art Museum which had some fantastic exhibits and the Saturday Farmer's Market, which had plentiful produce but lacked any crafty stuff that I always like to see at FMs. The hotel is absolutely beautiful - very modern and chic. The bedding was uber-comfortable and the housekeeping staff did a wonderful job. We frequented the happy hour and had dinner in the onsite restaurant. The food and drink was very good but I would have liked a bit more selection, especially in the appetizer portion of the menu. We would have stayed longer and went more often if there were more choices. I would not recommend getting a room just above the restaurant (on the north side of the building). With the jazz band playing until the bar closes on weekends, it was quite noisy. We couldn't hear the movie we paid $15.99 for because the TV didn't go higher than level 38 (probably so other rooms don't hear it...or else there was something wrong with our TV). Otherwise, very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Voodoo Donuts! You'll wait in along line for some wacky looking delicious donuts but everyone needs to do something to experience the quirky side of Portland. Just looking at the walls and people-watching will keep you entertained.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dtla1
Business
Downtown LA
Feb 18, 2013

Quiet and comfortable

My husband and I just stayed here for two nights. I thought the value was great. The staff was nice, and the fire pits seemed cool to hang out at if it wasn't raining and cold. I really liked the design of the lobby, courtyard and elevators. The few tiny negatives would be that the location was a few more blocks away from the action than i prefer (but it ensured a quiet sleep) and the room was pretty small (we did just get a basic king though), and the hair dryer and iron were not so fantastic...All small things to overlook for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You can easily take the MAX (Portlands light rail) from the airport, to Courthouse Squarel, then walk 6-8 blocks to the hotel. In all, it takes less than 45 minutes, and is only a few $$.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mike202
Business
Vancouver, BC
Feb 12, 2013

Amazing Hotel

The staff is extremely accommodating, assisting with our every need. Decor is tastefully arty, with an amazing lobby, and very beautiful rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jessnnk
Business
Oregon
Feb 4, 2013

Hotel with style and friendly staff

We stayed just for one night but loved the hotel! Sexy decor, friendly and helpful staff, and great restaurant/bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
soon to be portlander
Business
mazatlan, mexico
Jan 22, 2013

Contemporary Cool

Had a great time here. Location was great with easy access to streetcar and Max. Food was great and staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len E. B
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 2, 2012

Night Out with the Singing Christmas Tree

We were pleasantly surprised at how modern and clean this newly revamped hotel was. We had a nice view of the city. Rooms were a bit small, but they were updated with lovely decor and clean. We kept our car parked and walked everywhere which is a plus when staying in Portland. We would definitely stay again and refer it to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Live Music Lover
Business
Central Oregon
Nov 30, 2012

Used to love this place!

We visit Portland to attend concerts. We found the Modera by accident looking for a hotel near the Keller center. While it's pricier than other hotels nearby, it had received great reviews. Our first visit was outstanding. I usually have trouble sleeping on hotel beds, but at the Modera, I had the best night sleep I'd had in years. The mattresses were so comfortable I awoke without a back ache. First hotel in over two decades I can say that about. Our friends the next morning couldn't stop talking about what a great night's sleep they'd had as well, highlighting the mattresses. The next time we stayed, our experience was similar, although we made the mistake of dining there. The prices are extremely high, the food's OK, but the service is terrible. We entered the dining room with two hours to spare before the concert. The service was so poor, we had to repeatedly emphasize we had a concert to get to and would like to get our entree's in time to gulp them down at that point. We stayed there again November 2011, the rooms and mattresses were still comfortable, but the interiors were starting to show the wear of time. We had enough sense to dine elsewhere. November of 2012, we booked two rooms. The wear and tear of time was more pronounced, granted it wasn't to the level of a 2 1/2 star hotel but wasn't a 4 star either. We had to dine there unfortunately, but built on prior experience knew not to order appetizers or even a salad. The dinner was extremely slow in being served. After waiting for over an hour for our entree's we asked the staff where our meal was. We were told the "computer crashed", and they were just now giving the kitchen handwritten orders. Whatever. We again had to wolf down an over priced meal, and raced to the concert. However we knew after the show, we'd get a great night's sleep. Wrong. The mattresses haven't been changed since we first went there 6 years earlier. My mattress was lumpy, saggy, and uncomfortable. I couldn't sleep straight through the night it was so bad. I was glad I'd brought anti-inflammatories with me, along with pain killers. My guest was disappointed in her room and mattress as well. This was spontaneous critique from her. I hadn't even got to mention my displeasure before she voiced hers. Suffice it to say, what was once my favorite hotel in Portland, which I was willing to pay a premium for, is a hotel I will no longer book. It's too bad, because a great night sleep at the Modera was almost as enjoyable as the concerts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top