$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa T.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great downtown location and friendly staff

In town for long weekend and the hotel was great. Good location for walking to the farmers market, down to the riverfront, and close to shopping. The front desk and valet team were very helpful in making recommendations and providing directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Priscilla S.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

My Permanent Hotel

Hotel Modera was a great place ! The service from the start was amazing. We drove in, and the Valet Attendent was very knowledgable of the area. He told me the price per night to stay, but he also told me there were different parking garages around that were indoor and outdoor. He also mentioned street parking- mentioning the price, and times they are in effect. -- We chose street parking as we were always planning to go see things and Sunday would be free. Inside we got a warm welcome despite our messy attire. The receptionist was more than happy to answer our question about the best coffee joint. (miscommunication on mine or his part but nothing major) The room was great ! We only had the most basic as you can say of there rooms. We had it facing the city and it was a queen size bed. The bathroom was probably my most favorite. Nice shower. Big bottles of shampoo, conditioner, soup and lotion. Nice amount of towels. It was hard to leave. The TV had great amount of channels as well. I was able to watch one of my favorite shows before falling asleep. Snacks/drinks are pricey in the room but what hotel aren't. They also offer wifi but for a price per night, for up to 5 devices. Luckily I booked before they made that change so I had it for free ! Room service/maintenance was super fast. I admit our toilet was having trouble not flushing, called on 2 occasions. Both times the receptionist called the maintenance person and they came right away and fixed it and out in 5 minutes. Really amazing restaurant down stairs, nel centro. Stays up somewhat late which is great. They also have a nice and open garden in the front with gas light fire at night. (They had it on even in the rain.) Miss the place already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was an outdoor shopping center just about 4-5 blocks away from the hotel. Really beautiful. Winter not much people were out but shopping would have been wonderful in the sun.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teligio
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 3, 2014

Great Hip Luxury Hotel

I always like staying at The Modera. It's very cozy and welcoming and the location is great for me. Easy to get to and always has convenient street parking nearby. LOVE the fur throws on the bed.....very nice touch. The only downside is the standard rooms are TINY. Very, very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great outdoor firepits which are always lit at night and an awesome happy hour at Nel Centro (restaurant in hotel)

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister Scott
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Dec 3, 2014

Perfect Location

We stayed overnight in one of the suites to attend a show at the Keller Auditorium. Valet parking was a breeze, check-in was even faster. The staff were excellent and friendly, and I like that the rooms are secured by a key activated elevator. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a king bed suite with a great view. The room itself had a kind of musty smell to it when we arrived, but I got used to it rather quickly. The room was very luxurious and had all the amenities I would expect from a small boutique hotel. The location is absolutely amazing, we walked outside and down a couple blocks to the Auditorium and back again. Room service ended at 10pm, but we found a great pizza place called 21st Century Pizza that delivers until midnight. I would have given this hotel 5 stars, but the heating and air unit in the room got really annoying, and kept turning off and on loudly every 5-10 minutes. I ended up just turning it off so I could fall asleep without the noise, besides that our stay was fantastic. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is literally 2 blocks away (down hill) from the Keller Auditorium. It's also within 5 blocks of other major area attractions including the water front, and you're right in the middle of downtown and your view includes the Portland skyline.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
choejw
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 1, 2014

Good enough

Nothing to complain but not super. Just good enough in every aspect. 5-10 mins walk from/to the downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel buff
Business
Eugene, OR, USA
Nov 19, 2014

Kind and helpful staff with great advice

Reception staff was helpful and efficient at check-in and check-out. We were checked-in in no time and received a helpful print-out of the best driving directions for the Japanese Garden and the Rose Testing Garden. Great location, nice restaurant on site, quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pfelte1
Business
Lake Stevens, WA
Oct 26, 2014

Best Night Ever

This has to be one of the best Hotel experiences I've ever had. It started with the front desk staff, and how helpful and nice they were to us. They even gave us tons of suggestions for nightlife in downtown. The room as super comfortable, clean and quiet. Best night in a hotel in a long time. In the morning I forgot that I had forgotten toothpaste and they gave me a small packet. The breakfast was also very good, and the coffee is amazing. I will be returning to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tavel lots on budget
Business
Seattle
Oct 26, 2014

It was perfect

Attending a concert at Keller Auditorium and this was perfect. Location, food and comfort. The staff were all very pleasant. I paid a little more for location so I wouldn't have to drive or taxi and it was perfect. I DID forget about city overnight parking at hotels, so remember there'll be an extra $30 to your bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get there in time and your meal can be from the happy hour menu. Great stuff. Meal for 2 and 2 drinks only $30.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GBNYC
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Oct 18, 2014

Staff aims to please at this beautiful hotel

I was sitting at a bar on my second day in Portland, two days before I was to stay at Hotel Modera and told the bartender this when he inquired. He remarked that it was a very nice hotel with a great restaurant. I have to agree even though I didn't get to eat at the restaurant it seemed really popular when I arrived on a Friday night. Had cool fire pits outside the restaurant in the hotel courtyard. The front desk staff was friendly, the room was beautifully decorated and I liked the layout. The bed and pillows were both plush and comfortable. The fur throw even came in handy to drape over my usually cold feet. I loved the sliding door to the bathroom but the lighting in the bathroom left a lot to be desired. The bathroom was not as clean as I expected (there was a hair in the bathtub before I got in, not terrible as it could have been missed even after cleaning), and on several occasions there was a loud banging sound from above which was a bit startling. My only request would be for the hotel to indicate if the Wi-Fi is free or not as I had to call to inquire. It might seem like a minor thing but having had charges show up when I had not even used Wi-Fi in other hotels, it's something I've learned to check. Lastly, even though the toiletries smelled amazing - blood orange - I had an allergic reaction as I woke in the middle of the night scratching at my wrists which had red bumps. I didn't complain to management as I feel that's a personal issue and not an indicator of anything lacking on their part. Just mentioning it for those who have sensitive skin to avoid using the toiletries. I would definitely stay at the hotel again due to the friendly staff and the positives far exceeding any negatives. Special thanks to Brennon the service supervisor who was very helpful and courteous when I was checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Young Business Profession
Business
Eugene Oregon
Oct 5, 2014

staff at check in otherwise okay

arriving late Friday night I just wanted to check in so I could party downtown and drink.. but had to wait for tony at the front desk to finish counting his drawer and said that it would take 20 mins for the web reservation to clear ... but miraculously once he was done with his duties our reservation went thru . hmm just not 4 star serve at check in other than that it was okay rather pay 20 dollars more and stay were they treat you better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top