$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wine trip weekend
Business
Citrus Heights
Jan 14, 2015

Awesome hotel and location!

This hotel is great and the location makes it even better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David R.
Business
MILWAUKEE
Jan 14, 2015

Great Stay

We stayed there while in town for a family Christmas. Excellent hotel very helpful staff and very polite. Would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BumblinaGirl
Business
N/A
Jan 7, 2015

Great date night!!

Great business location, beautiful and contemporary room. Far from the "good eats" of the city. Paid parking on street available for less than price of valet service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susan W.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Great Hotel

My daughter and I stayed at the hotel over Christmas. The staff was friendly and the room (though small) was very comfortable. Our favorite spot in the hotel was the restaurant! They had a fantastic happy hour every day! We also enjoyed delicious breakfast and dinner meals there as well. The location was just two short stops on the Max from Pioneer Square, well within walking distance. I'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa T.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

Great downtown location and friendly staff

In town for long weekend and the hotel was great. Good location for walking to the farmers market, down to the riverfront, and close to shopping. The front desk and valet team were very helpful in making recommendations and providing directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Priscilla S.
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

My Permanent Hotel

Hotel Modera was a great place ! The service from the start was amazing. We drove in, and the Valet Attendent was very knowledgable of the area. He told me the price per night to stay, but he also told me there were different parking garages around that were indoor and outdoor. He also mentioned street parking- mentioning the price, and times they are in effect. -- We chose street parking as we were always planning to go see things and Sunday would be free. Inside we got a warm welcome despite our messy attire. The receptionist was more than happy to answer our question about the best coffee joint. (miscommunication on mine or his part but nothing major) The room was great ! We only had the most basic as you can say of there rooms. We had it facing the city and it was a queen size bed. The bathroom was probably my most favorite. Nice shower. Big bottles of shampoo, conditioner, soup and lotion. Nice amount of towels. It was hard to leave. The TV had great amount of channels as well. I was able to watch one of my favorite shows before falling asleep. Snacks/drinks are pricey in the room but what hotel aren't. They also offer wifi but for a price per night, for up to 5 devices. Luckily I booked before they made that change so I had it for free ! Room service/maintenance was super fast. I admit our toilet was having trouble not flushing, called on 2 occasions. Both times the receptionist called the maintenance person and they came right away and fixed it and out in 5 minutes. Really amazing restaurant down stairs, nel centro. Stays up somewhat late which is great. They also have a nice and open garden in the front with gas light fire at night. (They had it on even in the rain.) Miss the place already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There was an outdoor shopping center just about 4-5 blocks away from the hotel. Really beautiful. Winter not much people were out but shopping would have been wonderful in the sun.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teligio
Business
Portland, OR
Dec 3, 2014

Great Hip Luxury Hotel

I always like staying at The Modera. It's very cozy and welcoming and the location is great for me. Easy to get to and always has convenient street parking nearby. LOVE the fur throws on the bed.....very nice touch. The only downside is the standard rooms are TINY. Very, very small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Great outdoor firepits which are always lit at night and an awesome happy hour at Nel Centro (restaurant in hotel)

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister Scott
Business
Eugene, Oregon
Dec 3, 2014

Perfect Location

We stayed overnight in one of the suites to attend a show at the Keller Auditorium. Valet parking was a breeze, check-in was even faster. The staff were excellent and friendly, and I like that the rooms are secured by a key activated elevator. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a king bed suite with a great view. The room itself had a kind of musty smell to it when we arrived, but I got used to it rather quickly. The room was very luxurious and had all the amenities I would expect from a small boutique hotel. The location is absolutely amazing, we walked outside and down a couple blocks to the Auditorium and back again. Room service ended at 10pm, but we found a great pizza place called 21st Century Pizza that delivers until midnight. I would have given this hotel 5 stars, but the heating and air unit in the room got really annoying, and kept turning off and on loudly every 5-10 minutes. I ended up just turning it off so I could fall asleep without the noise, besides that our stay was fantastic. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is literally 2 blocks away (down hill) from the Keller Auditorium. It's also within 5 blocks of other major area attractions including the water front, and you're right in the middle of downtown and your view includes the Portland skyline.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
choejw
Business
San Jose, CA
Dec 1, 2014

Good enough

Nothing to complain but not super. Just good enough in every aspect. 5-10 mins walk from/to the downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel buff
Business
Eugene, OR, USA
Nov 19, 2014

Kind and helpful staff with great advice

Reception staff was helpful and efficient at check-in and check-out. We were checked-in in no time and received a helpful print-out of the best driving directions for the Japanese Garden and the Rose Testing Garden. Great location, nice restaurant on site, quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top