$239 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 17, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
197 out of 197
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
subflw47
Business
chicago, il
Apr 4, 2011

Great place!

first off, the reviews i read prior really sold me on the hotel. It is in a cool location in downtown, walking distance to quite a few places to eat. theres not a lot to actually do at night in the area, but the bar in the hotel is cool. the free fitness pass is cool too - you get to go to a 24 hour fitness. the biggest thing though, is the bed. its quite possibly the most comfortable bed i've ever seen. I never wanted to leave! the only complaint is the silliness of the bathroom door, its a sliding door without a latch, so you think it doesnt ever really close. minor complaint, totally. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler6301
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 22, 2011

Jetsons ambience ... Flintstones wi-fi.

This was my second stay at the Modera. My impression was the same as my previous visit last fall: attractive, comfortable, and generally a great place; but the wireless internet service is poor to nonexistent. Unfortunately that's a deal-breaker for me. Go only if you don't expect to need your laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eddie the weasel
Business
buchanan dam. tx
Mar 17, 2011

Great Service -- not so great noise

We had a very nice time at the hotel - sitting at the fire pits ouside, enjoying cocktails on the patio - relacing in our room and finding ice ready to go into the ice bucket. The closet door-aka bathroom door was diffferent AND TOO HEAVEY. service was phenonmenal and every one was ready to meet every need = this was greatly appreciated and made us feel very much at home. I was disapointed with the nose levels in the room (sirens and elevator bells) as well as the quality of housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mortons is so close and never disapoints! Ask for Kerry -I can't decide if I should take him home for adoption or ....

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDJ
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 7, 2011

Very nice hotel

The rooms in the hotel were very nice, and I enjoyed the free wireless internet. Valet parking was very quick and easy to deal with. The restaurant in the hotel was also very good (a bit expensive, but good). There isn't anything that I didn't like about the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jon in SoCal
Business
Ojai, CA
Jan 23, 2011

A Must Stay!

I lived 3 years in Portland and stayed here on a trip back. This is a another upgraded botique hotel. It is high on style and service. The rooms are a bit smaller, with no sitting area, but the beds are comfortable and relatively quiet even given the location. The hotel is located just outside the downtown core, about 4 or 5 blocks from Pioneer Square near PSU. This location is perfect, as the other downtown hotels closer to the "bad" area of town. The hotel restaurant is fantastic, without the usual high cost, low taste thing most locations choose for eating in. Great value too, a must stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food at the hotel is fab, some local folks come down just for the food. Typical flavorful an delish Portland fare right in the hotel.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corvallis, Oregon
Jan 18, 2011

Great Hotel

We stay at Hotel Modera whenever there's a show at Keller. The restaurant Nel Centro is wonderful and attached to the hotel which is a hugh plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Keller Auditorium is 2 blocks away.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mikron
Business
san francisco
Jan 17, 2011

excellent!

clean and beautiful hotel with friendly staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland,Oregon
Jan 2, 2011

Comfortable stay

I Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. I liked the interior. It is modern in a good unpretentious way. The rooms are small and cozy. The amenities are not as good as they could be . They should have a shower gel not bar soap, and avoid body lotion. I stayed over new years, and the restaurant was closed. They should let you know this before you stay . No food is no good. Overall everything was ok. I would rate it average in it's price category .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great central location

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 29, 2010

Exceeded Expecations. Great staff.

Modern, stylish property somewhat like the "W" chain, but with 'real people' staying there, not the poser-ish types you see at a typical W. Very nice, low key vibe without being sleepy. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Dec 29, 2010

Great Service, Great Hotel

Hello, The staff at Modera are exceptionally helpful and friendly. Numerous staff members went out of their way to be helpful and provide great directions and customer service. The best part about it is that this was all done with a smile and wasn't fake or insincere. The room was great! The bed/bedding was so comfortable it was hard to get out of bed. I definitely recommend this hotel. Besides that it's very stylish and cool and the amenities are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

If you need an umbrella they can give you one at the front desk...

Back to menu Return to top