$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Boyd
Business
Bend, Oregon
Sep 15, 2012

Great Location, Great Ambience

This hotel is great for any type of traveller. It is very upmarket. The outdoor area has several firepits and tables to enjoy drinks in the evening and a very nice restaraunt. The location is central and you can walk to shopping, and eateries nearby. However, if you are a weary travellor or have been in meeting all day, you do not need to leave the hotel. It was extremely clean, modern and the beds were comfortable. It was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like Japanese food, the restaraunt Shigezo is a few blocks away. They have a happy hour where you can stuff yourself on sushi and wine for very little money!

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Junction, CO
Jun 22, 2011

Modern at a good price

Great expereince, it was modern, very chic, great staff and very clean. Great restaurant downstairs and was MUCH cheaper than the Hilton where my conference was. I would stay here again if in the Portland area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The public trainsit in the area is free- the train/streetcar. Well worth it. Riding in from the airport is a breeze and it's a few blocks up from where you need to get off. Orient yourself to a map... I walked in the wrong direction.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yellowknife, NT CANADA
Jun 21, 2011

Loved this Boutique Hotel!

We stayed at the Hotel Modera for 2 nights - our first time in the city - and LOVED it. I was looking for a boutique hotel, centrally located and this was it. We walked everywhere and took the trolley/train - just 2 blocks away. The Hotel Modera is close to the Farmers Market - the concert locations (our reason for being there) and lots of shopping. Loved the courtyard and firepits - great way to meet people and share travel tips. Staff was EXCELLENT - friendly, helpful, interested in our experience in their city. Will recommend this Hotel to anyone travelling to Portland and hope to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Leave your car parked and take the free transportation - its a great way to check out different areas around the city. Portland is a very people friendly city...

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 15, 2011

Lovely stay

Very friendly & accomodating staff. Love the red orange soap/shampoo and the outdoor fire pits. Comfy bed, good location. Would definitely recommend it and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 15, 2011

Lovely stay

Very friendly & accomodating staff. Love the red orange soap/shampoo and the outdoor fire pits. Comfy bed, good location. Would definitely recommend it and stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
abq, nm
May 25, 2011

Cool place--fabulous decor, food, bar

good hangout place and good jumping off point for exploring portland-super close to the farmers market, too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel restaurant serves fabulous food

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SEattle, wa
May 20, 2011

Beautiful Hotel, Great Service, Fun Bar

Great Location and nice hotel. Really nicely designed rooms reasonable cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
N&B
Business
Ohio
May 2, 2011

Top-notch!

Excellent location. We walked to symphony, movies, stores, the streetcar and Max. Good restaurant: pricey, yet delicious food, beautifully prepared and served. Room was well-appointed; linens luxurious. Wi-fi worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Higgins restaurant for lunch or dinner.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 30, 2011

Centrally located

The hotel had a bright and modern appearance to it. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. Room was comfortable, clean. Had some problem with the heating the first night, second night was fine. Coffee maker is not exactly safe - spewed out hot steam at the end of the brewing process. Public transportation was abundant and easily accessible. Downtown Portland is easy to get around. Went shopping, sightseeing, checked out a number of eateries. Visited the Japanese Gardens - very beautiful. Overall had an enjoyable time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
beaverton oregon
Apr 14, 2011

romantic getaway

the staff were very attentive. the hotel was in a really quiet area away from the downtown traffic which made it very enjoyable. the restaurant was very good and reasonable and had a wonderful outside area with tables around big fire pits. within walking distance of everything. we've stayed at downtown hotels before and have never been as satisfied as we were on this getaway. we're so glad we happened upon this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything within close walking distance so no need to take your car in and out.

Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 11, 2011

Business or Pleasure - Modera is a Gem.

Second time guest and I'll keep coming back. This is becoming one of my favorite spots as The Modera hits high marks in every catagory. Service is great but not overstated, the restaurant/bar is quality and the outdoor bar is very cool, rooms are quiet, very clean and the beds are wonderful. Free wireless is good (pet peeve is being charged for internet at hotels) and the gym is the best (full on gym just a short walk from the main hotel). And, ALL is delivered at a price I like. It's hard to pay less if you want to be city center and it's easy to pay much more and get far less. Modera is Portland's top spot for this traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hit Happy Hour early if you want to get a prime seat at the outdoor bar.

Back to menu Return to top