$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
beaverton oregon
Apr 14, 2011

romantic getaway

the staff were very attentive. the hotel was in a really quiet area away from the downtown traffic which made it very enjoyable. the restaurant was very good and reasonable and had a wonderful outside area with tables around big fire pits. within walking distance of everything. we've stayed at downtown hotels before and have never been as satisfied as we were on this getaway. we're so glad we happened upon this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything within close walking distance so no need to take your car in and out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Apr 11, 2011

Business or Pleasure - Modera is a Gem.

Second time guest and I'll keep coming back. This is becoming one of my favorite spots as The Modera hits high marks in every catagory. Service is great but not overstated, the restaurant/bar is quality and the outdoor bar is very cool, rooms are quiet, very clean and the beds are wonderful. Free wireless is good (pet peeve is being charged for internet at hotels) and the gym is the best (full on gym just a short walk from the main hotel). And, ALL is delivered at a price I like. It's hard to pay less if you want to be city center and it's easy to pay much more and get far less. Modera is Portland's top spot for this traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hit Happy Hour early if you want to get a prime seat at the outdoor bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kirkland, Washington
Apr 7, 2011

Wonderful Place to Stay in Portland

My husband and I often travel and we found this hotel to be a fabulous place. It is close to restaurants, shopping, and the river. Our room was clean and very comfortable, the atmosphere was quiet and very relaxing, and the staff members were friendly and very helpful. The food at the hotel's restaurant was delicious and service was great. We are looking forward to our next stay at the Hotel Modera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
subflw47
Business
chicago, il
Apr 4, 2011

Great place!

first off, the reviews i read prior really sold me on the hotel. It is in a cool location in downtown, walking distance to quite a few places to eat. theres not a lot to actually do at night in the area, but the bar in the hotel is cool. the free fitness pass is cool too - you get to go to a 24 hour fitness. the biggest thing though, is the bed. its quite possibly the most comfortable bed i've ever seen. I never wanted to leave! the only complaint is the silliness of the bathroom door, its a sliding door without a latch, so you think it doesnt ever really close. minor complaint, totally. I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sold on portland
Business
FL
Mar 31, 2011

Great Stay

I was in town for business, and to see if i like portland enough to move there. this was the perfect location. right on public transit line. walking distance to museums, parks, resturants, culture, shopping, everything. the decor is modern. it's nice to see a hotel with real art, instead of "hotel art." the staff were friendly and helpful (but really so is everyone in this city). as a first timer in the city they definatly made me feel comfortable, and helped me with anything i needed. yes, the rooms were small, but it was enough room for me. and the food was great. it's not the cheapest hotel downtown, but it was worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel staff gives you a map of the city when you check in. super helpful. plus there are maps out on the street every few blocks to help you orient yourself, if you're from out of town. and the MAX is FREE.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveler6301
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 22, 2011

Jetsons ambience ... Flintstones wi-fi.

This was my second stay at the Modera. My impression was the same as my previous visit last fall: attractive, comfortable, and generally a great place; but the wireless internet service is poor to nonexistent. Unfortunately that's a deal-breaker for me. Go only if you don't expect to need your laptop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eddie the weasel
Business
buchanan dam. tx
Mar 17, 2011

Great Service -- not so great noise

We had a very nice time at the hotel - sitting at the fire pits ouside, enjoying cocktails on the patio - relacing in our room and finding ice ready to go into the ice bucket. The closet door-aka bathroom door was diffferent AND TOO HEAVEY. service was phenonmenal and every one was ready to meet every need = this was greatly appreciated and made us feel very much at home. I was disapointed with the nose levels in the room (sirens and elevator bells) as well as the quality of housekeeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mortons is so close and never disapoints! Ask for Kerry -I can't decide if I should take him home for adoption or ....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Granada Dad
Business
Phoenix
Mar 13, 2011

OR trip

Hotel was clean and neat. Maid service was great and staff was very customer oriented. Took several bags of southwestern foods to my son and the staff at the hotel stored them for a day in their break room freezer. The rooms were a touch small with only one chair at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Jakes Famous Craw-fish

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JDJ
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 7, 2011

Very nice hotel

The rooms in the hotel were very nice, and I enjoyed the free wireless internet. Valet parking was very quick and easy to deal with. The restaurant in the hotel was also very good (a bit expensive, but good). There isn't anything that I didn't like about the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slickiee
Business
Southern California
Feb 14, 2011

Great location

The room was small for three people but would be great for two. Comfy bed and bedding , room and halls all smell of citrus which was really nice. The only negatives would be no dresser for clothes (two drawers night stand only) and $20 a day parking charge valet only ... But a very fast and courteous staff takes the sting away in the long run. We enjoyed the restaurants house red wine and atmosphere before bed. Japanese gardens, OMSI, and shopping were great day time activities. Within walking distance of many coffee shops, cares and sight seeing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Keller fountain

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top