$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Modera

4 stars
View map of 515 SW Clay, Portland, OR 97201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Modera

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
195 out of 195
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krazy Karl
Business
Denver, Colorado
Jan 2, 2012

Nice Hotel

Great hotel, nice people and good service. Parking is expensive, but besides that it was a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park down the street for $6 a day instead of $27 a day (not including tip) on the same street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seattle visitors
Business
Seattle, Washington
Jan 2, 2012

Hotel Modera is an excellent location for adventure

We didn't want to have to drive around downtown Portland in holiday traffic and were very pleased with the location of the Modera in the University district. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful in guiding us to the museums, public transportation and restaurants. Powell's bookstore was only a mile walk and we could hop free buses and the MAX when we tired ourselves out. The hotel was very clean, secure and comfortable. The marble shower was wonderfully relaxing after a day of adventures. We would definitately stay there again. Only limitation was the closet space was pretty small and there was no fan for the bath, but they had treated the mirrors to not steam up.Overall, it is one of the nicest places we've stayed at in Portland for a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of free public transport options in the downtown area to avoid traffic and parking hassles, especially on holidays. Free bus lines take you everywhere. Wish Seattle was as visitor friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A Luloff
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 30, 2011

lux on the cheap

The Hotel Modera is everything you could want from a high end location. Quality bedding, in room amenties and superior staff that are willing to answer any question you have. THe location on Portland's mass transit network was beyound compare. You could get where you wanted without needing to rent a car or spend money on cabs. I will be staying here on my next trip to Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yosser
Business
Bend, OR
Oct 31, 2011

Trendy but friendly

Professional service from check in to check out. The bar area is elegant and looks out over a fire-pit courtyard with outdoor tables and service. We chose from the Happy Hour Menu and the snacks were good, tastefully served and moderately priced. The indoor restaurant, however, has tables arranged in tram-lines and appears uninviting. Aside from this, the only mild criticism we had was the closet/ bathroom arrangement. The two shared a rather heavy door. Something has to give, though, in the renovation of a small room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Higgins Restaurant, a block away provides a limited but interesting menu. The tables are carefully arranged and well separated and the service impeccable. Bit on the pricey side, but the place was full nevertheless. Worth a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atchang
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great location, great amenities

This place has a very convenient location to anything in the city. The room was very clean and the decor and stuff was very nice. A few caveats: The AC/Heater fan is really LOUD. They charge $27 a night for valut parking... however, there is lots of street parking nearby (metered 8AM-6PM Mon-Sat, 1-6PM Sun) which if you leave early in the morning is pretty straight forward (you can actually prepay for parking starting at 6AM as well).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zhanna
Business
seattle wa
Sep 26, 2011

weekend getaway

This hotel was very beautiful and modern. I liked the room and bathroom. The one thing I didn’t really like was my burger at the hotel restaurant for dinner but whatever my husband ordered was amazing! The staff was nice and friendly and I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
peca
Business
Hawaii, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Modera, Great hotel in Portland

Modera is a modern hotel situated in the center of Portland. It has a great restaurant with a terrace outside where lot of people enjoy happy hour. We had breakfast there and it was delicious. The rooms were very comfy and the staff amazing! I will go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nu Flow
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Great Place to Stay

i enjoy my stay there very much. The room was great and the location was within walking distance to everything i needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dc4612
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 29, 2011

Great Hotel!

Hotel was great - location, staff, rooms were all exactly what we were hoping for. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Modera

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
some_random_reviewer
Business
Salt lake citty, utah
Jun 22, 2011

Pleasant Stay

Room - Neat and clean , comfortable bed Staff - friendly Food - No idea , though they have a fireplace kind of thing. Looked beautiful but not sure of the food quality (Very less restuarants nearby) Visit Again - Yes The hotel is in downtown, so it would be really nice for people who want to move around the downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top