$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Hotel Lucia

4 stars
View map of 400 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
142 reviews
Great place!

Lovely location. Very boutique feel, extremely helpful staff who helped is store our bags in a safe... See full review

  • Julia C.
  • Apr 30, 2015
My first stay

This was my first stay at the Lucia, and I was more than happy with my experience. Very friendly... See full review

  • John S.
  • Apr 26, 2015
Minimalist elegance located in the heart of downtown Portland
The award-winning Hotel Lucia brings hip decor and top-notch service to downtown Portland. The hotel was named a "Reader's Choice Top 100 Hotel" by Conde Nast Traveler magazine and one of the "Top 500 Hotels in the World" by Travel + Leisure magazine. The elegant lobby features gorgeous artwork, a fireplace and formally clad workers to give the space an upscale feeling. The hotel also offers two restaurants, Typhoon! and Bo Bistro, that serve excellent Thai and Asian cuisine in gorgeous surroundings.
Highlights
  • Two widely praised restaurants
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Gorgeous artwork, including pictures by Pulitzer-Prize-winning photographer, in the lobby
  • Luxurious rooms with high-thread-count duvets, mahogany furnishings and more
  • Situated in the heart of downtown Portland
Rooms
The stunning 127 rooms at Hotel Lucia offer comfort and elegance. All rooms feature high-thread-count duvets, high-definition TVs and gorgeous mahogany furniture. The rooms offer a "spiritual menu" that provides guests with books from the Bible to the Tao Te Ching. Guess also receive complimentary organic coffee and a pillow menu that lets them choose options from soft to extra-firm. Free Wi-Fi access is available.
Dining
Hotel Lucia features two restaurants that offer top-notch fare. Both are helmed by chef Bo Kline, who was named "one of the hottest chefs in America" by Bon Appetit magazine. The hip Bo Asian Bistro melds several influences into its scrumptious dishes like a duck spring roll and Thai sashimi. Typhoon! features a more traditional Thai menu with panang curry and Thai barbecue chicken.
Transportation
  • Short walk to MAX light rail station (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Quick drive to I-405 (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Portland International Airport (12.4 mi/20 km)
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • Rose Garden Arena (1.6 mi/2.6 km)  
  • Oregon Zoo (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (2.2 mi/3.5 km)  
  • Pittock Mansion (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
Business
  • A 24/7 business center with computers, print, fax and copying services available
  • Two meeting rooms with 1,900 square feet for 185 people total
Policies and fees
  • Valet parking is available for $40 USD per night.
  • Guests must be 21 years old or older to check in

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Lucia also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Lucia Rooms

Premium King
One King Bed. 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, custom pillow-top mattress, pillow menu, iPod docking station, flat screen television, designer bath soaps and lotion, Portland Roasters coffee and Smith tea, in-room safe, complimentary fiber optic WiFi, in-room safe and turndown service (upon request).
Superior King
One King Bed with ample floor space. 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, custom pillow-top mattress, pillow menu, iPod docking station, flat screen television, designer bath soaps and lotion, Portland Roasters coffee and Smith tea, in-room safe, complimentary fiber optic WiFi, in-room safe and turndown service (upon request).
Deluxe Queen
One Queen Bed. 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets, custom pillow-top mattress, pillow menu, iPod docking station, flat screen television, designer bath soaps and lotion, Portland Roasters coffee and Smith tea, in-room safe, complimentary fiber optic WiFi, in-room safe and turndown service (upon request).

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 1 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.6 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.8 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 1 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1.1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.3 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2 mi
  • Washington Park: 2 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.1 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.6 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.2 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.4 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.1 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.8 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.7 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 16 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.6 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.5 mi

Dining

Portland Penny Diner
Named after the coin that Frances Pettygrove and Asa Lovejoy used to decide Portlands name in 1845, Portland Penny Diner investigates the intersection of Pacific Northwest immigrant food cultures and the Native Americans pure approach to food. A counter service diner, it features relaxed seating and grab-and-go options, including handcrafted sandwiches and milkshakes.
Imperial
Featuring perfectly executed, elegant and soulful cuisine, Imperial explores heritage cooking methods using ingredients from Portlands diverse bounty and a custom-made wood-fired grill. Inspired by campfires and the big open spaces of the Pacific Northwest, Imperial is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner and serves uncomplicated fare in a warm, welcoming environment.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Hotel Lucia Portland - Meeting Facilities: The Hotel Lucia's meeting facilities provide an intimate environment for your next event - from a board meeting of five to a reception of more than 70 attendees. Hotel Lucia, a top downtown Portland Oregon hotel, provides the perfect setting for your next event.

The Monterosso: The Monterosso Room is the ideal setting for a personalized social event, company meeting or formal presentation with its spacious and flexible seating capacity and chic atmosphere.

The Genoa: The Genoa Room provides the perfect environment for a cocktail party or business function. The walls are adorned with one-of-a kind photography to encourage creativity and mindfulness.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Lucia

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julia C.
Business
N/A
Apr 30, 2015

Great place!

Lovely location. Very boutique feel, extremely helpful staff who helped is store our bags in a safe room. Near everything yet not too commercial. There was construction going on but they timed it very well. Thanks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John S.
Business
N/A
Apr 26, 2015

My first stay

This was my first stay at the Lucia, and I was more than happy with my experience. Very friendly staff, well appointed rooms with lots of style and super convenient location. Also appreciated its smaller, more intimate size. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew P.
Business
San Francisco
Apr 22, 2015

Good Hotel

Hotel was very nice. Great location, good staff. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyjuly
Business
Atlanta
Mar 12, 2015

Great place

The staff was very friendly and helpful to my needs. The hotel it's self was beautiful and well maintain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dublindublin
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

Great weekend stay

Stayed here for a weekend and loved the central location and helpful staff downstairs. The room was as small as expected, and the descriptions in other reviews of the bathroom's size are accurate. However everything was modern, well-kept, and sleek. We had no problems with noise and couldn't even hear any neighbors. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica A.
Business
Shelton
Jan 12, 2015

Trendy Hotel in Downtown Portland

We stayed here after a 200 mile bicycle event. Cool place! Within walking distance to lots of great restaurants. Beautiful, trendy decor. We loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jessica A.
Business
Shelton
Jan 12, 2015

Fun Hotel in Downtown Portland

We had a great time staying here. Great location, friendly, professional staff, within walking distance to lots of great restaurants. Beautiful place, too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donalda
Business
Chico, CA
Nov 29, 2014

What a find!

Hotel Lucia was perfect in every way-from early check in, to the accommodating,friendly staff to entertaining and helpful doormen out in front of the hotel. The ideal location made it a cinch to get around downtown Portland, We loved it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tasty and Alder is the hot restaurant in the area. it was so good we ate breakfast there two days in a row. We met the most interesting travelers there and the staff was very accommodating.

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
donna happy time
Business
norfolk virginia
Nov 19, 2014

perfect 3 night stay

i had a wonderful short trip in portland and enjoyed every minute of it...thanks to the staff at hotel lucia and the people of portland - and especially to my son...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the dining in portland, if you are a vegan or a vegetarian, is the best...the quaint dining areas are amazing as well as the cafes...

Review of Hotel Lucia

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A Ganda
Business
San Francisco
Nov 3, 2014

Great downtown location, friendly staff & very nice hotel.

We checked in late, but there were still 2 very friendly staff members available upon arrival. Checking in was a breeze. The room was spacious and very clean and modern. Hotel is decorated with b&w photography throughout. Modern and chic vibe. We rented bikes & the staff was more than accommodating to store them for us. They would open the door for us upon arrival. Overall it was a very pleasant experience. My only complaint is that I kept hearing a tapping noise at night. I used to hear the same noise in my old house which was from the water heater. There are earbuds in a drawer, if you're sensitive to sound, use them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a food pod on Washington & 9th/10th. Something for everyone. We had these amazing Georgian (the country) wild mushroom dumplings which were amazing.

Back to menu Return to top