$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

3 stars
View map of 1231 North Anchor Way, 1231 N Anchor Way, Portland, OR 97217

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cheechok
Washington, USA
Aug 21, 2011

Lovely view of river, lovely staff

The hotel was great for location, right along the river and fun place to walk along the levee. Clean room, very friendly professional staff. If you don't have a car, tricky to get from Expo center stop (red line train) to the hotel; little jaunt crossing 7 lanes of traffic and under the freeway overpass, industrial part of town. Very unfortunate the last night of my stay, 10 pm 3 very loud people checked into the room next to mine, thin walls, they were loud, lewd, vulgar, fighting, until 4 am, I called the front desk. The front desk called them, didn't help. I got no sleep and it was a little scary. Would have been good for "management" to go to their room and listen to them, and perhaps find a room more isolated for them or give me some good ear plugs ;) I was on my own and it was a pleasure trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Using the public trans system, tri met, you can get an all day pass that will get you on all the rail lines, busses, trolley cars for $4.50. Buy them at any stop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
San Diego, CA
Jun 14, 2011

Sisters Wedding

The hotel was awesome! We had a balcony suite that overlooked the Columbia River for miles and miles. [...]at the front desk was amazing.One note, housekeeping only had decaf in the room which [...]immediatley took care of as well as an extra chair for my mother.Stefan showed me the meeting spaces(I am an event planner) and was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hermiston, Oregon
May 19, 2011

Expo Run

It was nice. it was tucked back out of the way but close to the Portland expo center and it was an easy couple of minutes get to the expo. Nice atomphere with a nice veiw of the river. The beds were something to be desired. I woke up sore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retro48
Business
Priest River, Idaho
Apr 29, 2011

Sub par for the price

The Courtyard was very clean and well appointed. I do think, that for the price of Marriott facilities, you are getting short changed. We had booked for two persons and yet had towels, shampoo and conditioner for one person. Perhaps the issue is that they do not have a process to notify housekeeping of their prospective client's numbers and needs. They only service rooms to the minimal level of one occupant. One other issue was the bed and pillows. The bed and pillows are extra firm and almost like rock slabs. Very uncomfortable. [...] this was supposed to be a $250.00 room. Not even close! I found that I could have a very nice, large, well equipped suite at Quality Inn for about $20.00 cheaper (without a discount) than the cramped room at the Courtyard. I won't be using the Marriott brand again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Unless you eat at the hotel restaurant, you will have to settle for a pizza joint/sports pub or a deli.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fort lewis,wa
Aug 8, 2010

it was good until breakfast

Room was great,clean, and quiet. I called about breakfast in the am and was told it was until 11. Went to breakfast and it was a standard hotel breakfast. Awful bacon make your own waffles etc. Well a gentleman comes over once we finish and hands us a check for $15.90. Excuse me?!? He asked us about vouchers which no one at all told us about at check in nor when I called down about breakfast. Needless to say I was very unhappy after that. It wasn't even worth the $15.90.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Resturant in downtown portland called schmicks and mccorm8icks was awesome! Pricey but great food and service

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elsa, recycling queen
Business
Sumner, WA
Jun 15, 2010

A very pleasant stay in Portland

We arrived three hours before check in time, and were allowed into our room at that time. We had just driven 150 miles, and needed to change out of our travel clothes and go to a 95th birthday party for a friend. The staff in the Cafe was great, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ever Ready
Business
Eugene, OR
May 24, 2010

Clean and Easy Location

It was nice-- the I-5 traffic was a bit crazy but we planned around it. Very clean- nice staff. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Salty's is close right down on Marine Drive and Norma's at Jansen Beach was a great little soul food gem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hate Orbtiz
Business
Seattle
Jan 1, 2010

[...]

Hotel was great. Clean. Secure parking. Friendly staff[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern CA
Jul 26, 2009

Convenient and Comfortable

This was a pretty good hotel with free parking and close to Vancouver, WA. It is also close to the light rail if you want to go to downtown Portland. I was worried about noise because it is right on the interstate, but we slept great and it was quiet. The beds were comfy. The only issue we had was at breakfast. I had the buffet and it was a deluxe motel version with all the options, but my husband ordered off the menu and never received his food. He asked several times and after a half hour the staff said they hadn't started it yet. The front desk, shuttle, and cleaning staff were all really great and my only caution is to just get the buffet if you are having breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We were going to vist Vancouver, WA which is close, but we also took a short walk to the light rail MAX or hotel shuttle to go downtown. Parking is free and secure.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
skipole64
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Jun 3, 2009

Beautiful view, nice people!

Beautiful surroundings, unfortunately lots of construction going on around building and hard to get to. But, of course, that will be taken care of in the future. Friendly and very helpful staff. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Cadillac Cafe!! Fantastic place for breakfast or lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland North Harbour

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nando smart mouth
Business
Bend, Oregon
May 31, 2009

good deal!

We left the hotel for a school reunion so didn't stay there much but enjoyed the sun on the north deck. chairs, tables and sun umbrellas would have been helpful (tho it is still early in the season) It would have been nice to have more of a harbour view but I think that comes with paying a bit more. Access to Janzen Beach shopping Center is good for people for whom that is important. Exiting at Janzen Beach, people should know that Tomahawk Island is a delightful place with small cafes for eating by the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take Janzen Beach Exit (North to Seattle before you cross the bridge) Go to Tomahawk Island for walks and exploring docks and small cafes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top