$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

3 stars
View map of 550 SW Oak Street, 550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
134 reviews
Swift with Style

I was very pleased with my experience. We pulled right up and were greeted by the valet who quickly... See full review

  • Melissa H.
  • Apr 30, 2015
Awesome vacation.

Great place. Very clean. Staff was friendly. Close to all portland destinations. See full review

  • Amanda H.
  • Apr 18, 2015
Downtown hotel offers guests both convenience and luxury
The Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center provides an excellent stay, whether guests come for business or pleasure. The Pearl District-area hotel offers nine meeting rooms for business guests and more than 5,300 square feet of meeting space. Experienced event planners are on-hand to ensure business guests have everything they need. The on-site restaurant, Mez on Broadway, provides locally grown fare, and the 249 spacious rooms include everything from flat-screen TVs to marble countertops.
Highlights
  • Gorgeous lobby with marble floor and spiral staircase
  • Mez on Broadway, a restaurant that offers local, organic fare
  • Business center with 5,300 square feet of meeting space
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms
Whether guests are in Portland for business or pleasure, the spacious rooms at the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center includes top-notch amenities. Rooms feature luxury bedding, large desks, high-speed Internet access, flat-screen TVs and marble countertops. The hotel offers 238 rooms and 11 suites.
Features
With a spacious lobby that features an elegant spiral staircase and marble flooring, the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center offers sophistication from the first glimpse. Mez on Broadway restaurant, located on the second floor, offers local and organic ingredients and a comprehensive Oregon-based wine list. The restaurant also boasts a hip bar with a stunning view of the city. The 24-hour fitness center has many exercise machines, as well as flat-screen TVs.
Dining
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center may be located near many fine restaurants, but the airy Mez on Broadway offers a great in-house option. Much of the fare is organic and local, including organic chicken and filet mignon with Oregon blue cheese butter. The restaurant also offers many local wines, and the Lounge at Mez on Broadway features a lovely view and local spirits.
Transportation
  • Portland International Airport (10.1 mi/16.1 km)
  • 24-hour shuttle to airport (fees apply)
  • Walking distance to MAX stop
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)   
  • Rose Garden Arena (0.6 mi/1 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Computers, copy, printing and fax service available
  • Nine business rooms offer 5,300 square feet of space
  • Catering for meetings and seminars
  • In-house audio-visual equipment available

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.1 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Park: 2.1 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.5 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.1 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.1 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.9 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.6 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.9 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.5 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.4 mi

Dining

The Original
A new kind of neighborhood eatery, The Original is a cultured yet casual, swank restaurant near Portland's Pearl District. Unique amongst Pearl District area restaurants in downtown Portland, The Original updates American favorites with a modern twist.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Tiger
Business
Madison
May 19, 2012

Good for a business stay

Stayed here last minute one night after my boutique hotel booked up. It's a hotel in the heart of downtown. Quiet, comfortable, and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kathy and Jack
Business
Seaside
May 11, 2015

Awesome Downtown Location

Nice comfortable,clean & spacious room and very quiet. Staff was friendly & informative. Easy walking distance to downtown venues and mass transit. The only amenities lacking was no microwave. I would highly recommend to friends or family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarah k.
Business
Corvallis
May 8, 2015

Great location in downtown Portland

Staff were friendly upon check in and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The hotel has a restaurant with bar downstairs, we had drinks there, but the food menu looked great as well. The location is great, we were in walking distance of shopping, bars, and restaurants. Parking is available by the valets or it is possibly to park in garages nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa H.
Business
Spanaway
Apr 30, 2015

Swift with Style

I was very pleased with my experience. We pulled right up and were greeted by the valet who quickly helped us get our bags out of the car, took our information, and showed us to the reception area. The check-in staff was very friendly and asked if we were enjoying our day. When we mentioned that we had been doing some great consignment shopping, she immediately asked if we had been in to the Buffalo Exchange a few blocks away. When we said we hadn't, she gave us easy directions, offered us a map, and still managed to get us checked in within 5 minutes. The lobby, while on the smaller side, is very Portland-Chic (modern style mixed with rustic wood). I liked the security of needing a room key to activate the hotel elevators and the rooms had a lovely atmosphere as well. The rooms were spacious and had the Portland-Chic feel. Checkout was also speedy and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mamma Mia Trattoria was an amazing place for Happy Hour. Appetizers in the bar were between $2.95-$5.95 and we got multiple drinks and 3 appetizers for only $30. The bar has a great set up and a TV, so you can enjoy a game too! The restaurant has lovely old-world decor, and the service was friendly and fast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James D.
Business
Fremont
Apr 29, 2015

Short stay at Courtyard Marriott

Stay there on Sat. And Sun. Place is located in Portland downtow, very convenient to go around. Lot's of places to eat. Staffs are nice, room quiet and clean. The only drawback is the cost of overnight parking is $35, a bit much for Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ben C.
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Slight disappointment

We stayed at this hotel a couple years back for an anniversary so we decided to stay again this trip. We needed up with a disappointing room. It was a weird lay out and our view (if you could call it that) was through a sliver of a window starring in between 2 buildings into a lovely alley. The whole floor smelled like body odor. Although the staff was friendly and the location was great we Will not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda H.
Business
N/A
Apr 18, 2015

Awesome vacation.

Great place. Very clean. Staff was friendly. Close to all portland destinations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyjuly
Business
Atlanta
Mar 10, 2015

Great location

Great location and very convenient to local shop and. Restaurants and nightlife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilyn N.
Business
bronx
Mar 10, 2015

Date weekend

We went for valentine's day weekend and the hotel was great! Nice room, great restaurant, good location. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyjuly
Business
Atlanta
Mar 10, 2015

Stay

It was a great place beautiful location the staff help with all my needs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
djbj
Business
Lincoln
Mar 9, 2015

Great Location

We walked from the train station, great area. would stay at again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top