$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

3 stars
550 SW Oak Street, 550 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
172 reviews
Sweet 21

Very clean and very worth the price me payed. Comfy bed but hard pillows See full review

  • Mia and angie
  • Jun 8, 2014
Amazing Couples Weekend

We got away for a night without the kids and enjoyed the weekend in Portland. Loved the central... See full review

  • Ginae
  • Apr 16, 2014
Downtown hotel offers guests both convenience and luxury
The Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center provides an excellent stay, whether guests come for business or pleasure. The Pearl District-area hotel offers nine meeting rooms for business guests and more than 5,300 square feet of meeting space. Experienced event planners are on-hand to ensure business guests have everything they need. The on-site restaurant, Mez on Broadway, provides locally grown fare, and the 249 spacious rooms include everything from flat-screen TVs to marble countertops.
Highlights
  • Gorgeous lobby with marble floor and spiral staircase
  • Mez on Broadway, a restaurant that offers local, organic fare
  • Business center with 5,300 square feet of meeting space
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms
Whether guests are in Portland for business or pleasure, the spacious rooms at the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center includes top-notch amenities. Rooms feature luxury bedding, large desks, high-speed Internet access, flat-screen TVs and marble countertops. The hotel offers 238 rooms and 11 suites.
Features
With a spacious lobby that features an elegant spiral staircase and marble flooring, the Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center offers sophistication from the first glimpse. Mez on Broadway restaurant, located on the second floor, offers local and organic ingredients and a comprehensive Oregon-based wine list. The restaurant also boasts a hip bar with a stunning view of the city. The 24-hour fitness center has many exercise machines, as well as flat-screen TVs.
Dining
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center may be located near many fine restaurants, but the airy Mez on Broadway offers a great in-house option. Much of the fare is organic and local, including organic chicken and filet mignon with Oregon blue cheese butter. The restaurant also offers many local wines, and the Lounge at Mez on Broadway features a lovely view and local spirits.
Transportation
  • Portland International Airport (10.1 mi/16.1 km)
  • 24-hour shuttle to airport (fees apply)
  • Walking distance to MAX stop
Attractions
  • Powell's Bookstore (0.4 mi/0.6 km)   
  • Rose Garden Arena (0.6 mi/1 km)  
  • Oregon Museum of Science & Industry (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Portland Art Museum (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Oregon Zoo (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Pittock Mansion (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Portland Japanese Garden (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • 24/7 business center
  • Computers, copy, printing and fax service available
  • Nine business rooms offer 5,300 square feet of space
  • Catering for meetings and seminars
  • In-house audio-visual equipment available

Hotel Map

45.5216 -122.6767
Area served
Portland
Nearby airports
Portland International Airport, (PDX), 12.50, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Living Room Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Lan Su Chinese Garden: 0.3 mi
  • The Gerding Theater at Armory Building: 0.3 mi
  • Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Tom McCall Waterfront Park: 0.4 mi
  • Oregon Histrorical Society: 0.5 mi
  • Portland Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Ira Keller Fountain Park: 0.6 mi
  • Keller Auditorium: 0.6 mi
  • Hawthorne Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • PGE Park: 0.7 mi
  • Jeld-Wen Field: 0.7 mi
  • Rose Garden Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Peter W. Stott Center: 0.9 mi
  • Moda Center: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Holocaust Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Oregon Museum of Science and Industry: 1 mi
  • International Rose Test Garden: 1.4 mi
  • Portland Japanese Garden: 1.5 mi
  • Pittock Mansion: 1.9 mi
  • Hoyt Arboretum: 2.1 mi
  • Oregon Zoo: 2.1 mi
  • Washington Park: 2.1 mi
  • Portland Children's Museum: 2.2 mi
  • Laurelhurst Park: 2.5 mi
  • Bagdad Theatre: 2.6 mi
  • Crystal Springs Rhododendron Garden: 3.6 mi
  • Mount Tabor Park: 4.1 mi
  • Chiles Center: 4.5 mi
  • St. Johns Bridge: 6.1 mi
  • Forest Park: 7.9 mi
  • Willamette Valley: 8.6 mi
  • Sauvie Island Wildlife Area: 15.1 mi
  • Columbia River Gorge: 15.9 mi
  • Oneonta Gorge: 29.5 mi
  • Mt. Hood Ski Bowl: 46.4 mi

Dining

The Original
A new kind of neighborhood eatery, The Original is a cultured yet casual, swank restaurant near Portland's Pearl District. Unique amongst Pearl District area restaurants in downtown Portland, The Original updates American favorites with a modern twist.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Big Tiger
Business
Madison
May 19, 2012

Good for a business stay

Stayed here last minute one night after my boutique hotel booked up. It's a hotel in the heart of downtown. Quiet, comfortable, and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
theTarot
Whittier, CA, USA
Jul 16, 2014

Location Location

I love the location of this hotel, near Burnside (a quick walk or direct bus line to where you need to go), a MAX station right near by, and a delicious diner connected to the hotel. They were very accommodating to a surprise early arrival and the front staff were courteous at all hours and times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Utilize the Original Diner. Whether for something quick and sweet, a drink, or a big meal.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FITSQUIT
Oakland, CA
Jul 8, 2014

Mediocre facility, good location

It was fine for a quick trip to Portland (beautiful and fun city!) but definitely overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Screen Door for dinner! Get the fried chicken and the screen door plate. Amazing Southern food.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mia and angie
Portland or
Jun 8, 2014

Sweet 21

Very clean and very worth the price me payed. Comfy bed but hard pillows

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yosser
Bend, OR
Jun 5, 2014

Standard Downtown Hotel

There's nothing special about this hotel, but everything is very reasonable and the only caveat we would have is the lack of any kind of a view from the tiny window. Otherwise, the room was large and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a memorable dining experience, we recommend the Petit Oiseau (Little Bird) restaurant just around the corner. Outstanding in every way.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SophiaFC
San Francisco, California
May 12, 2014

Just average, good location

Pros: -Near the downtown area/water front\ -Many restaurants and breweries within walking distance -Room was clean -Bed was comfortable Cons: -Overall, the hotel was pretty average and the room size did not quite reflect what we saw in photos Overall: -Comfortable stay, would go back again, but would not pay more than $120 per night....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler675
Seattle, WA
Apr 29, 2014

Fun, easy weekend away

Clean, comfortable and close to pretty much everything. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Silverado!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ginae
Albany, OR
Apr 16, 2014

Amazing Couples Weekend

We got away for a night without the kids and enjoyed the weekend in Portland. Loved the central location. We let valet park our car, and didn't need it again until we were ready to go home. Our hotel room was very swanky, very modern, comfortable and clean. Great experience! We can't wait to go back and know exactly where we'll stay. The Courtyard City Center Marriot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thirsty Lion is the BEST Breakfast!!! Way better then Mothers. We were seated immediately, staff & service was awesome. We might go back to Portland just for that breakfast again. I am still craving it!

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Professor
Seattle
Apr 14, 2014

Great place!

I will definitely return! I was very pleased with my stay here. ALL STAFF were friendly, personable, helpful. Room was spotlessly clean. Excellent location -- centrally-located. I LOVED it. Two thumbs up -- 10 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James P.
Seattle WA
Apr 9, 2014

Solid Downtown Portland Hotel

Stopped through Portland for a weekend and stayed at the Marriott Courtyard instead of the typical boutique hotel. Good service, room size, downtown location, and serviceable restaurant/bar. Not much to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stephroseolsen
Seattle
Apr 7, 2014

Nice Weekend Trip

I came here with a couple of friends for the Sounders FC match against the Portland Timbers. Was a great game and a comfortable game. Check in was pretty busy after the game and the staff handled the masses of drunken soccer fans quickly and professionally. The hotel is also right across the block from all the Food trucks and a short walk from the local bar scene on 2nd. The room was clean and very comfortable, nice layout in the room - had some open space between the bed and bathroom that was nice for getting ready. Called for room service that was speedy and the restaurant looked nice too, but we didn't get a chance to eat there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We loved the Shanghai Tunnel! I love Dive Bars so it's my kind of scene, lot's of pinball machines and Buck Hunter.

Back to menu Return to top