$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

Valley River Inn

3 stars
View map of 1000 Valley River Way, Eugene, OR 97401

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
43 reviews
An Oasis after a long day's travel

My husband and I flew into Portland, rented a car and drove to Eugene. We were exhausted and... See full review

  • Judy the Navigator
  • Mar 16, 2015
Great weekend getaway

Visiting daughter for Dad's weekend at UO sorority perfect location, amenities, great weekend trip.... See full review

  • Theresa T.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Located along the banks of the majestic Willamette River, the recently renovated Valley River Inn offers scenic beauty along with contemporary convenience for the modern traveler. Valley River Inn is adjacent to Valley River Center, which boasts over 120 stores, and is within a 3 mile radius of the University of Oregon, Autzen Stadium, the Hult Center, and Downtown Eugene. Guests enjoy an abundance of amenities including a heated outdoor pool, indoor hot tub and sauna, exquisite riverside dining at SweetWaters on the River, freshly brewed Cycle Town coffee and tempting pastries created in-house daily at RiverWalk Bakery, bike rentals, riverfront walking/biking, and much more. Each of our guestrooms has been uniquely decorated to incorporate elements authentic to the Pacific Northwest. All of our rooms come equipped with a flat screen LCD television, executive workstation, coffee maker. Most of the rooms are also equipped with a patio or balcony. **Please note, standard check-in time is 4pm, however this check-in time is not guaranteed on University of Oregon or Oregon State University home football game days.**

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Valley River Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Valley River Inn Rooms

Deluxe - 1 King or 2 Queens
Our spacious 375 sq. ft. guestrooms include one king with a pull out sofa bed or two queen beds with spacious seating area. All rooms include an executive desk, HD Flat screen Television, and wired/wireless internet access.
Courtyard - 1 King or 2 Queens
Our spacious 375 sq. ft. Courtyard View guestrooms include one king with a pull out sofa bed or two queen beds with spacious seating area. These rooms include an executive desk, HD Flat screen Television, wired/wireless internet access, and a patio/balcony overlooking the peaceful courtyard garden.
Poolview - 1 King or 2 Queens
Our spacious 375 sq. ft. Pool View guestrooms include one king with a pull out sofa bed or two queen beds with spacious seating area. These rooms include an executive desk, HD Flat screen Television, wired/wireless internet access, and a patio or balcony overlooking the outdoor pool and spa.
Riverview - 1 King or 2 Queens
Our spacious 378 sq. ft. River View include one king with a pull out sofa bed or two queen beds with spacious seating area. These rooms include an executive desk, HD Flat screen Television, wired/wireless internet access, and patio or balcony overlooking the beautiful Willamette River.
Concierge - 1 King or 2 Queens
Our concierge guestrooms offer the same great amenities as our Deluxe rooms while granting you access to the privately hosted Concierge Lounge. Each morning you will receive a complimentary continental breakfast. Don't forget to return to the lounge in the evening to relax and enjoy complimentary beverages, cocktails, and hors d'oeuvres.
Concierge Riverview - 1 King or 2 Queens
Our concierge river view guestrooms offer the same great amenities as our deluxe river view rooms while granting you access to the privately hosted Concierge Lounge as well. Each morning you will receive a complimentary continental breakfast. Don't forget to return to the lounge in the evening to relax and enjoy complimentary beverages, cocktails, and hors d'oeuvres.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Handicapped parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Autzen Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Matthew Knight Arena: 2.4 mi
  • McArthur Court: 772.3 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
With over 15,000 square feet of function space, Valley River Inn provides a celebrated setting for Oregon events. Host your next meeting, banquet, or convention at this unique resort-style hotel, and experience the essence of classic Northwestern hospitality and charm. As a classic-favorite Eugene Oregon wedding site and conference location since 1973, it's sunlight-filled ballrooms and boardrooms offer a compelling natural atmosphere, designed to soothe and inspire your guests. Rely on the hotel to create a distinctive environment for your event.

Dining

Sweet Waters on the River
Featuring a view of the Willamette River from every table, Sweet Waters on the River is Valley River Inn's acclaimed restaurant. The restaurant and Executive Chef Michael Thieme have been featured in the pages of Bon Appetit, NW Palate and Simply Seafood. Sweet Waters on the River restaurant offers Pan Pacific Northwest cuisine focused on North American game, Pacific sea foods and locally gathered organic produce.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Valley River Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runnertraveler
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Better online than in person

This is a very big hotel with somewhat time-worn rooms. The smell was weird--musty and in our non-smoking room, I could smell cigarette smoke, possibly wafting in from some room nearby. The sheets even smelled a little off. All that said, it is right next to the river trail, which is nice for taking a walk or run. Staff was pleasant. Would not stay here again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Judy the Navigator
Business
Oklahoma City
Mar 16, 2015

An Oasis after a long day's travel

My husband and I flew into Portland, rented a car and drove to Eugene. We were exhausted and grumpy. Arriving at the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised at the serene comfort of our room. It overlooked the river so we had an excellent view from our balcony. Since we were hungry, we dined outside at their riverside restaurant. THE SUNSET FROM OUR TABLE WAS PERFECT. I'd recommend this hotel to all travelers to Eugene.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Theresa T.
Business
N/A
Feb 24, 2015

Great weekend getaway

Visiting daughter for Dad's weekend at UO sorority perfect location, amenities, great weekend trip. would absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tsai
Business
Coos Bay
Feb 4, 2015

Business trip

Great location , right next to Valley River Mall. Went to front dask several time and staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef Shellie
Business
Roseburg
Jan 17, 2015

LOVE!!!!

Hotel staff is has wonderful customer service. The decor is beautiful and the beds are very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Perry R.
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

Not a bad place to stay.

To tell the truth? The motel itself is very nice. The lobby with the fireplace was a comfortable place to sit and visit. The room was nice and clean. The shower? Not the worst shower spray but not the best either. The bed was super comfortable. The pool was not used because it was too cold out. The hot tub area? That's another story. The room was not very inviting, and the hot tub jets squirted straight up from the sides and splashed out onto the floor. But we weren't there for the hot tub experience. Over all, it was a very nice experience, albeit a bit pricey, but in range with all the other motels in town and it is conveniently located. We will more than likely stay there again on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef Shellie
Business
Dillard, Oregon
Dec 8, 2014

Excellent accommodations!

The customer service is ecxellent! I am HUGE on customer service and this staff I would hire in a heartbeat. I travel in and out of Eugene twice a month and have never stayed in the same hotel more than once but I will now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

They have great deals!

Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Drea Kay
Business
Fullerton California
Dec 7, 2014

Perfect location

This hotel was the perfect location, Right in the middle of everything! The staff was helpful with providing the hotel shuttle or taxi to get us around town! I would defiantly stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The mall is in the same shopping area that is a short walk from the hotel, which was so convenient for out of town visitors!!

Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tr1953
Business
Eureka
Nov 27, 2014

not happy

Hotel was clean but we were given a handicap room which had a very low uncomfortable bed. No mention of this at time of booking our when we came in. Beware! The room you see on the pictures is not what you are going to stay in!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Kings estate winery

Review of Valley River Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tallguy33
Business
Vancouver, BC
Oct 10, 2014

Good location!

The hotel is sort of vintage 1980s with a partial recent renovation that makes for some interesting combinations...but they make it work somehow. Nice lodge-like lobby. Big rooms, very clean and nice bed, couch, desk, bathroom. (I had a king first floor room.) Right on the river and walking distance to pretty much anything you want (Mall, lots of places to eat, all between 1-4 blocks away.) Very fast to get to downtown Eugene. I have not stayed here before though I go to Eugene about every 3 weeks for the past year. This time they had some crazy deal and I was under $90 including taxes so pulled the trigger. Best value I have had in Eugene so far. I would for sure stay here again. As nice or nicer than the downtown hilton with no parking fees and much better stuff in walking distance!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the hotel is a walk along the river, great place for a quick stroll before or after walking over to dinner!

Back to menu Return to top