$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

2 stars
400 S Meridian Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
83 reviews
Weekend stay

Room was very comfortable and clean. Have stayed in the area and this room was as good or better... See full review

  • JoRo20
  • Jul 21, 2014
Comfortable room with a great breakfast and staff.

This is a very popular hotel seconds from the freeway and close to many restaurants. Our room has... See full review

  • D Dude
  • Jun 14, 2014
Budget-friendly Oklahoma City hotel with free breakfast and a pool

For comfortable, wallet-friendly lodging near the airport and downtown attractions, choose the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City. With brand awards for high-quality accommodation and service, this hotel offers a good night's sleep and at-home amenities travelers can rely on. All guest rooms include cable TV with HBO and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Enjoy the free Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City breakfast, featuring Belgian waffles, eggs and sausage. A fitness center and outdoor swimming pool helps guests stay in shape.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Pet-friendly rooms
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
Rooms

Spacious guest rooms include one king-sized bed and an easy chair, or two double beds and a side table with two chairs. Complimentary bath amenities, alarm clock radios, coffee-makers, free local phone calls and wake-up service provide additional comfort and convenience. Some rooms include microwaves and refrigerators. Don't hesitate to bring the furry family member along - rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City are pet-friendly.

Features

A full, hot breakfast is free at the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City. Meeting space and a business center mean business travelers don't have to go far to get work done. Whether in town for business or sightseeing, take a break by the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Plenty of free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles.


Find additional recreation at Celebration Station, a family-fun hot spot minutes from the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City. Arcade games, batting cages, bumper boats, go-karts and miniature golf keep everyone smiling. Stay all day and enjoy treats like pizza and funnel cake.

Transportation
  • Adjacent to I-40 
  • I-44 (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Greyhound station (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Will Rogers World Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Amtrak station (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • State Fair Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Oklahoma City University (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Lake Overholser (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Cox Convention Center (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • Oklahoma City Arena (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • AT&T Bricktown Ballpark (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space available
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

35.4618 -97.5998
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oklahoma State Fair Arena: 2 mi
  • Ford Center: 4.8 mi
  • Chesapeake Energy Arena: 4.8 mi
  • Cox Business Services Convention Center: 4.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 83
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ladonna P.
Sayre, Ok.
Jul 25, 2014

Family getaway

Nice hotel for the money. Good location, free breakfast has pretty good variety. Staff was very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Located near a vaiety of dining choices.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
crosscountry travels
Oklahoma city
Jul 4, 2014

ok stay

Good breakfast for the most part. Had a very comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D Dude
Phx, Az
Jun 14, 2014

Comfortable room with a great breakfast and staff.

This is a very popular hotel seconds from the freeway and close to many restaurants. Our room has always been clean and the room temperature is set to provide comfort when we enter. The front desk is always staffed with a welcoming smile and knowledgeable attendant. We can walk to a restaurant and there is a gas station very conveniently located that is often times less expensive than the competitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thunder Up 850
Panama City Beach
Jun 4, 2014

great stay

the location was great it was very clean the staff was very nice I enjoyed myself and I would return any time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thunder Up 850
Panama City Beach
May 28, 2014

Nice win for OKC #ThunderUp

Came for the ball game, they had an office I could print my game tickets from, so I liked that. They had a pool, an exercise room which for the price is rare. Right next to the highway an minutes from the ThunderDome

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cannook
Abilene, TX area
May 12, 2014

Two Star rating about right..

Chose it for the location, staff friendly. For older people hard to manage stairs, no elevator, ice machine on first floor only. Everything old, refrigerator, TV, chairs etc.,towels thin. Toilet had issue with water running, had to manually shut off the water after each flush. In other words the 2 star rating about right.. However carpets nice, beds OK, quiet. Would not stay there again, but did not feel deceived. Own fault, thought rating 3 stars, did not check it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kristen D.
Ripon
May 12, 2014

Honeymooners

We made this our first stop after a 15 hour drive. The place was nothing fancy which was fine because we were just sleeping and leaving. The air conditioning was really loud and difficult to sleep through. Also there was an airport close by which made things loud. The room was cheap though, so I guess there's that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louies was right next door and their food was pretty good!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happytraveler1031
Hugo, OK
Mar 30, 2014

good value and comfortable room

Overall it was a great stay and an excellent value. We will definitely be staying here next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Trippin' Jackie
San Luis obispo, CA
Jan 6, 2013

Wonderful and comfortable stay

I booked this hotel because it had a 2 star rating and price but the reviews were much higher (3.6 when I was booking). I agree completely with the reviewers. I reserved a non-smoking room but smelled smoke as soon as I opened the door. I called down to the front desk and the staff member apologized and gave us a new room immediately, saying that a woman had just left from a 2 week stay and must have been smoking. The room was a good size, comfortable, had a recliner in it, and the bathroom was big with a shower/tub that had a shower curtain that arched out to make it feel bigger. I felt safe and comfortable during my stay, though it was only for one night as I passed through on my road trip. It was nice that it was right off the highway and so easy to find! I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again if I was ever in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jaywdenise
colorado
May 25, 2012

nice stay

overall it was a very nice hotel. very clean staff was nice. i did put the do not disturb sign out and they still knocked. Card key for door did not work sometimes but the staff was willing to remedy that problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

visits pops on route 66

Back to menu Return to top