$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 1, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

2 stars
400 S Meridian Ave, Oklahoma City, OK 73108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
56 reviews
Weekend stay

Room was very comfortable and clean. Have stayed in the area and this room was as good or better... See full review

  • JoRo20
  • Jul 21, 2014
Comfortable room with a great breakfast and staff.

This is a very popular hotel seconds from the freeway and close to many restaurants. Our room has... See full review

  • D Dude
  • Jun 14, 2014
Budget-friendly Oklahoma City hotel with free breakfast and a pool

For comfortable, wallet-friendly lodging near the airport and downtown attractions, choose the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City. With brand awards for high-quality accommodation and service, this hotel offers a good night's sleep and at-home amenities travelers can rely on. All guest rooms include cable TV with HBO and free Wi-Fi Internet access. Enjoy the free Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City breakfast, featuring Belgian waffles, eggs and sausage. A fitness center and outdoor swimming pool helps guests stay in shape.

Highlights
  • Free hot breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access
  • Pet-friendly rooms
  • Fitness center and outdoor pool
Rooms

Spacious guest rooms include one king-sized bed and an easy chair, or two double beds and a side table with two chairs. Complimentary bath amenities, alarm clock radios, coffee-makers, free local phone calls and wake-up service provide additional comfort and convenience. Some rooms include microwaves and refrigerators. Don't hesitate to bring the furry family member along - rooms at the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City are pet-friendly.

Features

A full, hot breakfast is free at the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City. Meeting space and a business center mean business travelers don't have to go far to get work done. Whether in town for business or sightseeing, take a break by the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City seasonal outdoor swimming pool. Plenty of free on-site parking includes space for oversized vehicles.


Find additional recreation at Celebration Station, a family-fun hot spot minutes from the Howard Johnson Inn – Oklahoma City. Arcade games, batting cages, bumper boats, go-karts and miniature golf keep everyone smiling. Stay all day and enjoy treats like pizza and funnel cake.

Transportation
  • Adjacent to I-40 
  • I-44 (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Greyhound station (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Will Rogers World Airport (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Amtrak station (4.9 mi/7.9 km)
Attractions
  • State Fair Park (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Oklahoma City University (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Lake Overholser (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Cox Convention Center (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • Oklahoma City Arena (4.8 mi/7.8 km)
  • AT&T Bricktown Ballpark (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Meeting space available
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

35.4618 -97.5998
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Oklahoma State Fair Arena: 2 mi
  • Ford Center: 4.8 mi
  • Chesapeake Energy Arena: 4.8 mi
  • Cox Business Services Convention Center: 4.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cannook
Business
Abilene, TX area
May 12, 2014

Two Star rating about right..

Chose it for the location, staff friendly. For older people hard to manage stairs, no elevator, ice machine on first floor only. Everything old, refrigerator, TV, chairs etc.,towels thin. Toilet had issue with water running, had to manually shut off the water after each flush. In other words the 2 star rating about right.. However carpets nice, beds OK, quiet. Would not stay there again, but did not feel deceived. Own fault, thought rating 3 stars, did not check it out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NEATTO Traveler
Business
Tulsa, Oklahoma
May 6, 2014

HoJo hits it home

Enjoyed my 3 day stay very much. First, hotel is near end of extensive upgrading and interior renovation. Rooms was very nicely appointed if somewhat small by current standards, but at night when all is dark- what difference does that make? Linens OK. Missed a floor rug at the shower one day, but enough towels to step out on. Nice shower- plenty of hot water. NIce comfortable bed and pillows. Only complaint would have been the old style TV and cable selection. But it worked and that was ok. The AC is typical older hotel/motel thru-wall package unit. It cooled and heated well, but all units of this type are a little on the noisy side, but on the plus- I could adjust the temperature by 1 degree increments. Didn't use the mini-fridge for storage or the microwave, but they were provided. Liked the complimentary breakfast. The usual stuff, but plentiful. Nice waffle machine. Staff was very pleasant, what little interaction I had with them. Location cannot be beat, especially if you are going to the OKC Fairgrounds for a 2 day event as i did. All told it was a great value. Didn't offer other discounts but the booking pricing made that almost irrelevant. I was very satisfied and will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happytraveler1031
Business
Hugo, OK
Mar 30, 2014

good value and comfortable room

Overall it was a great stay and an excellent value. We will definitely be staying here next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fathers Matter
Business
Lincoln NE
Mar 16, 2014

Best Bang For Your Buck

Staying at my own expense connected with volunteer training in Bricktown. I am retired (fixed income) and I needed an inexpensive place that met certain standards. I was delighted with the value of the S. Meridian Hojo. Clean, quiet, good location and an above average breakfast. I stayed for 3 days at a price that was equal to one day at a downtown hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Finding my way around a large city on busy Interstate highways bothers me. I could drive downtown via Reno Avenue at a leisurely pace and still get there in about 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bubba bubbles
Business
okc, ok
Mar 13, 2014

moderate getaway

It was okay. The beds were hard and wanted a non smoking room. But didn't get one. Other than that it was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Steak house down the road is really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tishabonds
Business
Oklahoma city ok
Mar 6, 2014

nice hotel

Overall I like the hotel however the room was cold

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dexter1
Business
COS
Jan 22, 2013

One of the worst rooms I have ever stayed in

The only reason I booked this hotel was because of prior strong reviews and price. I booked a non-smoking room. This hotel and room were very run down and dirty. The room smelled like a 1970 bar that had not been cleaned since the 1970's. I had to leave the sliding door open day and night to get some of the smell out. The hotel said they did not have any other rooms to place me in. I left earlier than expected because I could not take it anymore. Lost the price of the room for nights not used.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Road Trippin' Jackie
Business
San Luis obispo, CA
Jan 6, 2013

Wonderful and comfortable stay

I booked this hotel because it had a 2 star rating and price but the reviews were much higher (3.6 when I was booking). I agree completely with the reviewers. I reserved a non-smoking room but smelled smoke as soon as I opened the door. I called down to the front desk and the staff member apologized and gave us a new room immediately, saying that a woman had just left from a 2 week stay and must have been smoking. The room was a good size, comfortable, had a recliner in it, and the bathroom was big with a shower/tub that had a shower curtain that arched out to make it feel bigger. I felt safe and comfortable during my stay, though it was only for one night as I passed through on my road trip. It was nice that it was right off the highway and so easy to find! I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again if I was ever in the area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
No Howard Johnson for me
Business
Lawton OK
Jan 3, 2013

Never again will I ever stay at a Howard Johnson hotel

Carpet was wet apon arrival. The sink in the bathroom ran all day an night. Wireless services was weak . Ask to move to another room was told it was too late because I check in already. Had to put a 50.00 deposit down just because it was New Years. Really ??? Never again will I ever stay at a Howard Johnson hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Oklahoma City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pebbles74
Business
Fairbanks, AK
Nov 24, 2012

Good, clean, quiet

I liked this hotel. It was easy to get to from the airport and close to 40 and 44. It was also easy to get into downtown from the location. It was clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful. The free breakfast is always something I look for. The kids enjoyed the waffle maker. The hotel has a pool and a basketball hoop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

A good location to get around OKC easily and find it again to get home:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top