$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

2 stars
View map of 5906 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
44 reviews
power tour

It was a very nice stay and we met some very nice people including the staff of the hotel. See full review

  • aw cmon
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great room for the price

It was excellent. The bed was more comfy than my bed at home. The shower was great. The only thing... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2011
The roller coasters at Cedar Point are just five miles away from our comfortable hotel, which features comfortable and smart rooms, family rooms and 2 Person Jacuzzi tubs separate from bathtub. Enjoy a large heated outdoor pool, complimentary Continental breakfast, Free HBO and Cable TV, Large Family Rooms, Free High Speed Wireless Internet, and easy access to the Baci NiteClub and Restaurant and Outdoor Pool Cabana Bar right across the street. When you stay with us at the Travelodge Sandusky, you enjoy so many benefits of the Travelodge family of hotels including nonsmoking rooms, Wyndham Rewards points, and so much more. The Travelodge Sandusky stands for quality, value, and fun. As part of a franchise that boasts nearly 500 hotels and over 40,000 rooms, you can count on the Travelodge Sandusky to deliver a first-rate experience for your family vacation in Ohio. There is plenty to do during your Sandusky, Ohio family vacation and the Travelodge Sandusky is centrally located near it all. We are only five miles away from Cedar Point Amusement Park and are also near other Sandusky Ohio attractions like the Put-in-Bay, Kellys Island, Jet Express, Kalahari Resort, Summit Racing and Motor Sports Park. Must be 18 years of age for Rental of a room and no pets allowed.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

39% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sara1234789
Business
Wisconsin
Jul 12, 2012

Worst hotel ever stayed at

This was one of the worst hotels we ever stayed at. The room was dirty, the one person on staff at the hotel at a time was more concerned with their cigarette breaks than the hotel guests. The pool was not clean and was very tiny. I am not sure what pictures were used in their brochure, but they certainly were not taken in the last ten years. We will never stay at another Travelodge again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
serriu
Business
Tonawanda, NY
Jul 29, 2012

For the price you pay, you get that, and maybe a little less.

Four friends and myself stayed at this hotel for 6 days. We primarily took a vacation for cedar point, and the hotel was nearby and reasonably cheap. Checking in was quick and painless, but the room was generally below average. The bathroom's toilet was disasterous, it could hardly flush and easily was plugged (and when we alerted the staff, they nonchalantly shrugged it aside, and once it stopped flushing completely, they handed us a plunger and said "fix it yourself."), the shower was grimy and got dirty quickly (quite alot of soap scum in the corners), and the ventilation was terrible. The room would easily get muggy if one or two people showered, let alone five. The shower water spilled onto the bathroom floor and got extremely messy. So we went to Meijer and bought cheap towels and rugs... The sink was basic, which came with a hairdryer, but nothing else. The sheets provided on the bed were really itchy and generally not very comfortable. Only three pillows were provided for 2 King sized beds and after everyone asked the staff for more pillows, they gave us a hard time. Claiming they didn't have any (in which was false, the cart was loaded with clean ones.) The pillows were extremely flat, and reeked of smoke (and we were also in a nonsmoking room.). Overall, for the entire 6 days, we minimally stayed in the hotel unless we got rained out at Cedar or tried to plan what to do next. As for linen, we were given three towels, and there was five of us, that showered on a daily, if not twice a day-basis, and using the same (horrible) towel was useless. We inquired to the staff again about getting more towels, and a day later they gave us two more and a couple washclothes. My group and I would regularly stalk down a staff member to do a linen exchange, since they weren't giving us new towels. The television provided was average, and also they do NOT have HBO. We inquired about it with the staff and she said she'd call the cable company, this was on day 1. By day six, we still didn't have HBO. Go figure. The "pool" that they had, was a 5-foot in-ground pool, which was filthy. There were wrappers and unquestionable items in the pool that were never removed. The filter system was very weak and didn't really do much for the pool. The "continental breakfast" was only served from 6am-9am, and consisted of english muffins and a couple pastries, and I certainly could never manage to wake up early enough, besides the first day and the breakfast was really disheartening. Sonic was a much more appreciated choice the entire time. All in all, for the price you pay; for a 2-3 person stay, I'm sure it'll be more comfortable, and hopefully will have better luck with the rooms and/or staff. But in terms of customer satisfaction, the staff should adequately measure their traffic flow of customers to understand and to plan the amount of linens/sheets to disperse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jata
Business
Covington, Ky
Aug 20, 2012

Dirty Room

We were extremely disappointed in this hotel. It was loud throughout the night, couldn't fall asleep until after 2 am. Floor, walls and blankets were dirty and stained. I have already emailed the hotel about this as well. I would really like a refund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jul 23, 2009

Never again!

I was very disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. I found a dirty spoon near the table,a dirty pillow case and a dirty washcloth in the shower. The second day we were there nothing was wiped off, crumbs on the table, glasses were not replaced with new, clean ones. I could hear the people above us talking, showereing, flushing the toilet and others getting ice. The breakfast ran out and we were left with a half glass of juice and 1 english muffin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not a great distance to travel from Cedar Point, near some good restaurants and shopping.

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacation Destroyed
Business
Toronto, OH.
Aug 15, 2010

The Smelliest Place On Earth

When we opened the door we where hit by the worst smell that you can imagine. We purchased some air fresheners and still could not take it. We where supposed to stay two nights but had to cancel the last night. They had mold on the walls.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not stay at this Hotel.

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elkhart, IN
Jul 25, 2008

very dirty

On the first night I had to change rooms 3 times. There was blood on the air conditioner unit, there was mold on the carpet, and bugs in my bed. Yes seriously bugs in the bed!!! The next room I was sent to had an exposed , half broken of electrical outlet and the mattress were extremely old and uncomfortable. When I spoke to the manager she stated that they get the bugs d/t being close to the water - but usually they find them on the window seal! She offered various other excuses for the other issues. However she refunded my room fee of 1 night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

cedar point

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Aug 16, 2009

Great Location but....

The room smelled very damp and musty. It was pretty shabby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ride Warrior
Business
Elkhart, Indiana
Aug 17, 2010

Before you make that reservation...

The carpet, shower and bathroom floor had not been cleaned. Also, the walls were so thin we could almost watch the couple in the room next to us having sex. No more than 10 miles from Cedar Point but, this one's a flophouse. Trust me on this one, I live in Elkhart, Indiana!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nook
Business
mishawaka, in.
Jun 30, 2010

no pool. no restaurant as said.

not what i expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Jul 27, 2008

Save Your Money

Our stay at the travelodge was very disapointing. The beds were not made. The towels felt like sand paper. The rooms stunk like sewer and there was mold growing on the ceiling. For the money I spent for two rooms here, I feel like I should get my money back. The stay here was just terrible!! Don't do it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Back to menu Return to top