$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

2 stars
5906 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
73 reviews
power tour

It was a very nice stay and we met some very nice people including the staff of the hotel. See full review

  • aw cmon
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great room for the price

It was excellent. The bed was more comfy than my bed at home. The shower was great. The only thing... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2011
Sandusky hotel with swimming pool, free breakfast and free Wi-Fi
Free continental breakfast starts the day right at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky. Guests enjoy standard and family-size rooms with free local and long-distance calls, free Wi-Fi access, and cable TV with HBO and ESPN. Selected rooms also include a two-person Jacuzzi. The hotel also features a heated outdoor swimming pool. Located less than 15 minutes by car from Castaway Bay and Cedar Point Amusement Park, Travelodge Lake Erie offers a convenient, budget-friendly home base for Sandusky getaways.
Highlights
  • Save on dining with Travelodge Lake Erie's free continental breakfast served daily
  • Book a room with a two-person Jacuzzi or a family-size room for extra space
  • Relax at the hotel's heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Take a drive to Cedar Point Amusement Park and Castaway Bay
Location
Comfort Inn Sandusky is just off Highway 2 in the Sandusky South area, approximately 15 minutes from Castaway Bay and Cedar Point Amusement Park. Two shopping centers and a golf course are nearby.
Rooms
Accommodations at Travelodge Lake Erie go beyond the basics with 92 standard and family-size rooms. All include free Wi-Fi access, free local and long-distance calls, air conditioning, cable TV with HBO and ESPN, dataport, free newspaper and hair dryer. Selected rooms also feature a two-person Jacuzzi tub. Non-smoking, connecting and wheelchair-accessible rooms are also available. Guests also receive free continental breakfast.
Features
Free continental breakfast is available daily for all guests at Travelodge Lake Erie. For additional dining, Baci restaurant is just across the street at Comfort Inn. In the surrounding area, restaurants include Olive Garden, Outback Steakhouse, Ruby Tuesday and Applebee's. Back at the Travelodge, guests enjoy free parking plus ample space for recreational vehicles.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (49.2 mi/79.3 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (72.8 mi/117 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.6 mi/36.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (60.9 mi/97.9 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (68.3 mi/110 km)
Policies and fees
  • Must be 18 years of age for rental of a room. 
  • No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
TV remote control
Cribs available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

41.398 -82.6537
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.1

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Jul 23, 2009

Never again!

I was very disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. I found a dirty spoon near the table,a dirty pillow case and a dirty washcloth in the shower. The second day we were there nothing was wiped off, crumbs on the table, glasses were not replaced with new, clean ones. I could hear the people above us talking, showereing, flushing the toilet and others getting ice. The breakfast ran out and we were left with a half glass of juice and 1 english muffin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not a great distance to travel from Cedar Point, near some good restaurants and shopping.

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Annabell
Chicago
Jul 17, 2009

Dirty and musty

I chose this hotel because I wasn't looking for much besides a place to sleep after a long drive and a day in the park, but even still I was terribly disappointed. The common areas of the hotel were very dirty and rundown looking. The room had two beds that were very uncomfortable, the linen smelled musty like it hadn't been washed and dried properly and the towels were like drying off with sandpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guyinillinois
Sesser, Illinois
Jul 8, 2009

Adequate for cheap Motel

This Motel is adequate. It is nothing special and attracts the clientele that you would expect at the lower end of the price scale. My biggest complaint was that the internet signal was so weak in my room that I could not go online. We had canceled the first hotel that we had booked and paid a $25 fee because they did not have internet access and booked at the Travelodge so we would have internet access and then couldn't get internet so that was a BIG problem. Getting back late in the evening two nights in a row from Cedar Point we couldn't find parking and worried that our car would be broken into. I wouldn't be concerned about my vehicle if not for the low class clientele that the hotel attracts. There are MANY dive hotels right by Cedar Point that are better if you are going to Sandusky to visit the theme park. The rooms were very clean, I did appreciate that and left the housekeepers a tip as everyone should but few do. If you have the means I would recommend staying at one of the resorts at Cedar Point and avoiding the dive hotels. We will be staying at the Breakers next time we go to Cedar Point. This hotel is clean but trashy in so many ways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gail on a budget
Detroit, Mi.
Jul 8, 2009

The price was right

Cedar point was our destination. For the price and the location I thought the motel was good. It was quiet, clean and friendly. f

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
guyinillinois
Sesser, Illinois
Jul 8, 2009

Adequate for cheap Motel

This Motel is adequate. It is nothing special and attracts the clientele that you would expect at the lower end of the price scale. My biggest complaint was that the internet signal was so weak in my room that I could not go online. We had canceled the first hotel that we had booked and paid a $25 fee because they did not have internet access and booked at the Travelodge so we would have internet access and then couldn't get internet so that was a BIG problem. Getting back late in the evening two nights in a row from Cedar Point we couldn't find parking and worried that our car would be broken into. I wouldn't be concerned about my vehicle if not for the low class clientele that the hotel attracts. There are MANY dive hotels right by Cedar Point that are better if you are going to Sandusky to visit the theme park. The rooms were very clean, I did appreciate that and left the housekeepers a tip as everyone should but few do. If you have the means I would recommend staying at one of the resorts at Cedar Point and avoiding the dive hotels. We will be staying at the Breakers next time we go to Cedar Point. This hotel is clean but trashy in so many ways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gail on a budget
Detroit, Mi.
Jul 8, 2009

The price was right

Cedar point was our destination. For the price and the location I thought the motel was good. It was quiet, clean and friendly. f

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 7, 2009

Be Careful!

The hotel in general is not clean, no coffee machines in the rooms, coffee in a small lobby available only from 6-9 am. Some staff not very helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 7, 2009

Be Careful!

The hotel in general is not clean, no coffee machines in the rooms, coffee in a small lobby available only from 6-9 am. Some staff not very helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Jul 6, 2009

It was a perfect stay, and very close!

the hotel was very easy to find from cedar point, it's on the main road. Travelodge is very affordable and comfortable, too. Even after the continental breakfast was over, the staff still served us! It's a great, friendly place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

cedar point is on the main strip! it's very close! less than one mile i'd say.

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Jul 6, 2009

It was a perfect stay, and very close!

the hotel was very easy to find from cedar point, it's on the main road. Travelodge is very affordable and comfortable, too. Even after the continental breakfast was over, the staff still served us! It's a great, friendly place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

cedar point is on the main strip! it's very close! less than one mile i'd say.

Back to menu Return to top