$40 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

2 stars
View map of 5906 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
44 reviews
power tour

It was a very nice stay and we met some very nice people including the staff of the hotel. See full review

  • aw cmon
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great room for the price

It was excellent. The bed was more comfy than my bed at home. The shower was great. The only thing... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2011
The roller coasters at Cedar Point are just five miles away from our comfortable hotel, which features comfortable and smart rooms, family rooms and 2 Person Jacuzzi tubs separate from bathtub. Enjoy a large heated outdoor pool, complimentary Continental breakfast, Free HBO and Cable TV, Large Family Rooms, Free High Speed Wireless Internet, and easy access to the Baci NiteClub and Restaurant and Outdoor Pool Cabana Bar right across the street. When you stay with us at the Travelodge Sandusky, you enjoy so many benefits of the Travelodge family of hotels including nonsmoking rooms, Wyndham Rewards points, and so much more. The Travelodge Sandusky stands for quality, value, and fun. As part of a franchise that boasts nearly 500 hotels and over 40,000 rooms, you can count on the Travelodge Sandusky to deliver a first-rate experience for your family vacation in Ohio. There is plenty to do during your Sandusky, Ohio family vacation and the Travelodge Sandusky is centrally located near it all. We are only five miles away from Cedar Point Amusement Park and are also near other Sandusky Ohio attractions like the Put-in-Bay, Kellys Island, Jet Express, Kalahari Resort, Summit Racing and Motor Sports Park. Must be 18 years of age for Rental of a room and no pets allowed.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

39% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Painesville, OH
Jul 31, 2008

Family friendly

Travelodge in Sandusky was very comfortable, the room was very clean with table and chairs to sit down. The location was close to Cedar point and Put In Bay area. Our kids liked outdoor heated pool to swim at night. It was well maintained and the water was very clean. One drawback was there was no hallway and you only access to your room though outside door but it's good for your budget. We might come back here to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loljoeWhiskeyTangoFoxtrot
Business
Chicago
Aug 21, 2014

Great location

I was staying in the hotel during my visit to Cedar Point amusement park. The hotel was in a good location, only 15 minutes away, and was by far much cheaper than the other hotels in the area. It was pricey for what it was, but it did have prime location. The breakfast was subpar, but everything else was average. The room had no mini-fridge, which was kind of a drag, but still not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A fireworks shop just across the street

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sleepy and upset
Business
Sandusky
Aug 11, 2014

security was an issue

Friday night had to call desk twice to get the noise under control. I did not get to sleep until 4:30 am Saturday. Finally when the police came at 4 am did the party stop. It should have been quiet and the front desk did not handle the situation. Saturday night was peaceful. We were exhausted Saturday. Worst experience ever at a hotel that Friday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Farmer Dan
Business
St Paris, Ohio
Aug 5, 2014

Not worth the money

When I first rolled up my jaw dropped. This place looked like low income housing. Our room stunk of a moldy musty smell and looked aged. The bathroom was the only exception being that it was very clean. The safe didn't work and the tv must have been 20 years old. It wasn't worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weekend Traveler1
Business
Sandusky, Ohio
Jul 20, 2014

Nice staff

Staff were very friendly but the rooms did not seem very clean. Spider webs on the lights and in the shower. Everything was somewhat old and run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aw cmon
Business
Delta, ohio
Jun 16, 2014

power tour

It was a very nice stay and we met some very nice people including the staff of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cedar Point enthusiast
Business
Carbondale, IL
Aug 16, 2013

Cedar Point on a budget

As a college student, budget travel is important, which is what we got out of this hotel. It's a bit of a drive from the park (15 minutes) but in our case, the savings were worth the drive. The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired...the juice machine was broken and there were only english muffins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
msbrinksa
Business
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvanie
Aug 22, 2012

Um just a little scary

The room had a dead phone. Thank God we had our cell phones. Until I learned the number at the front desk had to go to the desk for towels, blankets,etc. The tub was not cleaned out on day 2 and we left the room b4 11am. Asked for a roll away bed for day 2 not knowing until it was paid for they would not bring the bed. All they had to do was tell me. The pool was dirty from the rain so the kids could not go swimming. Their were no bulbs in the lamps and the floor was filthy and not vacuumed. Next time I would stay at the comfort Inn across the street. The location was great. Near Kalahari and Cedar Point. The staff was outstanding considering the handicaps that seemed to be no fault of their own. Only reason to go to Cedar Point and the Water Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring your own if you have more than 2 kids

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jata
Business
Covington, Ky
Aug 20, 2012

Dirty Room

We were extremely disappointed in this hotel. It was loud throughout the night, couldn't fall asleep until after 2 am. Floor, walls and blankets were dirty and stained. I have already emailed the hotel about this as well. I would really like a refund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
serriu
Business
Tonawanda, NY
Jul 29, 2012

For the price you pay, you get that, and maybe a little less.

Four friends and myself stayed at this hotel for 6 days. We primarily took a vacation for cedar point, and the hotel was nearby and reasonably cheap. Checking in was quick and painless, but the room was generally below average. The bathroom's toilet was disasterous, it could hardly flush and easily was plugged (and when we alerted the staff, they nonchalantly shrugged it aside, and once it stopped flushing completely, they handed us a plunger and said "fix it yourself."), the shower was grimy and got dirty quickly (quite alot of soap scum in the corners), and the ventilation was terrible. The room would easily get muggy if one or two people showered, let alone five. The shower water spilled onto the bathroom floor and got extremely messy. So we went to Meijer and bought cheap towels and rugs... The sink was basic, which came with a hairdryer, but nothing else. The sheets provided on the bed were really itchy and generally not very comfortable. Only three pillows were provided for 2 King sized beds and after everyone asked the staff for more pillows, they gave us a hard time. Claiming they didn't have any (in which was false, the cart was loaded with clean ones.) The pillows were extremely flat, and reeked of smoke (and we were also in a nonsmoking room.). Overall, for the entire 6 days, we minimally stayed in the hotel unless we got rained out at Cedar or tried to plan what to do next. As for linen, we were given three towels, and there was five of us, that showered on a daily, if not twice a day-basis, and using the same (horrible) towel was useless. We inquired to the staff again about getting more towels, and a day later they gave us two more and a couple washclothes. My group and I would regularly stalk down a staff member to do a linen exchange, since they weren't giving us new towels. The television provided was average, and also they do NOT have HBO. We inquired about it with the staff and she said she'd call the cable company, this was on day 1. By day six, we still didn't have HBO. Go figure. The "pool" that they had, was a 5-foot in-ground pool, which was filthy. There were wrappers and unquestionable items in the pool that were never removed. The filter system was very weak and didn't really do much for the pool. The "continental breakfast" was only served from 6am-9am, and consisted of english muffins and a couple pastries, and I certainly could never manage to wake up early enough, besides the first day and the breakfast was really disheartening. Sonic was a much more appreciated choice the entire time. All in all, for the price you pay; for a 2-3 person stay, I'm sure it'll be more comfortable, and hopefully will have better luck with the rooms and/or staff. But in terms of customer satisfaction, the staff should adequately measure their traffic flow of customers to understand and to plan the amount of linens/sheets to disperse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grandmas trip with kids
Business
Ferndale, Michigan
Jul 28, 2012

Our Cedar Point Trip

When we arrived we were greeted promptely by the girl at the front desk. She was friendly and helpful. We appreciated that they put us in connecting rooms. We even had a choice if we wanted to be up stairs or ground floor. Rooms were clean and is a nice place to stay just for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top