$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

2 stars
5906 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
46 reviews
power tour

It was a very nice stay and we met some very nice people including the staff of the hotel. See full review

  • aw cmon
  • Jun 16, 2014
Great room for the price

It was excellent. The bed was more comfy than my bed at home. The shower was great. The only thing... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Aug 29, 2011
Sandusky hotel with swimming pool, free breakfast and free Wi-Fi
Free continental breakfast starts the day right at Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky. Guests enjoy standard and family-size rooms with free local and long-distance calls, free Wi-Fi access, and cable TV with HBO and ESPN. Selected rooms also include a two-person Jacuzzi. The hotel also features a heated outdoor swimming pool. Located less than 15 minutes by car from Castaway Bay and Cedar Point Amusement Park, Travelodge Lake Erie offers a convenient, budget-friendly home base for Sandusky getaways.
Highlights
  • Save on dining with Travelodge Lake Erie's free continental breakfast served daily
  • Book a room with a two-person Jacuzzi or a family-size room for extra space
  • Relax at the hotel's heated outdoor swimming pool
  • Take a drive to Cedar Point Amusement Park and Castaway Bay
Location
Comfort Inn Sandusky is just off Highway 2 in the Sandusky South area, approximately 15 minutes from Castaway Bay and Cedar Point Amusement Park. Two shopping centers and a golf course are nearby.
Rooms
Accommodations at Travelodge Lake Erie go beyond the basics with 92 standard and family-size rooms. All include free Wi-Fi access, free local and long-distance calls, air conditioning, cable TV with HBO and ESPN, dataport, free newspaper and hair dryer. Selected rooms also feature a two-person Jacuzzi tub. Non-smoking, connecting and wheelchair-accessible rooms are also available. Guests also receive free continental breakfast.
Features
Free continental breakfast is available daily for all guests at Travelodge Lake Erie. For additional dining, Baci restaurant is just across the street at Comfort Inn. In the surrounding area, restaurants include Olive Garden, Outback Steakhouse, Ruby Tuesday and Applebee's. Back at the Travelodge, guests enjoy free parking plus ample space for recreational vehicles.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (49.2 mi/79.3 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (72.8 mi/117 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (5.2 mi/8.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (7.9 mi/12.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.6 mi/36.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (60.9 mi/97.9 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (68.3 mi/110 km)
Policies and fees
  • Must be 18 years of age for rental of a room. 
  • No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.398 -82.6537
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
TV remote control
Cribs available

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3

37% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vernon, MI, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great room for the price

It was excellent. The bed was more comfy than my bed at home. The shower was great. The only thing I would suggest would be shower liners. Nothing major, it would just help the water soaking through the curtain. Other than that the room was perfect!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loljoeWhiskeyTangoFoxtrot
Chicago
Aug 21, 2014

Great location

I was staying in the hotel during my visit to Cedar Point amusement park. The hotel was in a good location, only 15 minutes away, and was by far much cheaper than the other hotels in the area. It was pricey for what it was, but it did have prime location. The breakfast was subpar, but everything else was average. The room had no mini-fridge, which was kind of a drag, but still not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A fireworks shop just across the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sleepy and upset
Sandusky
Aug 11, 2014

security was an issue

Friday night had to call desk twice to get the noise under control. I did not get to sleep until 4:30 am Saturday. Finally when the police came at 4 am did the party stop. It should have been quiet and the front desk did not handle the situation. Saturday night was peaceful. We were exhausted Saturday. Worst experience ever at a hotel that Friday night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Farmer Dan
St Paris, Ohio
Aug 5, 2014

Not worth the money

When I first rolled up my jaw dropped. This place looked like low income housing. Our room stunk of a moldy musty smell and looked aged. The bathroom was the only exception being that it was very clean. The safe didn't work and the tv must have been 20 years old. It wasn't worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weekend Traveler1
Sandusky, Ohio
Jul 20, 2014

Nice staff

Staff were very friendly but the rooms did not seem very clean. Spider webs on the lights and in the shower. Everything was somewhat old and run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aw cmon
Delta, ohio
Jun 16, 2014

power tour

It was a very nice stay and we met some very nice people including the staff of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cedar Point enthusiast
Carbondale, IL
Aug 16, 2013

Cedar Point on a budget

As a college student, budget travel is important, which is what we got out of this hotel. It's a bit of a drive from the park (15 minutes) but in our case, the savings were worth the drive. The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired...the juice machine was broken and there were only english muffins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
msbrinksa
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvanie
Aug 22, 2012

Um just a little scary

The room had a dead phone. Thank God we had our cell phones. Until I learned the number at the front desk had to go to the desk for towels, blankets,etc. The tub was not cleaned out on day 2 and we left the room b4 11am. Asked for a roll away bed for day 2 not knowing until it was paid for they would not bring the bed. All they had to do was tell me. The pool was dirty from the rain so the kids could not go swimming. Their were no bulbs in the lamps and the floor was filthy and not vacuumed. Next time I would stay at the comfort Inn across the street. The location was great. Near Kalahari and Cedar Point. The staff was outstanding considering the handicaps that seemed to be no fault of their own. Only reason to go to Cedar Point and the Water Park

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring your own if you have more than 2 kids

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jata
Covington, Ky
Aug 20, 2012

Dirty Room

We were extremely disappointed in this hotel. It was loud throughout the night, couldn't fall asleep until after 2 am. Floor, walls and blankets were dirty and stained. I have already emailed the hotel about this as well. I would really like a refund

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
serriu
Tonawanda, NY
Jul 29, 2012

For the price you pay, you get that, and maybe a little less.

Four friends and myself stayed at this hotel for 6 days. We primarily took a vacation for cedar point, and the hotel was nearby and reasonably cheap. Checking in was quick and painless, but the room was generally below average. The bathroom's toilet was disasterous, it could hardly flush and easily was plugged (and when we alerted the staff, they nonchalantly shrugged it aside, and once it stopped flushing completely, they handed us a plunger and said "fix it yourself."), the shower was grimy and got dirty quickly (quite alot of soap scum in the corners), and the ventilation was terrible. The room would easily get muggy if one or two people showered, let alone five. The shower water spilled onto the bathroom floor and got extremely messy. So we went to Meijer and bought cheap towels and rugs... The sink was basic, which came with a hairdryer, but nothing else. The sheets provided on the bed were really itchy and generally not very comfortable. Only three pillows were provided for 2 King sized beds and after everyone asked the staff for more pillows, they gave us a hard time. Claiming they didn't have any (in which was false, the cart was loaded with clean ones.) The pillows were extremely flat, and reeked of smoke (and we were also in a nonsmoking room.). Overall, for the entire 6 days, we minimally stayed in the hotel unless we got rained out at Cedar or tried to plan what to do next. As for linen, we were given three towels, and there was five of us, that showered on a daily, if not twice a day-basis, and using the same (horrible) towel was useless. We inquired to the staff again about getting more towels, and a day later they gave us two more and a couple washclothes. My group and I would regularly stalk down a staff member to do a linen exchange, since they weren't giving us new towels. The television provided was average, and also they do NOT have HBO. We inquired about it with the staff and she said she'd call the cable company, this was on day 1. By day six, we still didn't have HBO. Go figure. The "pool" that they had, was a 5-foot in-ground pool, which was filthy. There were wrappers and unquestionable items in the pool that were never removed. The filter system was very weak and didn't really do much for the pool. The "continental breakfast" was only served from 6am-9am, and consisted of english muffins and a couple pastries, and I certainly could never manage to wake up early enough, besides the first day and the breakfast was really disheartening. Sonic was a much more appreciated choice the entire time. All in all, for the price you pay; for a 2-3 person stay, I'm sure it'll be more comfortable, and hopefully will have better luck with the rooms and/or staff. But in terms of customer satisfaction, the staff should adequately measure their traffic flow of customers to understand and to plan the amount of linens/sheets to disperse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Lake Erie Sandusky

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grandmas trip with kids
Ferndale, Michigan
Jul 28, 2012

Our Cedar Point Trip

When we arrived we were greeted promptely by the girl at the front desk. She was friendly and helpful. We appreciated that they put us in connecting rooms. We even had a choice if we wanted to be up stairs or ground floor. Rooms were clean and is a nice place to stay just for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search