$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

South Shore Inn

2 stars
View map of 2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
50 reviews
Cedar Point Trip

Outdated but still meets the description of the Hotel. See full review

  • Peanut1111111111111111111
  • Oct 23, 2014
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Property features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Nearby attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 50
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A Lewis
Business
Royal Oak, MI
May 27, 2013

Not for Families

The hotel was clean, good location. The staff did not show record of us having paid but were luckily trusting about it (I had my e-mail confirmation). However it was a party hotel. We got ZERO sleep, it made for a horrible stay. I called and complained but nothing was done. Seriously screaming loud teenager partying all night both nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mo Hockey Mom
Business
OFallon Missouri
Jul 11, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE

Where to start. Chose this hotel after reading reviews and ratings. It is a local-run old Motel -- but what a disappointment. We moved rooms 3 times in the first 30 minutes; first off, the air was not on in any of the rooms when we arrived. first room had ants in the bathroom, so we moved to another room -- which wasn't great, but would have dealt with it except WiFi didn't work back that far from the front desk. 3rd room was 2nd floor off the hotel lobby. Hot in the lobby. You have to climb stairs anywhere in the motel if you are not 1st floor -- no elevators. That room was hot also, and had peeling wall paper. Nothing great at all. The continental breakfast was a joke -- raisin-bran type and some other offbrand type in big plastic tubs, a few bagels, loafs of bread to make your toast and a few donuts here and there. they didn't even have cream cheese. we had to eat at McDonalds both days. I don't consider myself to be that particular -- just a nice clean room, with some amenities and free WiFi that works in the place, no bugs and no peeling wall paper and I was not happy moving 3 times -- two up stairs and one down with a ton of luggage. The only 1/2 way decent things about this hotel are: the outside pool/hot tub that is open til midnight -- park closes between 10 and 11 and the location is very close to Cedar Point. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Really hard to find a decent hotel that is not really expensive. Appears to be more motels than hotels. They all want to charge a high price near Cedar Point. I was not about to spend $150-$300 per night for Breakers, although it is probably the nicest place to stay.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Would not stay again
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 31, 2012

Deceiving

The pictures were deceiving. The room was not the cleanest. There was hair on the bed, beer bottle caps on the floor, and hair all on the bathroom floor. The toilet ran and ran, you had to jiggle the handle several times to make it stop. There was a loud noise coming from inside the wall, it kept going all night, so we didn't get much sleep. The pool was clean, but the slides were way smaller then the picture looked. The breakfast was a joke, 2 waffle irons for how many people? I waited in line longer to make waffles then I did for the rides at Cedar Point. And if you didn't want to wait 1/2 hr to make your self a waffle you had the choice of toast, Raisin Bran, or plain Cheerios. There was no lounge like the website said. I would have to say I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Allwolff
Business
Lima, Ohio
Aug 8, 2010

Just ok

Rooms were extremely small. Continental breakfast only had toast, cereal and waffles. Staff was friendly. Don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Thirsty Pony has lots of things to do inside. Bowling, lazer tag, keno, horse betting, bar and restaurant.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Johns, MI
Aug 7, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel was okay, they need to get an exterminator to take care of the bug issue (ANTS). They were in other rooms as well. We enjoyed the pool. The advertisement of a restaurant in the hotel room was something that upset me. When we went down there to go there was no restaurant anymore. Need to take that out of the book in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
She Diva
Business
Chicago
Jul 18, 2012

Affordable and convienient

Looks like they are remodeling, room by room. Great location to the park, wineries and put in bay. Staff was pleasant. Comfy and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Favorite Uncle
Business
Central Ohio
Aug 29, 2012

Trip with the nephew

The hotel was comfortable, clean and within a short drive to Cedar Point. The pool was nice but pool furniture was in disrepair and needed replaced. Close to many restaurants and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joy of Atlanta
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 29, 2009

Clean & Close To Cedar Point

After reading the reviews for most of the hotels in the Sandusky area, I was reluctant to stay at one of them. However, overall I was satisfied with my stay at South Shore inn. This hotel was extremely close to Cedar Point park, and was clean. Unlike most of the reviews for other hotels, our room did NOT have a musty/mildew smell in it, nor did it smell like smoke. The only complaint that I have is that the room itself and the bathroom were really small. There was not a lot if space once we brought our luggage in, but it worked just fine since we spent most of the day in the park. Also, the walls were REALLY thin. I could hear people walking and talking (and any other noise) coming from the hallway. We could also hear EVERYTHING from the bathroom in our room (every word, every splash)! Overall, I was pleased with my stay. A pleasant surprise was the doughnut/cereal/fruit/coffee breakfast that was provided each morning. I was not expecting that, and the doughnuts were pretty tasty. I will definitely stay here again when my family travels to Sandusky again (unless I plan to pay mega bucks for one of the "park resorts").

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mommyv
Business
West Virginia
Aug 9, 2010

Reasonable

The staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean but in need of some updating (peeling wall paper)No elevator. The pool water was borderline cold. I have stayed at better for less. The tv remote didn't work and the room a/c didn't cool well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Cedar Point.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, Ky
Aug 7, 2010

Clean, but not worth the money

Hotel was close to Cedar Point. Room was clean. Nothing special about hotel. Contential breakfast was coffee, OJ, cheerios, frosted flakes, toast and waffles. Probably could have paid less staying at another hotel. ($99/night)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top