South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Cedar Point Trip

Outdated but still meets the description of the Hotel. See full review

  • Peanut1111111111111111111
  • Oct 23, 2014
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
The South Shore Inn is a family friendly hotel conveniently located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement Park and downtown Sandusky. This Sandusky hotel is committed to excellent customer satisfaction. Our Sandusky Hotel offers Affordable Rooms Family Suites with adjoining rooms Free WiFi Outdoor Swimming Pool with Slide Shaded Picnic area Outdoor Jacuzzi Ample Parking Business Center The South Shore Inn offers a wide variety of rooms from a standard room for the single traveler to our large two and threeroom family friendly suites...

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ntl1784
Business
Erie, PA
Sep 2, 2014

convenient location

The room was sufficient for a 1 night stay. Could use some updating. No breakfast, no fridge in the room, shower head only came up to my chin and I'm only 6 feet tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Champaign taste beer budg
Business
Winchester, Ohio
Aug 27, 2012

Much better than expected!

We stayed in an expensive resort hotel close to this one the first night of our stay. It was much higher in price since it had a waterpark and various other ammenities that we didn't use. South Shore Inn isn't fancy on the outside (most of the motels in this area aren't and this one was actually better looking outside than most if not all in the same area). But the real surprise was inside! The room had more than advertised online... A large flat screen tv, a mini fridge, microwave (none of this was mentioned so a pleasant surprise!). The outdoor pool with 2 water slides was much smaller than it looked in the photos and was closed off for a good portion of our stay but it was clean and the jacuzzi was open the entire time although we had so many activities planned we didn't use it anyway. The hotel advertises a game room for the kids which was no longer there... just an empty room where it used to be. It didn't break my heart though since I'd spent a lot of money on activities we don't normally do like parasailing and island tours, ferry rides out there, Cedar Point, etc... so my 14 yr old granddaughter could take a break from an arcade. haha... The beds were extremely comfortable and the microsuede bedspreads were very nice and soft (not pictured on the websites). They also had extra nice, fluffy, comfortable pillows and give you extras. The room was actually much nicer than the much higher priced resort hotel we stayed in the night before. Maid service was excellent. it also included a free continental breakfast and a make-your-own waffle station which was not advertised. If you have a lot of activities planned and just want a nice, clean, comfortable room to come back to at the end of the day this inn is great! It's very close to restaurants and Cedar Point. For what we had planned, It was a much better deal than the overpriced resort hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TGI Friday's is a short walk or drive and we went there a few times during our 4 day stay. The food was good each time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, Pa
Aug 11, 2009

Great location for the price. Very clean

Didn't arrive till 10PM but was very suprised and pleased with the hotel. It was very clean. Continential breakfast was a little slim pickins but still good. Would definetly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ParTee2011
Business
Saginaw, MI
Aug 22, 2011

Very comfortable

Room was clean, shower hot, location excellent. Breakfast could be a little more to choose from, the waffles were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckeye Chuck
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Perfect place when going to the Point

I normally don't write reviews but felt I needed to after reading some other negative reviews on this hotel. My family and I stayed here after spending all day at the Point. The staff was very friendly and check in was quick. The room reminded us of a Vegas room. A little small, but very clean and nice after a long day. The rooms were quiet even though the property was full and many guests were still up and moving around. The breakfast was toast, cereal, fresh cooked waffles, juice, milk coffee & tea. Once again good, simple breakfast to get on the road home. Best of all no bed bug bites on any of us! Many other name brand hotels in the area had reports and reviews of bed bugs this summer. There is not a lot of Hotel choices close to the Park and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Thai restraurant in the Lobby which looked and smelled good. We thought about trying it but knew our 3 & 6 year olds wouldn't eat there. Just West of the hotel is a Fridays and West of that is a main strip that has all the chain casual dining and fast food. We ate an early lunch before entering the Point and a late dinner when we came out. Best part is we enjoyed reduced lines during the lunch and dinner times while most everyone else was paying $50 for lousy food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thornton Gal
Business
Thornton, IL
Aug 18, 2011

Comfortable room, Great adjoining restaurant

We booked our hotel online with a late arrival request, however, we arrived early. Staff was able to accommodate and find us an available room. Room was clean. The hallway and stairway carpets do need to be cleaned as well as the fabric chairs in adjoining restaurant. The food at the Thai restaurant in the hotel was very good. It was quiet and relaxing. It was nice to have an adult type restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point is just down the street from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GR8Ful 5
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 24, 2010

Great Place for the family!

We drove into Sandusky from Chicago. We arrived a day early and needed a place to stay. Loved the location of the hotel and pool with slides was great for the kids! My only complaint, and I know it sounds goofy, is that there were no fitted sheets on the beds. I get 'creeped' out by sleeping on bare mattresses and found it hard to not move without moving the sheet on the top. Other than that, the place was clean and family friendly. Would go again, but bring my own sheet! Ha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sharpsville, PA
Aug 3, 2010

Nice Weekend

We stayed at the hotel because we were going to cedar point for the weekend. The room was great and the air was on before we got into room so it was nice and cool. The only thing I didn't like was the vent was a little noisy in the bathroom when you turned the light on. Other than that it was a quiet area and a nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RossLex
Business
London, ON
Jun 26, 2009

Good place to crash after Cedar Point

Just used the hotel as a place to crash after a full day at Cedar Point so I didn't have to drive back to Ontario while exhausted. It was a really hot day and the pool was open until midnight, so we even had a quick swim to cool off. The only minor cause for concern was that the hotel didn't receive the reservation from Orbitz. But they still put us up for the night at no extra cost. Just not sure what would have happened if it was a busier time and they rented the room out to someone else. Don't know who was at fault here, Orbitz or South Shore Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only reason to stay here is Cedar Point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clinton Twp., MI
Aug 22, 2009

Perfect place to crash after Cedar Point

This definitely isn't a fancy hotel, but it is a very affordable, clean, and convenient place if you are spending the day at Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top