$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
47 reviews
Cedar Point Trip

Outdated but still meets the description of the Hotel. See full review

  • Peanut1111111111111111111
  • Oct 23, 2014
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time at Cedar Point
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jul 25, 2010

Good value and friendly service.

Great Location and very close to Cedar Point. Staff was friendly and gave us great information on where to eat breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wifety
Business
Detroit, Mi
Aug 9, 2009

decent for the money

The Inn was really close to Cedar Point, that was great. We booked for 4 people but the room was set up for 2. Two glasses, 2 towels, and 2 very small beds. They were comfortable however. The contenental breakfast was a joke. Two kinds of adult cereal, tea, coffee, OJ, apples and donuts, thats it. Very small, needed more variety. Overall the trip was enjoyable, and for the price and location the room was o.k.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ithaca ny
Jul 22, 2010

good value

The room was comfortable. Pool was great, and open 'til midnite. The continental breakfast was just plain sparse: no eggs, fruit or meat. just waffles, two cereals and toast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

there are some great family style restaurants (Berardi's) for local lake seafood close by. i generally stay away from the chain restaurants in favor of the local fare, especially when it comes to seafood (lakefood).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crestline, Ohio
Jun 20, 2011

South Shore Inn....

My boyfriend and I spent the night just to get away. Definitely worth the money I paid. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and not over crowded. The room was clean and well stocked with towels. We will definitely use this hotel again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is about a block from the Cedar Point Causeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeterminedRider
Business
East Lansing, MI
Nov 2, 2009

Overall Great Experience

My friend and I were going to Cedar Point for the Oct. 31 Halloweekend fun. We stopped to the hotel, prior to heading to the park, to check things out. We were the only ones checking in at that time so things moved quickly, especially having prepaid [...]. Once we got our key, unfortunately we couldn't get into our room because of a battery issue with the electronic lock, but the staff was great about quickly responding to the situation and we were in our room within minutes. Once in the room, the first thing we did was check the bed. The mattresses looked newer, clean and comfortable; there were plenty of pillows too. The only disappointing thing was that the bed was not outfitted with fitted sheets, but rather the regular flat sheet. (In the past I've had problems with this becuase the flat sheet tends to move while you're sleeping and I personally do not like that). We examined the rest of the room and found everything to be clean and just what was needed for the 1 day trip. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the water pressure was great. Though I did not use the soap, lotion or shampoo dispensers, they were nice and clean and a great option had I left my own toiletries at home. (For those that are conscious about not being wasteful, this is a great feature becuase you're using exactly what you need). The only negative thing that we found was that the vending machines were outside. Ovearll, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated the friendly attitudes of the staff. Being a little over a mile away from the park in a clean quiet place was a wonderful experience. I would definitely return again hopefully for a longer stay next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

less than 1 mile down the road there are plenty of restuarants and activities for friends, families and even couples. You're blocks away from a number of opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jul 2, 2011

Nice for the price

When the 'on property resort' price jumped from $150 per night to $250 within a half hour, we decided to look at something more moderate. Very glad we did. The Inn was easy to find, parking was nice, check in was good even though we arrived three hours before check in time. Property is located very close to Cedar Point, a very very easy drive to and from.We had in interior room which was on the smaller side but was clean and well appointed. Beds were comfortable, shower worked well and everything was as it should be. My young boys liked the outdoor pool, so did we as it was a nice transition from all the excitement of the day and got out that last bit of energy.Breakfast was limited but ok. When traveling with kids we really like the free breakfast feature....For me the best recommendation is whether I would do it again, and yes, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Look for deals at Inn on Cedar Point tickets, save money over buying at park, Lots of shopping and dinning a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
4d' Earth
Business
indianapolis, in
Jun 27, 2011

family owned, in process of upgrading

These rooms are small, but quite could not hear rooms on either side. they were booked 100% by the weekend. Hottub(luke warn) and pool is not heated. No gameroom. Breakfast was well...not good. But they are upgrading the rooms and they were very clean, staff was great, Very close to park and other shopping is 5 min away ,if you don't use GPS. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

5 min from Cedar Point. walking to bowling and food options. much cheeper then other lodging in area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Daddy from Cincinnati
Business
The Queen City
Jul 9, 2009

Not bad for the price.

The hotel overall wasn't bad for the price but the hot tub wasn't working when we stayed.Also when we whent to get the continetal breakfast it shut down at 9:30 which seemed kinda early to me ,but maybe I'm just nit-picking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Jul 25, 2011

Nice Pool, Standard Rooms Need Update

I stayed at the South Shore Inn for a night with a group of cousins while visiting Cedar Point. We had a lot of fun at the pool with the water slides and hot tub. The standard room was clean but the furniture was stained and the wall paper was peeling. Also, the complimentary breakfast was very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga TN
Aug 3, 2009

Great location

Made Cedar Point the last stay on our vacation. Hotel is very close to the road leading into Cedar Point. Accommodations were adequate for the price we paid. Room was clean, staff helpful but not overly freindly. My daughter liked the pool slide which she could do back flips off the end! I was a little disappointed that this part of Sandusky has not benefited much from all the visitors to Cedar Point.I am used to seeing more amenities near the parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top