$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
84 reviews
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.3

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Johns, MI
Aug 7, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel was okay, they need to get an exterminator to take care of the bug issue (ANTS). They were in other rooms as well. We enjoyed the pool. The advertisement of a restaurant in the hotel room was something that upset me. When we went down there to go there was no restaurant anymore. Need to take that out of the book in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Allwolff
Lima, Ohio
Aug 8, 2010

Just ok

Rooms were extremely small. Continental breakfast only had toast, cereal and waffles. Staff was friendly. Don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Thirsty Pony has lots of things to do inside. Bowling, lazer tag, keno, horse betting, bar and restaurant.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Metro Detroit
Jul 14, 2011

Average!

All in all this was not a terrible place to stay. It's proximity to the entertainment of Cedar Point and other near by entertainment values. Allows them to charge a premium price for an average product. The rooms was clean, but for the price paid, not well equipped. The shower must have been designed for children only, as the shower head sprayed, strike that leaked on (can I get a bit of water pressure here), the middle of my chest at best. The bottom line, stay here if you need a place that isn't a roach motel near the entertainment venues afforded around cedar point. Don't stay here if you are looking for a weekend away or plan to not visit cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Johns, MI
Aug 7, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel was okay, they need to get an exterminator to take care of the bug issue (ANTS). They were in other rooms as well. We enjoyed the pool. The advertisement of a restaurant in the hotel room was something that upset me. When we went down there to go there was no restaurant anymore. Need to take that out of the book in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Metro Detroit
Jul 14, 2011

Average!

All in all this was not a terrible place to stay. It's proximity to the entertainment of Cedar Point and other near by entertainment values. Allows them to charge a premium price for an average product. The rooms was clean, but for the price paid, not well equipped. The shower must have been designed for children only, as the shower head sprayed, strike that leaked on (can I get a bit of water pressure here), the middle of my chest at best. The bottom line, stay here if you need a place that isn't a roach motel near the entertainment venues afforded around cedar point. Don't stay here if you are looking for a weekend away or plan to not visit cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Would not stay again
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 31, 2012

Deceiving

The pictures were deceiving. The room was not the cleanest. There was hair on the bed, beer bottle caps on the floor, and hair all on the bathroom floor. The toilet ran and ran, you had to jiggle the handle several times to make it stop. There was a loud noise coming from inside the wall, it kept going all night, so we didn't get much sleep. The pool was clean, but the slides were way smaller then the picture looked. The breakfast was a joke, 2 waffle irons for how many people? I waited in line longer to make waffles then I did for the rides at Cedar Point. And if you didn't want to wait 1/2 hr to make your self a waffle you had the choice of toast, Raisin Bran, or plain Cheerios. There was no lounge like the website said. I would have to say I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Jul 6, 2011

Good place to rest

The lobby and look of the hotel exterior were nice, and the rooms were OK. Things were old but clean. Overall it was a nice place to rest for a couple of hours after CEDAR PARK, at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to CEDAR PARK

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joy of Atlanta
Atlanta, GA
Jun 29, 2009

Clean & Close To Cedar Point

After reading the reviews for most of the hotels in the Sandusky area, I was reluctant to stay at one of them. However, overall I was satisfied with my stay at South Shore inn. This hotel was extremely close to Cedar Point park, and was clean. Unlike most of the reviews for other hotels, our room did NOT have a musty/mildew smell in it, nor did it smell like smoke. The only complaint that I have is that the room itself and the bathroom were really small. There was not a lot if space once we brought our luggage in, but it worked just fine since we spent most of the day in the park. Also, the walls were REALLY thin. I could hear people walking and talking (and any other noise) coming from the hallway. We could also hear EVERYTHING from the bathroom in our room (every word, every splash)! Overall, I was pleased with my stay. A pleasant surprise was the doughnut/cereal/fruit/coffee breakfast that was provided each morning. I was not expecting that, and the doughnuts were pretty tasty. I will definitely stay here again when my family travels to Sandusky again (unless I plan to pay mega bucks for one of the "park resorts").

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, Ohio
Jul 2, 2011

Nice for the price

When the 'on property resort' price jumped from $150 per night to $250 within a half hour, we decided to look at something more moderate. Very glad we did. The Inn was easy to find, parking was nice, check in was good even though we arrived three hours before check in time. Property is located very close to Cedar Point, a very very easy drive to and from.We had in interior room which was on the smaller side but was clean and well appointed. Beds were comfortable, shower worked well and everything was as it should be. My young boys liked the outdoor pool, so did we as it was a nice transition from all the excitement of the day and got out that last bit of energy.Breakfast was limited but ok. When traveling with kids we really like the free breakfast feature....For me the best recommendation is whether I would do it again, and yes, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Look for deals at Inn on Cedar Point tickets, save money over buying at park, Lots of shopping and dinning a short drive away.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeterminedRider
East Lansing, MI
Nov 2, 2009

Overall Great Experience

My friend and I were going to Cedar Point for the Oct. 31 Halloweekend fun. We stopped to the hotel, prior to heading to the park, to check things out. We were the only ones checking in at that time so things moved quickly, especially having prepaid [...]. Once we got our key, unfortunately we couldn't get into our room because of a battery issue with the electronic lock, but the staff was great about quickly responding to the situation and we were in our room within minutes. Once in the room, the first thing we did was check the bed. The mattresses looked newer, clean and comfortable; there were plenty of pillows too. The only disappointing thing was that the bed was not outfitted with fitted sheets, but rather the regular flat sheet. (In the past I've had problems with this becuase the flat sheet tends to move while you're sleeping and I personally do not like that). We examined the rest of the room and found everything to be clean and just what was needed for the 1 day trip. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the water pressure was great. Though I did not use the soap, lotion or shampoo dispensers, they were nice and clean and a great option had I left my own toiletries at home. (For those that are conscious about not being wasteful, this is a great feature becuase you're using exactly what you need). The only negative thing that we found was that the vending machines were outside. Ovearll, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated the friendly attitudes of the staff. Being a little over a mile away from the park in a clean quiet place was a wonderful experience. I would definitely return again hopefully for a longer stay next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

less than 1 mile down the road there are plenty of restuarants and activities for friends, families and even couples. You're blocks away from a number of opportunities.

Back to menu Return to top