$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 2, 2014

South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
47 reviews
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Cedar Point Stay

The hotel room was very nice and clean. My friend and I went to Cedar Point and it was very close... See full review

  • KLo
  • Jul 20, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 47
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Champaign taste beer budg
Business
Winchester, Ohio
Aug 27, 2012

Much better than expected!

We stayed in an expensive resort hotel close to this one the first night of our stay. It was much higher in price since it had a waterpark and various other ammenities that we didn't use. South Shore Inn isn't fancy on the outside (most of the motels in this area aren't and this one was actually better looking outside than most if not all in the same area). But the real surprise was inside! The room had more than advertised online... A large flat screen tv, a mini fridge, microwave (none of this was mentioned so a pleasant surprise!). The outdoor pool with 2 water slides was much smaller than it looked in the photos and was closed off for a good portion of our stay but it was clean and the jacuzzi was open the entire time although we had so many activities planned we didn't use it anyway. The hotel advertises a game room for the kids which was no longer there... just an empty room where it used to be. It didn't break my heart though since I'd spent a lot of money on activities we don't normally do like parasailing and island tours, ferry rides out there, Cedar Point, etc... so my 14 yr old granddaughter could take a break from an arcade. haha... The beds were extremely comfortable and the microsuede bedspreads were very nice and soft (not pictured on the websites). They also had extra nice, fluffy, comfortable pillows and give you extras. The room was actually much nicer than the much higher priced resort hotel we stayed in the night before. Maid service was excellent. it also included a free continental breakfast and a make-your-own waffle station which was not advertised. If you have a lot of activities planned and just want a nice, clean, comfortable room to come back to at the end of the day this inn is great! It's very close to restaurants and Cedar Point. For what we had planned, It was a much better deal than the overpriced resort hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TGI Friday's is a short walk or drive and we went there a few times during our 4 day stay. The food was good each time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Erie, Pa
Aug 11, 2009

Great location for the price. Very clean

Didn't arrive till 10PM but was very suprised and pleased with the hotel. It was very clean. Continential breakfast was a little slim pickins but still good. Would definetly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ParTee2011
Business
Saginaw, MI
Aug 22, 2011

Very comfortable

Room was clean, shower hot, location excellent. Breakfast could be a little more to choose from, the waffles were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckeye Chuck
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Perfect place when going to the Point

I normally don't write reviews but felt I needed to after reading some other negative reviews on this hotel. My family and I stayed here after spending all day at the Point. The staff was very friendly and check in was quick. The room reminded us of a Vegas room. A little small, but very clean and nice after a long day. The rooms were quiet even though the property was full and many guests were still up and moving around. The breakfast was toast, cereal, fresh cooked waffles, juice, milk coffee & tea. Once again good, simple breakfast to get on the road home. Best of all no bed bug bites on any of us! Many other name brand hotels in the area had reports and reviews of bed bugs this summer. There is not a lot of Hotel choices close to the Park and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Thai restraurant in the Lobby which looked and smelled good. We thought about trying it but knew our 3 & 6 year olds wouldn't eat there. Just West of the hotel is a Fridays and West of that is a main strip that has all the chain casual dining and fast food. We ate an early lunch before entering the Point and a late dinner when we came out. Best part is we enjoyed reduced lines during the lunch and dinner times while most everyone else was paying $50 for lousy food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GR8Ful 5
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 24, 2010

Great Place for the family!

We drove into Sandusky from Chicago. We arrived a day early and needed a place to stay. Loved the location of the hotel and pool with slides was great for the kids! My only complaint, and I know it sounds goofy, is that there were no fitted sheets on the beds. I get 'creeped' out by sleeping on bare mattresses and found it hard to not move without moving the sheet on the top. Other than that, the place was clean and family friendly. Would go again, but bring my own sheet! Ha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Algonac MI
Jul 27, 2009

close to cedar point and clean too

looking for a place to stay near cedar point I was looking for a clean, close hotel on a budget and this was just what I had expected. The room was very clean and so were the common areas including the pool. Nothing fancy about it just simple and clean. We left for the park @ 9:50 and were walking in @ 10:10. We didn't eat there but the hotel restaurant (Tia food) smelled good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the route early if you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
csTech
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 9, 2011

Recent Trip Pleasantly Surprised

Family vacation to Cedar Point...only five minutes to the park! Nice two room suite provided room and privacy. Friendly staff...very helpful! Clean rooms and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the dining was a short drive (2-6 miles) from the hotel on Route 250 S.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sumer
Business
Brunswick Ohio
Aug 15, 2011

Pedal to the Point

We were there because of Pedal to the Point. The kids loved the pool. The location was perfect. Easy to find from Sandusky High School. Rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
She Diva
Business
Chicago
Jul 18, 2012

Affordable and convienient

Looks like they are remodeling, room by room. Great location to the park, wineries and put in bay. Staff was pleasant. Comfy and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Favorite Uncle
Business
Central Ohio
Aug 29, 2012

Trip with the nephew

The hotel was comfortable, clean and within a short drive to Cedar Point. The pool was nice but pool furniture was in disrepair and needed replaced. Close to many restaurants and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top