South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
49 reviews
Cedar Point Trip

Outdated but still meets the description of the Hotel. See full review

  • Peanut1111111111111111111
  • Oct 23, 2014
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Jul 25, 2011

Nice Pool, Standard Rooms Need Update

I stayed at the South Shore Inn for a night with a group of cousins while visiting Cedar Point. We had a lot of fun at the pool with the water slides and hot tub. The standard room was clean but the furniture was stained and the wall paper was peeling. Also, the complimentary breakfast was very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga TN
Aug 3, 2009

Great location

Made Cedar Point the last stay on our vacation. Hotel is very close to the road leading into Cedar Point. Accommodations were adequate for the price we paid. Room was clean, staff helpful but not overly freindly. My daughter liked the pool slide which she could do back flips off the end! I was a little disappointed that this part of Sandusky has not benefited much from all the visitors to Cedar Point.I am used to seeing more amenities near the parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joy of Atlanta
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 29, 2009

Clean & Close To Cedar Point

After reading the reviews for most of the hotels in the Sandusky area, I was reluctant to stay at one of them. However, overall I was satisfied with my stay at South Shore inn. This hotel was extremely close to Cedar Point park, and was clean. Unlike most of the reviews for other hotels, our room did NOT have a musty/mildew smell in it, nor did it smell like smoke. The only complaint that I have is that the room itself and the bathroom were really small. There was not a lot if space once we brought our luggage in, but it worked just fine since we spent most of the day in the park. Also, the walls were REALLY thin. I could hear people walking and talking (and any other noise) coming from the hallway. We could also hear EVERYTHING from the bathroom in our room (every word, every splash)! Overall, I was pleased with my stay. A pleasant surprise was the doughnut/cereal/fruit/coffee breakfast that was provided each morning. I was not expecting that, and the doughnuts were pretty tasty. I will definitely stay here again when my family travels to Sandusky again (unless I plan to pay mega bucks for one of the "park resorts").

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mommyv
Business
West Virginia
Aug 9, 2010

Reasonable

The staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean but in need of some updating (peeling wall paper)No elevator. The pool water was borderline cold. I have stayed at better for less. The tv remote didn't work and the room a/c didn't cool well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Cedar Point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, Ky
Aug 7, 2010

Clean, but not worth the money

Hotel was close to Cedar Point. Room was clean. Nothing special about hotel. Contential breakfast was coffee, OJ, cheerios, frosted flakes, toast and waffles. Probably could have paid less staying at another hotel. ($99/night)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cedar point fan
Business
green bay wi
Jul 30, 2011

good enough

good price, close to cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 6, 2011

Good place to rest

The lobby and look of the hotel exterior were nice, and the rooms were OK. Things were old but clean. Overall it was a nice place to rest for a couple of hours after CEDAR PARK, at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to CEDAR PARK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ntl1784
Business
Erie, PA
Sep 2, 2014

convenient location

The room was sufficient for a 1 night stay. Could use some updating. No breakfast, no fridge in the room, shower head only came up to my chin and I'm only 6 feet tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shanna Williams
Business
Flint
Dec 16, 2014

Cedar Point

The hotel was just ok. I felt that is was a bit pricy for what I would consider a 1 star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Me and You
Business
Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Rude

They are remodling and we were put a room which was poor. When we ask to move the lady at the desk was rude and said do you want your money back. After we got to a room that had been redone it was ok. Not the way to get a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top