$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

South Shore Inn

2 stars
View map of 2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crestline, Ohio
Jun 20, 2011

South Shore Inn....

My boyfriend and I spent the night just to get away. Definitely worth the money I paid. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and not over crowded. The room was clean and well stocked with towels. We will definitely use this hotel again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is about a block from the Cedar Point Causeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeterminedRider
Business
East Lansing, MI
Nov 2, 2009

Overall Great Experience

My friend and I were going to Cedar Point for the Oct. 31 Halloweekend fun. We stopped to the hotel, prior to heading to the park, to check things out. We were the only ones checking in at that time so things moved quickly, especially having prepaid [...]. Once we got our key, unfortunately we couldn't get into our room because of a battery issue with the electronic lock, but the staff was great about quickly responding to the situation and we were in our room within minutes. Once in the room, the first thing we did was check the bed. The mattresses looked newer, clean and comfortable; there were plenty of pillows too. The only disappointing thing was that the bed was not outfitted with fitted sheets, but rather the regular flat sheet. (In the past I've had problems with this becuase the flat sheet tends to move while you're sleeping and I personally do not like that). We examined the rest of the room and found everything to be clean and just what was needed for the 1 day trip. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the water pressure was great. Though I did not use the soap, lotion or shampoo dispensers, they were nice and clean and a great option had I left my own toiletries at home. (For those that are conscious about not being wasteful, this is a great feature becuase you're using exactly what you need). The only negative thing that we found was that the vending machines were outside. Ovearll, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated the friendly attitudes of the staff. Being a little over a mile away from the park in a clean quiet place was a wonderful experience. I would definitely return again hopefully for a longer stay next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

less than 1 mile down the road there are plenty of restuarants and activities for friends, families and even couples. You're blocks away from a number of opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jul 2, 2011

Nice for the price

When the 'on property resort' price jumped from $150 per night to $250 within a half hour, we decided to look at something more moderate. Very glad we did. The Inn was easy to find, parking was nice, check in was good even though we arrived three hours before check in time. Property is located very close to Cedar Point, a very very easy drive to and from.We had in interior room which was on the smaller side but was clean and well appointed. Beds were comfortable, shower worked well and everything was as it should be. My young boys liked the outdoor pool, so did we as it was a nice transition from all the excitement of the day and got out that last bit of energy.Breakfast was limited but ok. When traveling with kids we really like the free breakfast feature....For me the best recommendation is whether I would do it again, and yes, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Look for deals at Inn on Cedar Point tickets, save money over buying at park, Lots of shopping and dinning a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
4d' Earth
Business
indianapolis, in
Jun 27, 2011

family owned, in process of upgrading

These rooms are small, but quite could not hear rooms on either side. they were booked 100% by the weekend. Hottub(luke warn) and pool is not heated. No gameroom. Breakfast was well...not good. But they are upgrading the rooms and they were very clean, staff was great, Very close to park and other shopping is 5 min away ,if you don't use GPS. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

5 min from Cedar Point. walking to bowling and food options. much cheeper then other lodging in area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big Daddy from Cincinnati
Business
The Queen City
Jul 9, 2009

Not bad for the price.

The hotel overall wasn't bad for the price but the hot tub wasn't working when we stayed.Also when we whent to get the continetal breakfast it shut down at 9:30 which seemed kinda early to me ,but maybe I'm just nit-picking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Jul 25, 2011

Nice Pool, Standard Rooms Need Update

I stayed at the South Shore Inn for a night with a group of cousins while visiting Cedar Point. We had a lot of fun at the pool with the water slides and hot tub. The standard room was clean but the furniture was stained and the wall paper was peeling. Also, the complimentary breakfast was very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga TN
Aug 3, 2009

Great location

Made Cedar Point the last stay on our vacation. Hotel is very close to the road leading into Cedar Point. Accommodations were adequate for the price we paid. Room was clean, staff helpful but not overly freindly. My daughter liked the pool slide which she could do back flips off the end! I was a little disappointed that this part of Sandusky has not benefited much from all the visitors to Cedar Point.I am used to seeing more amenities near the parks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ntl1784
Business
Erie, PA
Sep 2, 2014

convenient location

The room was sufficient for a 1 night stay. Could use some updating. No breakfast, no fridge in the room, shower head only came up to my chin and I'm only 6 feet tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shanna Williams
Business
Flint
Dec 29, 2014

Cedar Point

The hotel was just ok. I felt that is was a bit pricy for what I would consider a 1 star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shanna Williams
Business
Flint
Dec 16, 2014

Cedar Point

The hotel was just ok. I felt that is was a bit pricy for what I would consider a 1 star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top