$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
47 reviews
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Cedar Point Stay

The hotel room was very nice and clean. My friend and I went to Cedar Point and it was very close... See full review

  • KLo
  • Jul 20, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 47
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
2.9

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Any nickname that works
Business
Sterling Heights, MI
Jun 16, 2014

Disgusting Hotel

Don't trust the pictures. This hotel is disgusting. It smells terrible, it's dated, it's gross. We checked out the same night we checked in and had to pay again for another hotel. The staff didn't even ask why we were checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Me and You
Business
Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Rude

They are remodling and we were put a room which was poor. When we ask to move the lady at the desk was rude and said do you want your money back. After we got to a room that had been redone it was ok. Not the way to get a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cedar point fan
Business
green bay wi
Jul 30, 2011

good enough

good price, close to cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Jul 25, 2011

Nice Pool, Standard Rooms Need Update

I stayed at the South Shore Inn for a night with a group of cousins while visiting Cedar Point. We had a lot of fun at the pool with the water slides and hot tub. The standard room was clean but the furniture was stained and the wall paper was peeling. Also, the complimentary breakfast was very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Metro Detroit
Jul 14, 2011

Average!

All in all this was not a terrible place to stay. It's proximity to the entertainment of Cedar Point and other near by entertainment values. Allows them to charge a premium price for an average product. The rooms was clean, but for the price paid, not well equipped. The shower must have been designed for children only, as the shower head sprayed, strike that leaked on (can I get a bit of water pressure here), the middle of my chest at best. The bottom line, stay here if you need a place that isn't a roach motel near the entertainment venues afforded around cedar point. Don't stay here if you are looking for a weekend away or plan to not visit cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Dad from Metro Detroit
Business
Metro Detroit
Sep 28, 2010

Sandusky 9/25/10-Mad Dad from Metro Detr

Dirty ... we were attacked by BED BUGS. Do not stay in room 247 ... I have pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the shore crew
Business
Cleveland ,OH
Aug 15, 2010

Not bad at all!

A few friends and I came up for the weekend for a birthday celebration. The room was clean and pretty roomy. The pool was very nice, waterslides were too fun! The only thing missing was room service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sharpsville, PA
Aug 3, 2010

Nice Weekend

We stayed at the hotel because we were going to cedar point for the weekend. The room was great and the air was on before we got into room so it was nice and cool. The only thing I didn't like was the vent was a little noisy in the bathroom when you turned the light on. Other than that it was a quiet area and a nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeterminedRider
Business
East Lansing, MI
Nov 2, 2009

Overall Great Experience

My friend and I were going to Cedar Point for the Oct. 31 Halloweekend fun. We stopped to the hotel, prior to heading to the park, to check things out. We were the only ones checking in at that time so things moved quickly, especially having prepaid [...]. Once we got our key, unfortunately we couldn't get into our room because of a battery issue with the electronic lock, but the staff was great about quickly responding to the situation and we were in our room within minutes. Once in the room, the first thing we did was check the bed. The mattresses looked newer, clean and comfortable; there were plenty of pillows too. The only disappointing thing was that the bed was not outfitted with fitted sheets, but rather the regular flat sheet. (In the past I've had problems with this becuase the flat sheet tends to move while you're sleeping and I personally do not like that). We examined the rest of the room and found everything to be clean and just what was needed for the 1 day trip. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the water pressure was great. Though I did not use the soap, lotion or shampoo dispensers, they were nice and clean and a great option had I left my own toiletries at home. (For those that are conscious about not being wasteful, this is a great feature becuase you're using exactly what you need). The only negative thing that we found was that the vending machines were outside. Ovearll, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated the friendly attitudes of the staff. Being a little over a mile away from the park in a clean quiet place was a wonderful experience. I would definitely return again hopefully for a longer stay next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

less than 1 mile down the road there are plenty of restuarants and activities for friends, families and even couples. You're blocks away from a number of opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clinton Twp., MI
Aug 22, 2009

Perfect place to crash after Cedar Point

This definitely isn't a fancy hotel, but it is a very affordable, clean, and convenient place if you are spending the day at Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top