South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Cedar Point Trip

Outdated but still meets the description of the Hotel. See full review

  • Peanut1111111111111111111
  • Oct 23, 2014
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 48
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peanut1111111111111111111
Business
Jackson Mi
Oct 23, 2014

Cedar Point Trip

Outdated but still meets the description of the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ntl1784
Business
Erie, PA
Sep 2, 2014

convenient location

The room was sufficient for a 1 night stay. Could use some updating. No breakfast, no fridge in the room, shower head only came up to my chin and I'm only 6 feet tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thornton Gal
Business
Thornton, IL
Aug 18, 2011

Comfortable room, Great adjoining restaurant

We booked our hotel online with a late arrival request, however, we arrived early. Staff was able to accommodate and find us an available room. Room was clean. The hallway and stairway carpets do need to be cleaned as well as the fabric chairs in adjoining restaurant. The food at the Thai restaurant in the hotel was very good. It was quiet and relaxing. It was nice to have an adult type restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point is just down the street from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 6, 2011

Good place to rest

The lobby and look of the hotel exterior were nice, and the rooms were OK. Things were old but clean. Overall it was a nice place to rest for a couple of hours after CEDAR PARK, at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to CEDAR PARK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crestline, Ohio
Jun 20, 2011

South Shore Inn....

My boyfriend and I spent the night just to get away. Definitely worth the money I paid. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and not over crowded. The room was clean and well stocked with towels. We will definitely use this hotel again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is about a block from the Cedar Point Causeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 18, 2010

The lobby was nice.....

We chose the South Shore Inn for its proximity to Cedar Point which it is very close to the main entrance. From the looks of the lobby and the grounds we thought the place was going to be pretty decent for an exterior type motel and worth the $100 bucks we spent for the night.... We were wrong. I'm usually not one to write reviews but this place was comically bad so I thought I would share. We arrived at the South Shore Inn about 11:30pm after a long day of standing in line at Cedar Point and just wanted to crash. Not happening. The first room we were given was next to a room with a loud yippy dog. Not the motels fault and they were kind enough to give us another room. The 2nd room was your typical motel type room. Two double beds. Sinks were outside the toilet/shower area. No big deal. However... The beds and linens were pretty gross and needed replaced badly. The mattresses hung over the end of the box springs by about 6-8 inches and the mattresses needed to be thrown away about 5 years ago. My girlfriend was cold (as it was mid October) so I turned on the heater which was one of those air conditioner / heating combo units. Bad idea. Almost immediately smoke / noxious gas started coming out of the thing and the smoke alarm started going off. I immediately unplugged it. So not only did the heat not work we were actually afraid to sleep on the sheets / blankets so we slept in our clothes. All throughout the night every couple of hours a train would go by sounding it's horn and you could hear traffic going by on Route 6 as the door didn't seal very well and the walls were paper thin. We couldn't get our cell phones to charge right because the electrical outlets were so old the plugs just kept falling out of them. We got up at the crack of dawn and drove home. If the place would have been $50 bucks for the night I would have said… yep.. That's about what I expected. $100 bucks. I believe we got screwed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 12, 2009

An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was very clean, quiet and has a top-notch Thai restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget Dave
Business
kettering, ohio
Aug 17, 2009

Quick trip to Lake Erie

Quick check in, clean room, great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dickwebs
Business
Toledo,Ohio
Aug 14, 2009

Good motel for the price.

Stayed after a day at Cedar Point.The resturant in the motel had good food and the sevice was great. Can`t beat the location for a day at the park. The room could have been a little cleaner,but it wasn`t bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Eat at hotel resturant,resonable prices and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RossLex
Business
London, ON
Jun 26, 2009

Good place to crash after Cedar Point

Just used the hotel as a place to crash after a full day at Cedar Point so I didn't have to drive back to Ontario while exhausted. It was a really hot day and the pool was open until midnight, so we even had a quick swim to cool off. The only minor cause for concern was that the hotel didn't receive the reservation from Orbitz. But they still put us up for the night at no extra cost. Just not sure what would have happened if it was a busier time and they rented the room out to someone else. Don't know who was at fault here, Orbitz or South Shore Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only reason to stay here is Cedar Point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top