$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
46 reviews
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Cedar Point Stay

The hotel room was very nice and clean. My friend and I went to Cedar Point and it was very close... See full review

  • KLo
  • Jul 20, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Dad from Metro Detroit
Metro Detroit
Sep 28, 2010

Sandusky 9/25/10-Mad Dad from Metro Detr

Dirty ... we were attacked by BED BUGS. Do not stay in room 247 ... I have pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Oct 18, 2010

The lobby was nice.....

We chose the South Shore Inn for its proximity to Cedar Point which it is very close to the main entrance. From the looks of the lobby and the grounds we thought the place was going to be pretty decent for an exterior type motel and worth the $100 bucks we spent for the night.... We were wrong. I'm usually not one to write reviews but this place was comically bad so I thought I would share. We arrived at the South Shore Inn about 11:30pm after a long day of standing in line at Cedar Point and just wanted to crash. Not happening. The first room we were given was next to a room with a loud yippy dog. Not the motels fault and they were kind enough to give us another room. The 2nd room was your typical motel type room. Two double beds. Sinks were outside the toilet/shower area. No big deal. However... The beds and linens were pretty gross and needed replaced badly. The mattresses hung over the end of the box springs by about 6-8 inches and the mattresses needed to be thrown away about 5 years ago. My girlfriend was cold (as it was mid October) so I turned on the heater which was one of those air conditioner / heating combo units. Bad idea. Almost immediately smoke / noxious gas started coming out of the thing and the smoke alarm started going off. I immediately unplugged it. So not only did the heat not work we were actually afraid to sleep on the sheets / blankets so we slept in our clothes. All throughout the night every couple of hours a train would go by sounding it's horn and you could hear traffic going by on Route 6 as the door didn't seal very well and the walls were paper thin. We couldn't get our cell phones to charge right because the electrical outlets were so old the plugs just kept falling out of them. We got up at the crack of dawn and drove home. If the place would have been $50 bucks for the night I would have said… yep.. That's about what I expected. $100 bucks. I believe we got screwed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A Lewis
Royal Oak, MI
May 27, 2013

Not for Families

The hotel was clean, good location. The staff did not show record of us having paid but were luckily trusting about it (I had my e-mail confirmation). However it was a party hotel. We got ZERO sleep, it made for a horrible stay. I called and complained but nothing was done. Seriously screaming loud teenager partying all night both nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Any nickname that works
Sterling Heights, MI
Jun 16, 2014

Disgusting Hotel

Don't trust the pictures. This hotel is disgusting. It smells terrible, it's dated, it's gross. We checked out the same night we checked in and had to pay again for another hotel. The staff didn't even ask why we were checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mo Hockey Mom
OFallon Missouri
Jul 11, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE

Where to start. Chose this hotel after reading reviews and ratings. It is a local-run old Motel -- but what a disappointment. We moved rooms 3 times in the first 30 minutes; first off, the air was not on in any of the rooms when we arrived. first room had ants in the bathroom, so we moved to another room -- which wasn't great, but would have dealt with it except WiFi didn't work back that far from the front desk. 3rd room was 2nd floor off the hotel lobby. Hot in the lobby. You have to climb stairs anywhere in the motel if you are not 1st floor -- no elevators. That room was hot also, and had peeling wall paper. Nothing great at all. The continental breakfast was a joke -- raisin-bran type and some other offbrand type in big plastic tubs, a few bagels, loafs of bread to make your toast and a few donuts here and there. they didn't even have cream cheese. we had to eat at McDonalds both days. I don't consider myself to be that particular -- just a nice clean room, with some amenities and free WiFi that works in the place, no bugs and no peeling wall paper and I was not happy moving 3 times -- two up stairs and one down with a ton of luggage. The only 1/2 way decent things about this hotel are: the outside pool/hot tub that is open til midnight -- park closes between 10 and 11 and the location is very close to Cedar Point. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Really hard to find a decent hotel that is not really expensive. Appears to be more motels than hotels. They all want to charge a high price near Cedar Point. I was not about to spend $150-$300 per night for Breakers, although it is probably the nicest place to stay.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Me and You
Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Rude

They are remodling and we were put a room which was poor. When we ask to move the lady at the desk was rude and said do you want your money back. After we got to a room that had been redone it was ok. Not the way to get a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Johns, MI
Aug 7, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel was okay, they need to get an exterminator to take care of the bug issue (ANTS). They were in other rooms as well. We enjoyed the pool. The advertisement of a restaurant in the hotel room was something that upset me. When we went down there to go there was no restaurant anymore. Need to take that out of the book in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Metro Detroit
Jul 14, 2011

Average!

All in all this was not a terrible place to stay. It's proximity to the entertainment of Cedar Point and other near by entertainment values. Allows them to charge a premium price for an average product. The rooms was clean, but for the price paid, not well equipped. The shower must have been designed for children only, as the shower head sprayed, strike that leaked on (can I get a bit of water pressure here), the middle of my chest at best. The bottom line, stay here if you need a place that isn't a roach motel near the entertainment venues afforded around cedar point. Don't stay here if you are looking for a weekend away or plan to not visit cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Allwolff
Lima, Ohio
Aug 8, 2010

Just ok

Rooms were extremely small. Continental breakfast only had toast, cereal and waffles. Staff was friendly. Don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Thirsty Pony has lots of things to do inside. Bowling, lazer tag, keno, horse betting, bar and restaurant.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Would not stay again
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 31, 2012

Deceiving

The pictures were deceiving. The room was not the cleanest. There was hair on the bed, beer bottle caps on the floor, and hair all on the bathroom floor. The toilet ran and ran, you had to jiggle the handle several times to make it stop. There was a loud noise coming from inside the wall, it kept going all night, so we didn't get much sleep. The pool was clean, but the slides were way smaller then the picture looked. The breakfast was a joke, 2 waffle irons for how many people? I waited in line longer to make waffles then I did for the rides at Cedar Point. And if you didn't want to wait 1/2 hr to make your self a waffle you had the choice of toast, Raisin Bran, or plain Cheerios. There was no lounge like the website said. I would have to say I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search