$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 21, 2014

South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
47 reviews
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Cedar Point Stay

The hotel room was very nice and clean. My friend and I went to Cedar Point and it was very close... See full review

  • KLo
  • Jul 20, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mo Hockey Mom
OFallon Missouri
Jul 11, 2010

DO NOT STAY HERE

Where to start. Chose this hotel after reading reviews and ratings. It is a local-run old Motel -- but what a disappointment. We moved rooms 3 times in the first 30 minutes; first off, the air was not on in any of the rooms when we arrived. first room had ants in the bathroom, so we moved to another room -- which wasn't great, but would have dealt with it except WiFi didn't work back that far from the front desk. 3rd room was 2nd floor off the hotel lobby. Hot in the lobby. You have to climb stairs anywhere in the motel if you are not 1st floor -- no elevators. That room was hot also, and had peeling wall paper. Nothing great at all. The continental breakfast was a joke -- raisin-bran type and some other offbrand type in big plastic tubs, a few bagels, loafs of bread to make your toast and a few donuts here and there. they didn't even have cream cheese. we had to eat at McDonalds both days. I don't consider myself to be that particular -- just a nice clean room, with some amenities and free WiFi that works in the place, no bugs and no peeling wall paper and I was not happy moving 3 times -- two up stairs and one down with a ton of luggage. The only 1/2 way decent things about this hotel are: the outside pool/hot tub that is open til midnight -- park closes between 10 and 11 and the location is very close to Cedar Point. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Really hard to find a decent hotel that is not really expensive. Appears to be more motels than hotels. They all want to charge a high price near Cedar Point. I was not about to spend $150-$300 per night for Breakers, although it is probably the nicest place to stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gainesville, VA
Jul 7, 2010

Good Deal!

Hotel was in a great location. Room was clean. Staff was attentive and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeterminedRider
East Lansing, MI
Nov 2, 2009

Overall Great Experience

My friend and I were going to Cedar Point for the Oct. 31 Halloweekend fun. We stopped to the hotel, prior to heading to the park, to check things out. We were the only ones checking in at that time so things moved quickly, especially having prepaid [...]. Once we got our key, unfortunately we couldn't get into our room because of a battery issue with the electronic lock, but the staff was great about quickly responding to the situation and we were in our room within minutes. Once in the room, the first thing we did was check the bed. The mattresses looked newer, clean and comfortable; there were plenty of pillows too. The only disappointing thing was that the bed was not outfitted with fitted sheets, but rather the regular flat sheet. (In the past I've had problems with this becuase the flat sheet tends to move while you're sleeping and I personally do not like that). We examined the rest of the room and found everything to be clean and just what was needed for the 1 day trip. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the water pressure was great. Though I did not use the soap, lotion or shampoo dispensers, they were nice and clean and a great option had I left my own toiletries at home. (For those that are conscious about not being wasteful, this is a great feature becuase you're using exactly what you need). The only negative thing that we found was that the vending machines were outside. Ovearll, we enjoyed our stay and appreciated the friendly attitudes of the staff. Being a little over a mile away from the park in a clean quiet place was a wonderful experience. I would definitely return again hopefully for a longer stay next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

less than 1 mile down the road there are plenty of restuarants and activities for friends, families and even couples. You're blocks away from a number of opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Sep 12, 2009

An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was very clean, quiet and has a top-notch Thai restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Clinton Twp., MI
Aug 22, 2009

Perfect place to crash after Cedar Point

This definitely isn't a fancy hotel, but it is a very affordable, clean, and convenient place if you are spending the day at Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Budget Dave
kettering, ohio
Aug 17, 2009

Quick trip to Lake Erie

Quick check in, clean room, great value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dickwebs
Toledo,Ohio
Aug 14, 2009

Good motel for the price.

Stayed after a day at Cedar Point.The resturant in the motel had good food and the sevice was great. Can`t beat the location for a day at the park. The room could have been a little cleaner,but it wasn`t bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Eat at hotel resturant,resonable prices and good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Erie, Pa
Aug 11, 2009

Great location for the price. Very clean

Didn't arrive till 10PM but was very suprised and pleased with the hotel. It was very clean. Continential breakfast was a little slim pickins but still good. Would definetly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wifety
Detroit, Mi
Aug 9, 2009

decent for the money

The Inn was really close to Cedar Point, that was great. We booked for 4 people but the room was set up for 2. Two glasses, 2 towels, and 2 very small beds. They were comfortable however. The contenental breakfast was a joke. Two kinds of adult cereal, tea, coffee, OJ, apples and donuts, thats it. Very small, needed more variety. Overall the trip was enjoyable, and for the price and location the room was o.k.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Johns, MI
Aug 7, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel was okay, they need to get an exterminator to take care of the bug issue (ANTS). They were in other rooms as well. We enjoyed the pool. The advertisement of a restaurant in the hotel room was something that upset me. When we went down there to go there was no restaurant anymore. Need to take that out of the book in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search