South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Cedar Point Trip

Outdated but still meets the description of the Hotel. See full review

  • Peanut1111111111111111111
  • Oct 23, 2014
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Crestline, Ohio
Jun 20, 2011

South Shore Inn....

My boyfriend and I spent the night just to get away. Definitely worth the money I paid. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and not over crowded. The room was clean and well stocked with towels. We will definitely use this hotel again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is about a block from the Cedar Point Causeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Oct 18, 2010

The lobby was nice.....

We chose the South Shore Inn for its proximity to Cedar Point which it is very close to the main entrance. From the looks of the lobby and the grounds we thought the place was going to be pretty decent for an exterior type motel and worth the $100 bucks we spent for the night.... We were wrong. I'm usually not one to write reviews but this place was comically bad so I thought I would share. We arrived at the South Shore Inn about 11:30pm after a long day of standing in line at Cedar Point and just wanted to crash. Not happening. The first room we were given was next to a room with a loud yippy dog. Not the motels fault and they were kind enough to give us another room. The 2nd room was your typical motel type room. Two double beds. Sinks were outside the toilet/shower area. No big deal. However... The beds and linens were pretty gross and needed replaced badly. The mattresses hung over the end of the box springs by about 6-8 inches and the mattresses needed to be thrown away about 5 years ago. My girlfriend was cold (as it was mid October) so I turned on the heater which was one of those air conditioner / heating combo units. Bad idea. Almost immediately smoke / noxious gas started coming out of the thing and the smoke alarm started going off. I immediately unplugged it. So not only did the heat not work we were actually afraid to sleep on the sheets / blankets so we slept in our clothes. All throughout the night every couple of hours a train would go by sounding it's horn and you could hear traffic going by on Route 6 as the door didn't seal very well and the walls were paper thin. We couldn't get our cell phones to charge right because the electrical outlets were so old the plugs just kept falling out of them. We got up at the crack of dawn and drove home. If the place would have been $50 bucks for the night I would have said… yep.. That's about what I expected. $100 bucks. I believe we got screwed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Dad from Metro Detroit
Business
Metro Detroit
Sep 28, 2010

Sandusky 9/25/10-Mad Dad from Metro Detr

Dirty ... we were attacked by BED BUGS. Do not stay in room 247 ... I have pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the shore crew
Business
Cleveland ,OH
Aug 15, 2010

Not bad at all!

A few friends and I came up for the weekend for a birthday celebration. The room was clean and pretty roomy. The pool was very nice, waterslides were too fun! The only thing missing was room service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mommyv
Business
West Virginia
Aug 9, 2010

Reasonable

The staff was very friendly. The rooms were clean but in need of some updating (peeling wall paper)No elevator. The pool water was borderline cold. I have stayed at better for less. The tv remote didn't work and the room a/c didn't cool well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to Cedar Point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Allwolff
Business
Lima, Ohio
Aug 8, 2010

Just ok

Rooms were extremely small. Continental breakfast only had toast, cereal and waffles. Staff was friendly. Don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Thirsty Pony has lots of things to do inside. Bowling, lazer tag, keno, horse betting, bar and restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport, Ky
Aug 7, 2010

Clean, but not worth the money

Hotel was close to Cedar Point. Room was clean. Nothing special about hotel. Contential breakfast was coffee, OJ, cheerios, frosted flakes, toast and waffles. Probably could have paid less staying at another hotel. ($99/night)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sharpsville, PA
Aug 3, 2010

Nice Weekend

We stayed at the hotel because we were going to cedar point for the weekend. The room was great and the air was on before we got into room so it was nice and cool. The only thing I didn't like was the vent was a little noisy in the bathroom when you turned the light on. Other than that it was a quiet area and a nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time at Cedar Point
Business
San Francisco, Ca
Jul 25, 2010

Good value and friendly service.

Great Location and very close to Cedar Point. Staff was friendly and gave us great information on where to eat breakfast the next morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GR8Ful 5
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 24, 2010

Great Place for the family!

We drove into Sandusky from Chicago. We arrived a day early and needed a place to stay. Loved the location of the hotel and pool with slides was great for the kids! My only complaint, and I know it sounds goofy, is that there were no fitted sheets on the beds. I get 'creeped' out by sleeping on bare mattresses and found it hard to not move without moving the sheet on the top. Other than that, the place was clean and family friendly. Would go again, but bring my own sheet! Ha!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top