South Shore Inn ★★

Deceiving

Would not recommend Tue, Jul 31, 2012
The pictures were deceiving. The room was not the cleanest. There was hair on the bed, beer bottle caps on the floor, and hair all on the bathroom floor. The toilet ran and ran, you had to jiggle the handle several times to make it stop. There was a loud noise coming from inside the wall, it kept going all night, so we didn't get much sleep. The pool was clean, but the slides were way smaller then the picture looked. The breakfast was a joke, 2 waffle irons for how many people? I waited in line longer to make waffles then I did for the rides at Cedar Point. And if you didn't want to wait 1/2 hr to make your self a waffle you had the choice of toast, Raisin Bran, or plain Cheerios. There was no lounge like the website said. I would have to say I would not stay there again.

| Cleveland, Ohio Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Affordable and convienient

Would recommend Wed, Jul 18, 2012
Looks like they are remodeling, room by room. Great location to the park, wineries and put in bay. Staff was pleasant. Comfy and clean.

| Chicago Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Rude

Would not recommend Tue, Jul 10, 2012
They are remodling and we were put a room which was poor. When we ask to move the lady at the desk was rude and said do you want your money back. After we got to a room that had been redone it was ok. Not the way to get a return visit.

| Michigan Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Very comfortable

Would recommend Mon, Aug 22, 2011
Room was clean, shower hot, location excellent. Breakfast could be a little more to choose from, the waffles were good.

| Saginaw, MI Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Perfect place when going to the Point

Would recommend Mon, Aug 22, 2011
I normally don't write reviews but felt I needed to after reading some other negative reviews on this hotel. My family and I stayed here after spending all day at the Point. The staff was very friendly and check in was quick. The room reminded us of a Vegas room. A little small, but very clean and nice after a long day. The rooms were quiet even though the property was full and many guests were still up and moving around. The breakfast was toast, cereal, fresh cooked waffles, juice, milk coffee & tea. Once again good, simple breakfast to get on the road home. Best of all no bed bug bites on any of us! Many other name brand hotels in the area had reports and reviews of bed bugs this summer. There is not a lot of Hotel choices close to the Park and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Dining

There is a Thai restraurant in the Lobby which looked and smelled good. We thought about trying it but knew our 3 & 6 year olds wouldn't eat there. Just West of the hotel is a Fridays and West of that is a main strip that has all the chain casual dining and fast food. We ate an early lunch before entering the Point and a late dinner when we came out. Best part is we enjoyed reduced lines during the lunch and dinner times while most everyone else was paying $50 for lousy food.

| Columbus, OH, USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Comfortable room, Great adjoining restaurant

Would recommend Thu, Aug 18, 2011
We booked our hotel online with a late arrival request, however, we arrived early. Staff was able to accommodate and find us an available room. Room was clean. The hallway and stairway carpets do need to be cleaned as well as the fabric chairs in adjoining restaurant. The food at the Thai restaurant in the hotel was very good. It was quiet and relaxing. It was nice to have an adult type restaurant nearby.

Entertainment hint

Cedar Point is just down the street from this hotel.

| Thornton, IL Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Pedal to the Point

Would recommend Mon, Aug 15, 2011
We were there because of Pedal to the Point. The kids loved the pool. The location was perfect. Easy to find from Sandusky High School. Rooms were clean.

| Brunswick Ohio Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Recent Trip Pleasantly Surprised

Would recommend Tue, Aug 9, 2011
Family vacation to Cedar Point...only five minutes to the park! Nice two room suite provided room and privacy. Friendly staff...very helpful! Clean rooms and comfortable!

Dining

Most of the dining was a short drive (2-6 miles) from the hotel on Route 250 S.

| Pittsburgh, PA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

good enough

Would recommend Sat, Jul 30, 2011
good price, close to cedar point.

| green bay wi Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Nice Pool, Standard Rooms Need Update

Would recommend Mon, Jul 25, 2011
I stayed at the South Shore Inn for a night with a group of cousins while visiting Cedar Point. We had a lot of fun at the pool with the water slides and hot tub. The standard room was clean but the furniture was stained and the wall paper was peeling. Also, the complimentary breakfast was very limited.

| Northville, MI Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5