$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 17, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
47 reviews
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Cedar Point Stay

The hotel room was very nice and clean. My friend and I went to Cedar Point and it was very close... See full review

  • KLo
  • Jul 20, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

41.4401 -82.6764
Area served
Cleveland, Columbus, Toledo, Sandusky, Mansfield, Norwalk
Nearby airports
Griffing Sandusky, (SKY), 1.30, MI, NW;
Area description
Resort, Located minutes away from the worldfamous Cedar Point Amusement

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thornton Gal
Thornton, IL
Aug 18, 2011

Comfortable room, Great adjoining restaurant

We booked our hotel online with a late arrival request, however, we arrived early. Staff was able to accommodate and find us an available room. Room was clean. The hallway and stairway carpets do need to be cleaned as well as the fabric chairs in adjoining restaurant. The food at the Thai restaurant in the hotel was very good. It was quiet and relaxing. It was nice to have an adult type restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point is just down the street from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sumer
Brunswick Ohio
Aug 15, 2011

Pedal to the Point

We were there because of Pedal to the Point. The kids loved the pool. The location was perfect. Easy to find from Sandusky High School. Rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
csTech
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 9, 2011

Recent Trip Pleasantly Surprised

Family vacation to Cedar Point...only five minutes to the park! Nice two room suite provided room and privacy. Friendly staff...very helpful! Clean rooms and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the dining was a short drive (2-6 miles) from the hotel on Route 250 S.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cedar point fan
green bay wi
Jul 30, 2011

good enough

good price, close to cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northville, MI
Jul 25, 2011

Nice Pool, Standard Rooms Need Update

I stayed at the South Shore Inn for a night with a group of cousins while visiting Cedar Point. We had a lot of fun at the pool with the water slides and hot tub. The standard room was clean but the furniture was stained and the wall paper was peeling. Also, the complimentary breakfast was very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Metro Detroit
Jul 14, 2011

Average!

All in all this was not a terrible place to stay. It's proximity to the entertainment of Cedar Point and other near by entertainment values. Allows them to charge a premium price for an average product. The rooms was clean, but for the price paid, not well equipped. The shower must have been designed for children only, as the shower head sprayed, strike that leaked on (can I get a bit of water pressure here), the middle of my chest at best. The bottom line, stay here if you need a place that isn't a roach motel near the entertainment venues afforded around cedar point. Don't stay here if you are looking for a weekend away or plan to not visit cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, NY
Jul 6, 2011

Good place to rest

The lobby and look of the hotel exterior were nice, and the rooms were OK. Things were old but clean. Overall it was a nice place to rest for a couple of hours after CEDAR PARK, at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to CEDAR PARK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dayton, Ohio
Jul 2, 2011

Nice for the price

When the 'on property resort' price jumped from $150 per night to $250 within a half hour, we decided to look at something more moderate. Very glad we did. The Inn was easy to find, parking was nice, check in was good even though we arrived three hours before check in time. Property is located very close to Cedar Point, a very very easy drive to and from.We had in interior room which was on the smaller side but was clean and well appointed. Beds were comfortable, shower worked well and everything was as it should be. My young boys liked the outdoor pool, so did we as it was a nice transition from all the excitement of the day and got out that last bit of energy.Breakfast was limited but ok. When traveling with kids we really like the free breakfast feature....For me the best recommendation is whether I would do it again, and yes, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Look for deals at Inn on Cedar Point tickets, save money over buying at park, Lots of shopping and dinning a short drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
4d' Earth
indianapolis, in
Jun 27, 2011

family owned, in process of upgrading

These rooms are small, but quite could not hear rooms on either side. they were booked 100% by the weekend. Hottub(luke warn) and pool is not heated. No gameroom. Breakfast was well...not good. But they are upgrading the rooms and they were very clean, staff was great, Very close to park and other shopping is 5 min away ,if you don't use GPS. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

5 min from Cedar Point. walking to bowling and food options. much cheeper then other lodging in area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Crestline, Ohio
Jun 20, 2011

South Shore Inn....

My boyfriend and I spent the night just to get away. Definitely worth the money I paid. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and not over crowded. The room was clean and well stocked with towels. We will definitely use this hotel again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Hotel is about a block from the Cedar Point Causeway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search