$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

South Shore Inn

2 stars
View map of 2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
She Diva
Business
Chicago
Jul 18, 2012

Affordable and convienient

Looks like they are remodeling, room by room. Great location to the park, wineries and put in bay. Staff was pleasant. Comfy and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Me and You
Business
Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Rude

They are remodling and we were put a room which was poor. When we ask to move the lady at the desk was rude and said do you want your money back. After we got to a room that had been redone it was ok. Not the way to get a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ParTee2011
Business
Saginaw, MI
Aug 22, 2011

Very comfortable

Room was clean, shower hot, location excellent. Breakfast could be a little more to choose from, the waffles were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Buckeye Chuck
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Perfect place when going to the Point

I normally don't write reviews but felt I needed to after reading some other negative reviews on this hotel. My family and I stayed here after spending all day at the Point. The staff was very friendly and check in was quick. The room reminded us of a Vegas room. A little small, but very clean and nice after a long day. The rooms were quiet even though the property was full and many guests were still up and moving around. The breakfast was toast, cereal, fresh cooked waffles, juice, milk coffee & tea. Once again good, simple breakfast to get on the road home. Best of all no bed bug bites on any of us! Many other name brand hotels in the area had reports and reviews of bed bugs this summer. There is not a lot of Hotel choices close to the Park and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Thai restraurant in the Lobby which looked and smelled good. We thought about trying it but knew our 3 & 6 year olds wouldn't eat there. Just West of the hotel is a Fridays and West of that is a main strip that has all the chain casual dining and fast food. We ate an early lunch before entering the Point and a late dinner when we came out. Best part is we enjoyed reduced lines during the lunch and dinner times while most everyone else was paying $50 for lousy food.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thornton Gal
Business
Thornton, IL
Aug 18, 2011

Comfortable room, Great adjoining restaurant

We booked our hotel online with a late arrival request, however, we arrived early. Staff was able to accommodate and find us an available room. Room was clean. The hallway and stairway carpets do need to be cleaned as well as the fabric chairs in adjoining restaurant. The food at the Thai restaurant in the hotel was very good. It was quiet and relaxing. It was nice to have an adult type restaurant nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point is just down the street from this hotel.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sumer
Business
Brunswick Ohio
Aug 15, 2011

Pedal to the Point

We were there because of Pedal to the Point. The kids loved the pool. The location was perfect. Easy to find from Sandusky High School. Rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
csTech
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 9, 2011

Recent Trip Pleasantly Surprised

Family vacation to Cedar Point...only five minutes to the park! Nice two room suite provided room and privacy. Friendly staff...very helpful! Clean rooms and comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Most of the dining was a short drive (2-6 miles) from the hotel on Route 250 S.

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cedar point fan
Business
green bay wi
Jul 30, 2011

good enough

good price, close to cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northville, MI
Jul 25, 2011

Nice Pool, Standard Rooms Need Update

I stayed at the South Shore Inn for a night with a group of cousins while visiting Cedar Point. We had a lot of fun at the pool with the water slides and hot tub. The standard room was clean but the furniture was stained and the wall paper was peeling. Also, the complimentary breakfast was very limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Metro Detroit
Jul 14, 2011

Average!

All in all this was not a terrible place to stay. It's proximity to the entertainment of Cedar Point and other near by entertainment values. Allows them to charge a premium price for an average product. The rooms was clean, but for the price paid, not well equipped. The shower must have been designed for children only, as the shower head sprayed, strike that leaked on (can I get a bit of water pressure here), the middle of my chest at best. The bottom line, stay here if you need a place that isn't a roach motel near the entertainment venues afforded around cedar point. Don't stay here if you are looking for a weekend away or plan to not visit cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top