South Shore Inn

2 stars
2047 Cleveland Road, 2047 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
48 reviews
Cedar Point Trip

Outdated but still meets the description of the Hotel. See full review

  • Peanut1111111111111111111
  • Oct 23, 2014
An excellent deal

Was not sure of area based on other comments especially regarding other hotels, but this hotel was... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Sep 12, 2009
Family-owned hotel near Cedar Point offers charm and variety
Just a few steps from Sandusky's Castaway Bay and a short drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park, South Shore Inn offers family-run comfort and convenience. The hotel features a great selection of rooms, ranging from a standard single to a king-bed suite with a Jacuzzi and a 2- or 3-room family suite with kitchenette. Amenities at this Sandusky hotel include free in-room Wi-Fi, a large outdoor swimming pool with a waterslide and a Jacuzzi, plus an outdoor playground and shady picnic area. The popular Thai restaurant Siam Orchid is also onsite.
Highlights
  • Jump into South Shore Inn's oversized outdoor pool with a Jacuzzi and waterslide
  • Stay connected with free in-room Wi-Fi access
  • Indulge with a family-size guest suite or suite with private Jacuzzi
Location
South Shore Inn is located in a peaceful residential area of Sandusky, a block from Castaway Bay and only a few minutes' drive from Cedar Point Amusement Park. 
Rooms
South Shore Inn offers single and double rooms, large 2- and 3-room family suites with kitchenettes, and suites with a Jacuzzi and king bed. All include free high-speed Wi-Fi access, dataport, hairdryer and an iron and ironing board. Refreshed and refurnished 2- and 3-room suites include a sofa bed plus a TV in each room. Both smoking and non-smoking rooms are available.
Features
Dine at Siam Orchid Restaurant in the lobby of South Shore Inn. The popular Thai restaurant serves dishes ranging from lemongrass chicken and fried rice to seafood selections. Siam Orchid also features a cocktail lounge, plus provides guest room and poolside service. Spend summer days at the large outdoor swimming pool with a 2-tube waterslide, Jacuzzi, playground, picnic area and video game room. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.2 mi/82.4 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (69.4 mi/112 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.4 mi/36 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (62.8 mi/101 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.9 mi/104 km)
Business
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi Internet access

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Shore Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

South Shore Inn Rooms

Standard 2 Queen Beds Non Smokin
Description not provided
Standard 2 Doubles Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Non Smoking
Description not provided
Standard King Smoking
Description not provided
2 Room Suite
Description not provided
3 Room Suite Non Smoking
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Game room
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Parking
Free parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Cribs available
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for South Shore Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ParTee2011
Saginaw, MI
Aug 22, 2011

Very comfortable

Room was clean, shower hot, location excellent. Breakfast could be a little more to choose from, the waffles were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peanut1111111111111111111
Business
Jackson Mi
Oct 23, 2014

Cedar Point Trip

Outdated but still meets the description of the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ntl1784
Business
Erie, PA
Sep 2, 2014

convenient location

The room was sufficient for a 1 night stay. Could use some updating. No breakfast, no fridge in the room, shower head only came up to my chin and I'm only 6 feet tall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Any nickname that works
Business
Sterling Heights, MI
Jun 16, 2014

Disgusting Hotel

Don't trust the pictures. This hotel is disgusting. It smells terrible, it's dated, it's gross. We checked out the same night we checked in and had to pay again for another hotel. The staff didn't even ask why we were checking out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A Lewis
Business
Royal Oak, MI
May 27, 2013

Not for Families

The hotel was clean, good location. The staff did not show record of us having paid but were luckily trusting about it (I had my e-mail confirmation). However it was a party hotel. We got ZERO sleep, it made for a horrible stay. I called and complained but nothing was done. Seriously screaming loud teenager partying all night both nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Favorite Uncle
Business
Central Ohio
Aug 29, 2012

Trip with the nephew

The hotel was comfortable, clean and within a short drive to Cedar Point. The pool was nice but pool furniture was in disrepair and needed replaced. Close to many restaurants and stores.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Champaign taste beer budg
Business
Winchester, Ohio
Aug 27, 2012

Much better than expected!

We stayed in an expensive resort hotel close to this one the first night of our stay. It was much higher in price since it had a waterpark and various other ammenities that we didn't use. South Shore Inn isn't fancy on the outside (most of the motels in this area aren't and this one was actually better looking outside than most if not all in the same area). But the real surprise was inside! The room had more than advertised online... A large flat screen tv, a mini fridge, microwave (none of this was mentioned so a pleasant surprise!). The outdoor pool with 2 water slides was much smaller than it looked in the photos and was closed off for a good portion of our stay but it was clean and the jacuzzi was open the entire time although we had so many activities planned we didn't use it anyway. The hotel advertises a game room for the kids which was no longer there... just an empty room where it used to be. It didn't break my heart though since I'd spent a lot of money on activities we don't normally do like parasailing and island tours, ferry rides out there, Cedar Point, etc... so my 14 yr old granddaughter could take a break from an arcade. haha... The beds were extremely comfortable and the microsuede bedspreads were very nice and soft (not pictured on the websites). They also had extra nice, fluffy, comfortable pillows and give you extras. The room was actually much nicer than the much higher priced resort hotel we stayed in the night before. Maid service was excellent. it also included a free continental breakfast and a make-your-own waffle station which was not advertised. If you have a lot of activities planned and just want a nice, clean, comfortable room to come back to at the end of the day this inn is great! It's very close to restaurants and Cedar Point. For what we had planned, It was a much better deal than the overpriced resort hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TGI Friday's is a short walk or drive and we went there a few times during our 4 day stay. The food was good each time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Would not stay again
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 31, 2012

Deceiving

The pictures were deceiving. The room was not the cleanest. There was hair on the bed, beer bottle caps on the floor, and hair all on the bathroom floor. The toilet ran and ran, you had to jiggle the handle several times to make it stop. There was a loud noise coming from inside the wall, it kept going all night, so we didn't get much sleep. The pool was clean, but the slides were way smaller then the picture looked. The breakfast was a joke, 2 waffle irons for how many people? I waited in line longer to make waffles then I did for the rides at Cedar Point. And if you didn't want to wait 1/2 hr to make your self a waffle you had the choice of toast, Raisin Bran, or plain Cheerios. There was no lounge like the website said. I would have to say I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
She Diva
Business
Chicago
Jul 18, 2012

Affordable and convienient

Looks like they are remodeling, room by room. Great location to the park, wineries and put in bay. Staff was pleasant. Comfy and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Me and You
Business
Michigan
Jul 10, 2012

Rude

They are remodling and we were put a room which was poor. When we ask to move the lady at the desk was rude and said do you want your money back. After we got to a room that had been redone it was ok. Not the way to get a return visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of South Shore Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ParTee2011
Business
Saginaw, MI
Aug 22, 2011

Very comfortable

Room was clean, shower hot, location excellent. Breakfast could be a little more to choose from, the waffles were good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top