$36 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Rodeway Inn North

1 star
1021 Cleveland Rd., Sandusky, OH 44870-0353
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
56 reviews
Great meat-and-potatoes hotel

Nothing fancy or luxurious, but it's close to Cedar Point and is the cheapest in the area. Friendly... See full review

  • Kyle124124
  • Jul 3, 2014
Single mom 2 children

Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean and was perfect for our one night... See full review

  • Japple
  • Jul 8, 2014
Budget hotel near Cedar Point offers a pool and on-site restaurant
Rodeway Inn North offers guests heart-of-Sandusky convenience. The hotel is only a few minutes' drive to Castaway Bay, and less than 10 minutes to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Sandusky Mall is also nearby. Rodeway Inn guests enjoy free coffee and pastries daily as part of a stay, plus rooms with free Wi-Fi access, cable TV and free local calls. Additional hotel amenities include an on-site restaurant and bar, a bright heated indoor swimming pool, copy and fax services, a guest laundry and parking for trucks and buses.
Highlights
  • Stay connected with Rodeway Inn's free in-room high-speed Internet/Wi-Fi access
  • Dine onsite at Rodeway Inn's restaurant and lounge, The Club 
  • Relax in the hotel's heated indoor swimming pool
  • Take a quick drive to nearby Cedar Point Amusement Park
Location
Rodeway Inn North is in the heart of Sandusky, minutes from Castaway Bay and Cedar Point Amusement Park. Sandusky rests on the edge of Lake Erie and is approximately 60 miles (95 km) from Cleveland.
Rooms
Rodeway Inn North's 65 guest rooms offer traditional comforts and expected decor. Each includes free Wi-Fi access, free local calls, cable TV, air conditioning, an iron and ironing board, a safe and wake-up service. Selected rooms also feature a microwave or refrigerator. Nonsmoking rooms and a guest laundry (fees apply) are available. Pets are not permitted.
Features
All guests are welcome to enjoy free coffee and pastries at the hotel, and selected guest rooms also offer a microwave or refrigerator. Dine at Rodeway Inn North's on-site restaurant and cocktail lounge, The Club, serving dinner nightly. Features dishes include fresh pasta and Lake Erie Perch. Restaurants in the area include Applebee's, Ruby Tuesday, Red Lobster, Baci and Perkins Pancake House.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (52.3 mi/84.2 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (63.7 mi/102 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (21.2 mi/34.1 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.7 mi/102 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free Wi-Fi Internet access is available.

Hotel Map

41.4472 -82.6982
Nearby airports
Hopkins Intl. Arpt., (CLE), 55.00, MI, E; Burke Lakefront Arpt., (BKL), 67.00, MI, E; Griffing Sandusky Arpt, (SKY), 3.00, MI, E;
Area description
Resort, Cedar Pt. .5 Mi.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rodeway Inn North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 3.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Rodeway Inn North

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PIB Fan
Northeast Ohio
Aug 1, 2012

Mistake by the lake

My wife and I booked this hotel because it was close to our destination and because it had an indoor pool. We entered our room to find a jacuzzi in the center taking up half the space. It seemed odd. Later that evening we wanted to go to the pool. There was no inside access from our room. We walked outside, around the building and into what could be described as a greenhouse with a pool. I have never seen a pool room with such large exterior windows letting anyone who walked look in. After a short time in the ice cold water, we went back to our room. Being cold the jacuzzi seemed like a good idea. Unfortunately there were no instructions or obvious switches for making it work. With no way to turn it on it was just an oversized bathtub next to the bed. After a less than restful night of hearing people constantly walk by and above our room and making due with 3 pillows (1.5 each?), we woke up early and left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hop back on the highway and go one exit to route 250 for plenty of restaurants and stores as there is nothing near this hotel.

Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
monkey butt
Lansing Mi
Jul 18, 2012

Great place to stay

great place to stay, great location to Cedar Point ,very clean and friendly. I highly recoomend it if going to Cedar Point. Great price also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moving2012
Chicago
Jul 9, 2012

Moving

Just average. The room could be cleaner. The people at the front desk are friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Youth Pastor
Gallipolis,Ohio
Jul 3, 2012

CHURCH GROUP

Had a church group with four rooms....loved the bigger rooms that accommodated 8 and one that accommodated 6 which meant that we needed less rooms! Not a bad place to stay at all, great for after a long day at Cedar Point! Would recommend to anyone traveling in a large group.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jrsd
Sandusky
Jul 1, 2012

Hotel

Hotel was located on the putter part of town which really helped it was comfortable to stay in just needed a new bed sheet the bottom corner was ripped abit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NY Butterfly girl
Beaver Dams, NY
May 25, 2012

Not bad for the price

The room was bigger than we expected, and it was nice to have the two floors since we were traveling with 2 children, ages 11 and 12. It was disappointing that the pool was not in operation,but it was their opening day and things happen. They gave us free tickets to the indoor waterpark down the road, which was awesome for the kids. I do feel they could have spent more time making sure the room was in better shape for opening day, but the price was good, the beds were comfortable, and there was plenty of towels and hot water. We'd stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tigrr
ajax ontario canada
May 22, 2012

needs to be updated

worst hotel ever booked this hotel because of the indoor pool which was closed for our entire stay the room was nice but needs so much work the ice machine did not work the internet worked occasionally then when i was checking out they tacked on a 11.5% bedding charge so i refused to pay that charge the hotel needs to close down for a month or two and repair and update the hotel then im sure people wouldnt mind paying the 11.5% charge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College Student on a Budget
Owosso, MI
Oct 17, 2010

Not bad for the price, great location

I was terrified to go to this place after reading the reviews but it really wasn't too bad for the price we paid. It was clean and didn't smell and the parking was close. It was a bit dated but I was only there to sleep, not to judge the decor. We were provided with towels and soap. We did not use the pool because we were only there to sleep so I don't know what condition it was in. There was a spider and a centipede in the bathroom when we first arrived but after we got rid of them there were no other bugs. The only thing that was a bit spooky was we could see the next room's light shining through the plastic on the bathroom wall. They said it had been renovated and it looked like there was a window there at one time and they just covered it with a plastic wall. Other then that I have nothing bad to say, it was a nice cheap place to sleep after a long day at Cedar Point and I would go back so long as the price stays cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is really close to Cedar Point!

Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Going Grey Dad
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 11, 2010

Fairly priced, good for sleep

This hotel is definitely not the newest, but the friendly staff, great price, location, indoor pool and clean room definitely made up for what is a wanting outward appearance. I guess mom was right, "don't judge a book by its cover."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Rodeway Inn North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
ann arbor, michigan
Sep 6, 2010

The worst experience of a lifetime

the hotel was water-damaged everywhere, stunk to high heaven like mildew and sewage. We saw cockroaches walking around the front entry of our room. The walls were cracking and falling apart from the water damage and the smell was unbearable. We asked the manager for another room, which she did, but it was the same problem. We told her about the problem, and she said that's too bad, we can leave but no refunds. In the end, we were charged twice for this trash dump. I vote this hotel "worst experience of a lifetime!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you don't mind living in a trash dump to save $$$, this is the place for you! We ended up moving to Days Inn which was about $10 more per night, but worth it!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search