Knights Inn Sandusky OH

2 stars
2405 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
129 reviews
Great value!

This was our second stay at this hotel and we will definitely use it again. The free continental... See full review

  • yakydeeyak
  • Oct 8, 2013
Great Value and Location

It was great being so close to Cedar Point and the amenities were descent. (Refridgerator,... See full review

  • AdventureMKEGirl
  • Sep 30, 2014
Budget Sandusky hotel near theme parks offers value and convenience
Enjoy an affordable stay near Sandusky's most exciting theme parks at the AAA-approved Knights Inn Sandusky, just off US-6. Each guest room features free Wi-Fi access, a microwave and refrigerator, and a 25-inch cable TV. Jacuzzi rooms are available, and pets are welcome (fees may apply). The hotel also includes free continental breakfast (limited in the off season) and free local calls. Knights Inn also offers a summer-season outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, plus free parking with space for RVs, buses and trucks.
Highlights
  • One mile from Cedar Point Amusement Park entrance and 4 miles from the Lake Erie beaches 
  • Free continental breakfast served daily, with more extensive offerings in the summer months
  • In-room microwave, refrigerator and coffee-maker
  • Seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and spa
  • Free Wi-Fi access in-room, plus fax services
Location
Knights Inn Sandusky is in Sandusky, a few minutes from area amusement parks and adjacent to the regional Griffing Sandusky Airport.
Rooms
Knights Inn Sandusky provides 64 comfortable guest rooms with traditional decor. Amenities in each room include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, 25-inch cable TV, alarm clock, iron and ironing board, and hair dryer. Guests can also access the Internet for free and make free local calls. Jacuzzi-equipped and nonsmoking rooms are available, and select rooms include a sofa bed. Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
Perfect for Sandusky getaways, this budget-friendly hotel offers close proximity to area beaches and theme parks. Knights Inn Sandusky guests can start each day with an expanded continental breakfast in the pavilion during the summer, and a more limited, indoor breakfast bar during the off season. An in-room microwave, refrigerator and coffee-maker also make mealtimes more affordable. Nearby restaurants include Chili's Grill & Bar, Olive Garden, Red Lobster and Applebee's. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (50.3 mi/80.9 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.6 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (23.2 mi/37.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (61.9 mi/99.6 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.1 mi/103 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
Pets are accepted at the Knights Inn Sandusky. A charge of $5 USD per night, plus a refundable deposit of $25 USD. All pets must be caged or the owner present to receive room service. An emergency contact number is required from the pet owner. All pets must be walked in the pet walk and owner must dispose of waste.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Knights Inn Sandusky OH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MIS
Business
IN
Aug 16, 2009

SUCKED!!!

FRONT DEST NOT FRIENDLY AT ALL, ROOM SMELLED WHEN OPENING THE DOOR, ROOM FELT MUSTY INCLUDING LINENS, REMOTE FOR TV DIDN'T WORK, CONSTANT NOISE LIKE A POWERFUL RUNNING SHOWER THE WHOLE VISIT(I SHOULD HAVE TAKEN EAR PLUGS)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dj marcus
Business
mesick michigan
Oct 14, 2013

low budget place

Stayed in 236 Room stunk like cat urine Staff was nice Also beds uncomfy Had indentations in mattresses

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lorabell
Business
Sandusky, Oh
Feb 17, 2014

Hotel stay

This was the worst experience of my life! We got there, and as we drove to our parking place with our key card, two young men got out of a car next to us. We went up to the room, tried the key card, but the room was locked from the inside!!! We knocked on the door, hearing dogs barking, tried the key card again, and could not get in the door!!! We walked down the stairs (the whole time trying to get in the door, one of the young men was watching us) we walked back to our car and the man followed us to the car and tried to start conversation. We jumped in the car, knowing the man was after something, and drove back to the office and gave the key back. If I don't get a refund, I am going to report this facility to the BBB,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Devdev
Business
Ft. Wayne, IN
Jun 22, 2012

Location, Location, Location!!

The hotel is conveniently located approximately 5 minutes from cedar point. That's the highlight! The low points are the paper thin walls and ceilings, and a mild odor in the room that comes with a room that has seen its share of occupants. The free breakfast is a nice benefit. All in all, it appears to be one of the nicer "2-stars" in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B hood
Business
Bolingbrook,IL
Aug 18, 2012

Cedar Point Overnight Stay

I don't feel it was worth the $87 I paid for a one night stay. Upon entering the room, we noticed the carpet by the door was frayed, sheets had cigarette holes in them and we were in a non-smoking room. We did check the bed because we were nervous to say the least. Walls are thin and the people next to us woke me up several times during the night. When room next door flushed toliet and ran shower, it produced a very loud humming noise. The bathtub had long black hairs in them that I noticed before I got in the shower. The windows were covered in cobwebs and dead spiders, but we just kept the blinds closed. The breaskfast was located behind the pool in an enclosed space outdoors, which was nice. They breakfast spread was great and had a variety of options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a sports bar (Thirsty Pony) not too far down the road that had really great food. Lobster bique bread bowl was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sexytime Chris
Business
Monroe, Michigan
Apr 24, 2013

an inexpensive bed with a clean room

the staff was very friendly upon check-in. the room was clean and stocked. the furniture and tv were a little dated and the dresser drawer front was poorly repaired with finish nails that didn't hold. had to ask for extra pillows and room service did not come in to clean, or to restock supplies after the first night. a little bit of a disappointment but you get what you pay for. still got plenty of action from my girl, so I can't give a bad rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far off the main strip. a good overnight place to stay for those who are on a budget and who don't really mind not having all the amenities of a much pricier hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chipper clipper
Business
Canton, OH
Jun 10, 2013

Heavy sleeper

Had forward room closest to railroad tracks, appeared to have a train every 30 min. otherwise an average stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Twirlbert01
Business
Charles Town, WV
Sep 7, 2013

You get what you pay for.

This is a low end hotel doing the very best they can with what they have. The hotel room stunk, and there were bugs on the floor. For the price, the hotel was comparable. Again...you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
P*ssed in PA
Business
New Wilmington PA
Aug 3, 2009

not even good for the money

I paid $115 for one night at this hotel. The service was sh*tty. There were about 40 kids in the pool ALL night long. The only thing they provided was face soap and shampoo when other hotels we've stayed at provided every basic necessity you would need. The tub was very tiny, I don't even think it was a standard 54". And to boot the air was on when we checked in the room and it was FREEZING. It really wasn't a great experience at all with this hotel and after I did more research after the fact, i could have gone to Castaway Bay for about a hundred dollars more WITH parking and early admission to Cedar Point AND passes to the waterpark. Needless to say I'm pretty upset about the whole experience and I will definitely go elsewhere next time. Remember when booking, YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
just a little picky
Business
decatur, il
Aug 8, 2009

dissapointed in decatur

We got there a little after our check in time and the girl at the counter was friendly but not really helpful. We were told where to find our room and given a very unhelpful map. In my opinion if you need a map to find your room someone should show you to it. After finally finding our room we still had to wait 20 minutes because our room had not been cleaned yet. When we finally got in our room it was clean and comfortable. They advertise breakfast but didn't tell us where to go to get it. The price was ok but I have stayed at nicer places for less. Overall I would not stay there again and was dissapointed since I chose that hotel based on reviews. I will definitely pay the extra for a nicer hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

eat at one of the nearby fast food places if you are there for cedar point dining in the park is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top